Customer Reviews for

For One More Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(286)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

FOR ONE MORE DAY, by Mitch Albom,

This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chi...
This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chick, he decides to take his own life after having lost both of his parents, his job and his marriage. Since his mother's death 8 years earlier, he'd been slowly drinking himself to death. Chick decides to visit his parent's boarded up home one last time before he puts the gun to his head. When he lets himself into the house he finds food cooking and a well-stocked house. He turns a corner. There stands is mother welcoming him with open arms. Chick has one last day with his mother, day to watch her work, to talk with her and sees his past the way it really was and not as he'd imagined it. Wouldn't we all love JUST ONE MORE DAY WITH SOMEONE WE LOVED AND LOST? Other good ones: THE FIVE PEOPLE WE MEET IN HEAVEN EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN LET'S TAKE THE LONG WAY HOME THE SHACK

posted by sweetpeaSP on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the others

This book truly dissapointed me. As a huge fan of Mitch Albom's (I think I've read the Five People you Meet in Heaven about 4 times), I found no true feeling in this book. There were no plot twists or huge realizations. Nothing happened! It's an okay story to find a...
This book truly dissapointed me. As a huge fan of Mitch Albom's (I think I've read the Five People you Meet in Heaven about 4 times), I found no true feeling in this book. There were no plot twists or huge realizations. Nothing happened! It's an okay story to find at the library and read on a boring afternoon, but do not pay money for this book!!! Buy Tuesdays with Morrie instead!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FOR ONE MORE DAY, by Mitch Albom,

    This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chick, he decides to take his own life after having lost both of his parents, his job and his marriage. Since his mother's death 8 years earlier, he'd been slowly drinking himself to death. Chick decides to visit his parent's boarded up home one last time before he puts the gun to his head. When he lets himself into the house he finds food cooking and a well-stocked house. He turns a corner. There stands is mother welcoming him with open arms. Chick has one last day with his mother, day to watch her work, to talk with her and sees his past the way it really was and not as he'd imagined it. Wouldn't we all love JUST ONE MORE DAY WITH SOMEONE WE LOVED AND LOST? Other good ones: THE FIVE PEOPLE WE MEET IN HEAVEN EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN LET'S TAKE THE LONG WAY HOME THE SHACK

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching

    Another one of the authors fine books! A heartwarming story and a glimpse into the lives of some folks that we learned to care very much about.
    Has there ever been a person who did not wish For One More Day with a deceased loved one? This little book is a bit of wish fulfillment that is filled with hope and love. Charley Benetto is fortunate enough to get one more day with his deceased mother, as he lay dying in the grass after a botched suicide attempt. His mother teaches him lessons that help him to turn his broken life around, allowing him to reconcile with his daughter and begin leading a productive life. Ultimately I think this book hooked because I am a mother, and it made me think about the legacy that I want to leave in my childrens' eyes. It also made me think about my own childhood and my relationship with my parents. It doesn't take very long to read this book, but the warm fuzzies linger on for significantly longer. This is a wonderfully-intriguing story that is cleverly fashioned and highly recommended.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This was a great interesting read. I enjoyed this one and hope the next book comes out soon.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Completely Touched My Heart

    Wow...I read this book in one weekend. What an absolutely wonderful story that will tug at your heart and put your own loved ones and your life into perspective!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    If yo want a book that will cause some tears to flow, this is it

    If yo want a book that will cause some tears to flow, this is it. Mitch Albom is awesome at touching the readers mind and soul. I recommend that this novel be read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very good

    Great book very quick read makes you really think about your life and how you treat people teaches you not to take those in your life for granted

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I just finished reading this book approximately 3 minutes ago. I

    I just finished reading this book approximately 3 minutes ago. I am a 13 yr old girl who was recommended this book by a friend and I have to say that I had an urge to make a comment about it everywhere. Not only did I end up crying but after this, I am going to run up to my mother and tell her that I love her because out of all of the lessons that it teaches, it demonstarates how powerful the love of a mother can be and that it cannot be taken for granted.  I recommend it to all adolescents my age and older who think that they know it all. I can guarantee that they'll change their way of thinking towards their parents if they read the book. A truely amazing book and I plan on reading more books by Mitch Albom

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    I absolutely loved reading this book. It kept my interest from p

    I absolutely loved reading this book. It kept my interest from page one. I was a little taken back by the idea that he wanted to commit suicide, but after hearing what this man has been though I felt sorry for Chick.

    From someone who doesn’t normally read about ghosts and spirits and what-not, this was an incredibly interesting take on the subject. In Chick’s attempt to commit suicide, he looks back on his life and how things have changed, by spending time with his dead mother. At times this can be hard to follow, but the book does a great job at tying everything together at the very end.

    Long story short, Chick has to figure out where thing went wrong in order to make anything right.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Nostalgic, Heartwarming, Compelling

    Mitch Albom again delivers a great narrative that delves into the idea of being given a chance to possess a final day with a loved one who passed away and have the ability to truly connect and appreciate the person they are. As always Albom has a smooth deliverance to his story and it is reflected by how he is able to deliver a simple yet descriptive language and sentences that keep you engrossed in his novel. “There was a metal awning over the porch and a flower box filled with pebbles. The morning air seemed overly crisp now, and the light was strange, making the edges of the scenery too sharply defined, as if drawn in ink.” It becomes a good balance that Albom achieves as he progresses the story even with his descriptions.

    The structure of the novel is simple enough that it does not present any real issue, and the pacing is relatively lively to the point that chapters do not tend to drag on. The novel is broken into four principles sections and the material develops fluidly and manages to top itself each time with more anticipation and emotional moments that leave impressions in you for the remainder of the book.

    While at the same time Albom is giving multiple themes that easily explain themselves throughout the progression of the book. One of the biggest themes he gives is in the first couple of pages “Every family is a ghost story.” This line easily resonates in the novel and attaches to so many moments. Likewise, the theme of maturity and recognition plays one of the biggest factors in the piece. Since the structure follows Charles Benetto’s recollection of his life we in turn as the reader assimilate ourselves into Albom’s use of stream of consciousness, so easily do his thoughts become our thoughts, his fears, embarrassments, and desires become ours. This makes us, without trying too hard, remember and reflect on our own lives and the childhood moments we feel embarrassed about and proud of. It taps into our nostalgia extremely well, which in turn compounds our relatable interests with Charles Benetto and delivers him as a very realistic character.

    The only matter I found to be a slight issue is just how he ties the end together, it seemed a little too quick in its pace. This could have been on purpose, as it could have reflected the mindset of the main character. Even though this occurred it did not draw away drastically from the whole experience and enjoyment of the book. The book will leave a good impression and once again Albom examines a very personal and emotional topic associated with families, but manages to turn it into a heartwarming experience that leaves an impression that can only give you a smile despite the hardships discussed in it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    A +

    I am not an avid reader. I can count the number of books i have read in the past five years on one hand. I read tuesdays with morrie when it came out and loved it so i decided to look for another mitch albom book. I kid you not i am not a "reader" but i started reading the book and i didn't stop until i was done. I read straight through and thought it was great.
    Thank you once again for getting a nonreader interested in a book. Good job mr albom!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Another...

    ...insightful, thought-provoking novel by Mitch Albom that will bring tears to your eyes and warmth to your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    This was better than I expected. Enjoy all his books and this i

    This was better than I expected. Enjoy all his books and this is one of the better ones. Makes you think which can be good or not so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Albom¿s ¿For One More Day¿ is a ¿family ghost story¿ that is ski

    Albom’s “For One More Day” is a “family ghost story” that is skillfully written that comes alive off the pages. The story involves a boy, Charles “Chick” Benetto, growing up adoring his father and wanting to please him in every way. Expectantly, his father leaves the house one night to never return. Now Chick is from a broken family in a small town where everyone seems to know the “Benetto family business.” Compounding his confusion, the story takes place during the 1960s where divorce is not common. This leaves him feeling different from the other kids in town. As any good mother, Pauline “Posey” Benetto, does the best she can raising her kids as a single parent although she she cannot fill the sense of loss Chick feels and the many questions that go unanswered by the departure of his father. This story is a touching tale for anyone who has every lost a loved one and longed for just “For One More Day” to set the record straight, tell them you love them, and to say “sorry.”

    Growing up with loving and caring parents is fundamental to a child’s upbringing; balanced parenting provides children with security and confidence. Chick’s father instilled within him that he was not going to be able to enjoy the benefit of being able to please both his mother and father, he had to choose. His father told him “You can be a mama’s boy or a daddy’s boy. But you can’t be both.” Chick chose to follow his father’s lead and viewed his mother as a secondary parent. The sudden split up and divorce, sent Chick into an emotional downward spiral that caused him to begin to resent his mother. After the split, his father was not a part of his life and provide no support for his family. Chick sought his father out, although he was in a nearby town, it might as well have been in another state because he did not have the means to go and find him. Over time, he gave up on the notion of ever seeing his father again. Posey could not fill the void now in Chick’s life and could not seem to do anything right in his eyes; he wanted his father. The only thing that he had left between him and his father was the love of baseball. Chick passionately worked at playing baseball often thinking of his dad sitting in the stands. He became exceptional good and received a college scholarship and eventually played Major League baseball for a short time. Fast forwarding to his adulthood, Chick did not have the life skills to deal with life’s challenges. He becomes depressed and turns to alcohol to cope. As his failing career and marriage begin to unravel he is filled with regret and despair. After learning his daughter had married and did not invite him to the wedding, Chick decides to take his own life. While unconscious, his mother now deceased, comes to him and they spend a remarkable day together. Chick now realizes that his mom had been there for him all along. The many questions he was searching for were answered, enabling Chick to put his life back together.

    The loss of a parent is a traumatic and devastating experience. You never have the time you think you have. This novel is a wonderful story that makes you reflect on life and the importance of the people in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Amazing!

    I finished this in 2 DAYS amazing story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    For One More Day

    This was the assignment i had to read for my book club. I loved this book and as soon as i picked it up i couldn't put it down! This is definitly a tear jerker! You should read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Lov it

    This book was life changing anything by mitch albom is simply winderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Great book, one of the best.!

    Excellant Book, Oh man this is one you can read over and over. Very inspiring. highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Very touching

    Although this book put a lump in my throat and brought tears to my eyes (more than once), I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    I read this with my 10th grade English class, and it brought tea

    I read this with my 10th grade English class, and it brought tears to my eyes. I wanted to read more and more every chapter. After reading this book it made me look at life in a different way. It is a must read for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    For one more day, mitch album

    Inspiring, this writer does so well with his characters. You will be sucked into this book immediently and will become an Album fan for life. Everything this guy writes is good. He never let's u down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15