BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

For One More Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(286)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

FOR ONE MORE DAY, by Mitch Albom,

This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chi...
This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chick, he decides to take his own life after having lost both of his parents, his job and his marriage. Since his mother's death 8 years earlier, he'd been slowly drinking himself to death. Chick decides to visit his parent's boarded up home one last time before he puts the gun to his head. When he lets himself into the house he finds food cooking and a well-stocked house. He turns a corner. There stands is mother welcoming him with open arms. Chick has one last day with his mother, day to watch her work, to talk with her and sees his past the way it really was and not as he'd imagined it. Wouldn't we all love JUST ONE MORE DAY WITH SOMEONE WE LOVED AND LOST? Other good ones: THE FIVE PEOPLE WE MEET IN HEAVEN EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN LET'S TAKE THE LONG WAY HOME THE SHACK

posted by sweetpeaSP on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Loved Mitch Albom's other books, but I couldn't wait for this one to end. I couldn't connect or empathize with the main character.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 522 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    For One More Day

    This was the assignment i had to read for my book club. I loved this book and as soon as i picked it up i couldn't put it down! This is definitly a tear jerker! You should read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    I want my two days back!

    I need two days back to make up for the ones lost reading this book. This was a very highly recommended book for a book club I'm in. I'm sorry I read it. The book doesn't pull 'heart strings' or make me want to reflect on my life. It was very predictable and lacked anything to hold my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Avid Reader

    Very disappointed. It did not have the power of his other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Father Bashing

    Father-bashing over two generations', pretty much sums up Mitch Albom's most recent tear-jerker 'For One More Day'. One of those 'let-me-be-your-counsellor' kind of novel, 'For One More Day' starts off really well where Charley the main protagonist decides he wants an out of his lack-lustre life where he's failed as a son, as a husband, and as a father. However, he's unable to do even that his suicide attempt fails! What happens next is an out-of-the-world experience where a comatose Charley establishes communication with his long dead mother a mother he 'didn't ever stand up for'. From this point on the novel is all downhill. A set of contrived situations to showcase the sheer selflessness of motherhood against an apathetic father figure telling a young Charley 'You can be a mama's boy or a daddy's boy, but you can't be both.' It took me a long time to figure out my response to the novel primarily due to a sense of guilt for not liking what Albom presented perhaps because at some level it did pertain to me, and to Everyman. All of us have some cleansing to do to rid ourselves of those ghosts from our past that seem to haunt us and here was this novel doing just that, and yet I could not readily say that I liked it. The cloying sentimentality and the not-so-surreal situations made it distant, and I could not lose myself in it I could not suspend my disbelief. If 'Tuesday's with Morrie' is what made you pick up this novel, you are bound to be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Disappointing

    Loved Mitch Albom's other books, but I couldn't wait for this one to end. I couldn't connect or empathize with the main character.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Not as good as the others

    This book truly dissapointed me. As a huge fan of Mitch Albom's (I think I've read the Five People you Meet in Heaven about 4 times), I found no true feeling in this book. There were no plot twists or huge realizations. Nothing happened! It's an okay story to find at the library and read on a boring afternoon, but do not pay money for this book!!! Buy Tuesdays with Morrie instead!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    was expecting more

    I LOVED the Five People You Meet in Heaven....it is was of my top favorites of all time so I thought this book would be great...HOWEVER, this book was very disappointing. It didn't pull at any heart strings and left me feeling unfufilled...not his best work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Lov it

    This book was life changing anything by mitch albom is simply winderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Eye Opening

    Great book that describes the types of wake up calls that we need to redirect us on the right path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Great book, one of the best.!

    Excellant Book, Oh man this is one you can read over and over. Very inspiring. highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I recently just finished reading For One More Day by Mitch Albor

    I recently just finished reading For One More Day by Mitch Alborn. This short book was very sad as well as it makes you think about yourself. There is times where when he recalls memories, that are similar to most teenage boys memories, and makes you somewhat think about the times. I wished this book would be longer so I could still be reading it, but at the same time I think it was perfect. This specific book made me actually eager to see what would happen next. If you choose to read this book prepare to feel somewhat sad/depressed because you feel for the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Very touching

    Although this book put a lump in my throat and brought tears to my eyes (more than once), I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    I read this with my 10th grade English class, and it brought tea

    I read this with my 10th grade English class, and it brought tears to my eyes. I wanted to read more and more every chapter. After reading this book it made me look at life in a different way. It is a must read for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    I read it in my English 10 class. At first I wasn¿t to psych abo

    I read it in my English 10 class. At first I wasn’t to psych about it. Then we got into it. I connected to Chick very swiftly. I wasn’t pulled into tears, but it was defiantly worth my time. I loved it, and it was inspirational. It made me think a little more whenever I used the word ‘hate’. I’m only a sophomore, but I’d like to think my taste in books is good. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a fantastic read. Have fun with all the twist and turns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    For one more day, mitch album

    Inspiring, this writer does so well with his characters. You will be sucked into this book immediently and will become an Album fan for life. Everything this guy writes is good. He never let's u down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very interesting and gave me much to reflect on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Must Read

    I loved this book! Yiu will highly enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book was fantastic!  the story of Charley and his mother wa

    this book was fantastic!  the story of Charley and his mother was so nice to read and i fell in love with his mother...  a part of me wanted her to be my mother!  this book was great and Albom's writing is raw and realistic.  his books are easy and fun to read.  i highly recommend this book and Mitch Albom.  i really want to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I really enjoy Mitch Albom's books and his writing style. For On

    I really enjoy Mitch Albom's books and his writing style. For One More Day was so refreshing and original. The story makes you think about your own life and how you treat others in it. It teaches you to take a couple minutes out of your busy day and appreciate those around you. I think a lot of times kids don't realize the sacrifices their parents make for them. We tend to assume they will do whatever we need from them, and that they'll always be there. This book teaches us that our parents had lives before us, and that they gave up a lot when they chose to have children. They don't regret having children, but this still have lives outside of their kids, and us as children, need to respect that. I really hope that people continue to appreciate those around them and never take their life, or others in their life, for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Not as good as his other books, but still got my attention

    and broke my heart for that matter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 522 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27