BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

For One More Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

FOR ONE MORE DAY, by Mitch Albom,

This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chi...
This beautiful story touches the depth of the soul and makes us contemplate our fears, hopes and dreams. It forces us to question our mortality and of our loved ones. This is the story of Chick Benetto, a former professional baseball player. After middle age attacks Chick, he decides to take his own life after having lost both of his parents, his job and his marriage. Since his mother's death 8 years earlier, he'd been slowly drinking himself to death. Chick decides to visit his parent's boarded up home one last time before he puts the gun to his head. When he lets himself into the house he finds food cooking and a well-stocked house. He turns a corner. There stands is mother welcoming him with open arms. Chick has one last day with his mother, day to watch her work, to talk with her and sees his past the way it really was and not as he'd imagined it. Wouldn't we all love JUST ONE MORE DAY WITH SOMEONE WE LOVED AND LOST? Other good ones: THE FIVE PEOPLE WE MEET IN HEAVEN EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN LET'S TAKE THE LONG WAY HOME THE SHACK

posted by sweetpeaSP on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Loved Mitch Albom's other books, but I couldn't wait for this one to end. I couldn't connect or empathize with the main character.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 287 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very interesting and gave me much to reflect on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Must Read

    I loved this book! Yiu will highly enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book was fantastic!  the story of Charley and his mother wa

    this book was fantastic!  the story of Charley and his mother was so nice to read and i fell in love with his mother...  a part of me wanted her to be my mother!  this book was great and Albom's writing is raw and realistic.  his books are easy and fun to read.  i highly recommend this book and Mitch Albom.  i really want to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Amazing book

    Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Amazing

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Great heartwarming story!

    This story was definitely one that makes you think about your life. Especially about your mother. It was an interesting read and whether or not you believe it is up to you. However i found it to be a wonderful read that definitely makes me rethink my relationship with my mom. Would highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Great book!! A must read for any mother & son!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    The lover

    I love this book even if i am 12 and i did nt read the book holla

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Must read

    Great book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    One book I'll never forget. I couldn't stop thinking about it after I was done with it. It just tugged at my heart the whole way through it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Loved it

    Thoroughly enjoyed this one. A sweet and uplifting story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Who wouldn't want to spend one more day with a loved one that ha

    Who wouldn't want to spend one more day with a loved one that has passed
    on? Chick has so many regrets and guilts in his life. He has hit rock
    bottom. His life simply isn't worth living anymore. How interesting it
    is that it is his deceased mother, who has never stopped loving him, who
    gets him back on track. A mother who always stood up for him even when
    Chick did not stand up for her. An inspiring book and worth a second
    and third read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great book

    Amazing book , a touching story with amazing details . It is however a fairly quick read bht worth every second of it !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Short, easy read

    Great easy read. Loved that it was short even though I was disappointed for it to end. I find Mitch Albom's books a breath of fresh air. I've enjoyed all of his books and like that they are short.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book will speak to anyone who has a mother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Nick

    He held Jag in a deathlock. "So, we meet again. This time, though, I have the upperhand." He said, smirking.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Death to Telia

    Stop this madness!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Telia

    Okay, who?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Short and Sweet

    I really liked this book!... It's about a man that gets to spend one more day with his dead mother. He finds out what he never knew. Amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    :)

    Wonderful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 287 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15