Customer Reviews for

For Women Only: What You Need to Know about the Inner Lives of Men

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book to help me understand my husband more!

Okay. I've already read the Mars & Venus Books and other books that are supposed to give women insight into men. I also have a husband who has been more frankly honest with me about men's struggles then most men are. But this book still opened my eyes in ways that are j...
Okay. I've already read the Mars & Venus Books and other books that are supposed to give women insight into men. I also have a husband who has been more frankly honest with me about men's struggles then most men are. But this book still opened my eyes in ways that are just oh-so-special. But I want to warn you... don't read this book unless you truly love your husband and want to be the wife that he needs.

See... this isn't a "how to get what you want" book, or even a "this is what you're doing wrong" book. Instead, it is a "your husband DOES love you, he is simply different from you" book! It's not full of to-do's but rather full of explanations... it explains WHY some of the things we say make our husbands smile and grin like they've been given the world, and WHY other things result in an angry back rapidly moving away.

This book goes over the familiar territory of explaining how men need respect... but it goes one step farther and showed me why my husband thinks I don't respect him... something that's confused me for years!

It talks about what we all know about how men usually want more sex, but it goes so much farther and shows why in a way that touches your heart and makes you feel so loved and special.

It shows how men really ARE romantics... and if you don't think so, I dare you to read the chapter and not change your mind! Their romance is just different then ours, that's all! And when your eyes are opened to how often your husband wants to do romantic (to him) things with you, you'll be so touched... and grieved at how often you've unknowingly shoved him away at those times. But you'll also begin to see what you can do to encourage him to work on the romance that YOU like!

And this is just the tip of the iceberg.

Keep in mind that this book is not a guide-book... it is an EXPLANATION book. It doesn't really get too much into right and wrong behaviors or what is sin and what isn't, etc... most of us already know that, and don't need to be told again. What it DOES do is explain where men are coming from. For example... we know and they know that lust is a sin... but fighting it as a man is COMPLETELY different then fighting it as a woman! When you undersand how it is for a man, you understand how even his desire to fight it shows strong character AND love for you!

One reviewer said that the author was excusing pride, and things like that. But that's now how I saw this book. Okay women... we know that to be like Jesus is to be a servant... but does that mean that it doesn't hurt when we feel like we're nothing more than everyone's slave around the house? Of course it doesn't! We are still "wired" in such a way that it is easy for us to feel this way. This book explains these sorts of things about men... how THEY are "wired". And once you understand this and begin to recognize these explanations in your own husband, then you can help and support him sooooo much better! Because then you see how little innocent comments hurt him... comments that are so easily refrained from, or re-worded. You see how little things you did when you were dating (and have since forgotten about) meant so much to him. You'll learn how to get that "you make me feel like a million bucks" grin on his face!

READ THIS BOOK!

posted by mom2girlsnboy on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Avoid like the Plague!

I read this book after my husband and I nearly divorced because of his use of Pornography. When he gave me this book to read to help 'understand' him better I was thrilled until I read the chapter about Visual Rolodex. The author seems to be enabling these men by 'no...
I read this book after my husband and I nearly divorced because of his use of Pornography. When he gave me this book to read to help 'understand' him better I was thrilled until I read the chapter about Visual Rolodex. The author seems to be enabling these men by 'normalizing' sexualizing every attractive woman they see. It made me sad that the author thinks all men are this weak and that God made them this way. I wouldn't blame deviant behavior on God. Very sad very disappointing book.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Great book to help me understand my husband more!

    Okay. I've already read the Mars & Venus Books and other books that are supposed to give women insight into men. I also have a husband who has been more frankly honest with me about men's struggles then most men are. But this book still opened my eyes in ways that are just oh-so-special. But I want to warn you... don't read this book unless you truly love your husband and want to be the wife that he needs.

    See... this isn't a "how to get what you want" book, or even a "this is what you're doing wrong" book. Instead, it is a "your husband DOES love you, he is simply different from you" book! It's not full of to-do's but rather full of explanations... it explains WHY some of the things we say make our husbands smile and grin like they've been given the world, and WHY other things result in an angry back rapidly moving away.

    This book goes over the familiar territory of explaining how men need respect... but it goes one step farther and showed me why my husband thinks I don't respect him... something that's confused me for years!

    It talks about what we all know about how men usually want more sex, but it goes so much farther and shows why in a way that touches your heart and makes you feel so loved and special.

    It shows how men really ARE romantics... and if you don't think so, I dare you to read the chapter and not change your mind! Their romance is just different then ours, that's all! And when your eyes are opened to how often your husband wants to do romantic (to him) things with you, you'll be so touched... and grieved at how often you've unknowingly shoved him away at those times. But you'll also begin to see what you can do to encourage him to work on the romance that YOU like!

    And this is just the tip of the iceberg.

    Keep in mind that this book is not a guide-book... it is an EXPLANATION book. It doesn't really get too much into right and wrong behaviors or what is sin and what isn't, etc... most of us already know that, and don't need to be told again. What it DOES do is explain where men are coming from. For example... we know and they know that lust is a sin... but fighting it as a man is COMPLETELY different then fighting it as a woman! When you undersand how it is for a man, you understand how even his desire to fight it shows strong character AND love for you!

    One reviewer said that the author was excusing pride, and things like that. But that's now how I saw this book. Okay women... we know that to be like Jesus is to be a servant... but does that mean that it doesn't hurt when we feel like we're nothing more than everyone's slave around the house? Of course it doesn't! We are still "wired" in such a way that it is easy for us to feel this way. This book explains these sorts of things about men... how THEY are "wired". And once you understand this and begin to recognize these explanations in your own husband, then you can help and support him sooooo much better! Because then you see how little innocent comments hurt him... comments that are so easily refrained from, or re-worded. You see how little things you did when you were dating (and have since forgotten about) meant so much to him. You'll learn how to get that "you make me feel like a million bucks" grin on his face!

    READ THIS BOOK!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Women!

    This is an easy read and is very informative and helpful, I only wish I had been able to read this before my husband died. I'm giving this and its companion book, "For Men Only" as wedding gifts. I'm requesting the couple read both books!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    eye opening read

    i am a 32 yearold twice divorced man and had i read this book ten or tweleve years ago that may not be the case. after my second divorce my first wife gave me this book and told me i needed to read this. i'm not much of a reader but i did it anyway, and was i shocked. to read something that was this close to exactly what i think and how i feel blew me away. i have told every one i know about this book men and women. i havent read for men only,but i will soon. if u are in a relationship or u think u might be in one someday this book will help u to understand why we(men and women) react the way we do. this book has helped me to become a better man, i thank you Mrs.Feldhahn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    The Book That Changed My Marriage

    For Women Only was suggested to me by a friend who knew that my husband and I have struggled in our marriage for years. The author starts by saying that what she shares is so simple that we will hit ourselves at some time while reading the book. I did hit myself after reading a section that described a habit I have put my husband through for years! Women's minds will be opened to a whole new perspective of their husbands, and this book also comes in other versions for men (For Men Only), single women, and single men.
    What is sad is that after reading this book I now hear women making the same mistakes that I have made that are mentioned in the book. I want to give this book to everyone that I know. This book has helped change my marriage.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    A must read! The mystery is solved!

    Practical,funny,eye-openning.It has the power to revolutionize women-men relationship especially in marriages! My husband read the book first to see if he would approve of it. His words were, ' I'm impressed; it's right on the money!' The book also brought up many great discussions. I not only understand and appreciate my husband better, but now I know how to show it in a way that is meaningful and constructive to him in our everyday lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Amazing!

    This book gives amazing insight into why men behave as they do without conciously realizing it. It makes you want to change yourself instead of always trying to change them. The best part is that this info is taken from survey questions that men answered anonymously. The answers were the same whether or not the men were church attenders.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Relationship help

    This book is useful for any man in a relationship with a woman. It helps to explain why women do what they do, and what we can do to help make them happier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    This book is an astoundngly clear summation of how most men tend to think differently than women, thus providing a firm foundation to help women communicate more effectively with the men in their lives.

    What is important to men is not always the same as women. The author backs this up with surveys and statistics, not just opinion. After reading this book, I saw how extremely true and relevant this difference is. The author does a tremendous job explaining how most men and women tend to think, providing a firmer foundation for the furtherance of productive communication between the sexes. This book helped me change the way I see and communicate with all the men in my life, and has truly helped me to feel more effective in both communicating my needs to them, and understanding theirs. We are all equally people, but this book helps to show how society and genetics can influence our values and goals by sex.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A Perfect 10

    I read this book with my husband, and he confirms how accurate it is. I would recommend this book to every woman out there. The bad reviews are only because some women can't handle the truth. It has impacted every area of my life with the men around me in a positive way. I have bought it for several of my friends and family. BUY IT...Best thing you'll ever do is read it and apply it's truths to life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book!!!

    This book is great for any woman who wants a better understanding of how men think and how they work! The author gives you such a good insight on how to make the man in your life feel more loved and respected! This along with the partner book "For Men Only" are good choices for any couple whether or not they are having difficulties in their relationship! Relationships aren't about what you get out of it but what you give and she really gives good advice and recommendations for doing just that! I would highly recommend this book to anyone!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    Amazing Quick Read

    This is a great get-to-the-point book. The author does a wonderful job of informing women on what men really think. It's great that it's a Christian book but her book would be appealing and useful for any woman who is about to be married or has been married for years. I read this book and my husband asked, "what's wrong with you? You're doing so many great things!" So the book clearly helped me get a better understanding in our marriage! It's a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Very informative, I have recommended to friends and family.

    I have read numerous books on relationships. This is the first that showed the research behind the points made plus comments from men that help explain their thought processes (which are very different from women). Being the eternal skeptic, I read the version of the book for men (revealing insights about women) and I felt it was extremely accurate. I also asked my male friends about the book's findings and they confirmed the information in the book.

    I have recommended this book to women who are struggeling in currently realtionships, have ended relationships and wonder what went wrong, and to women who are engaged or newly married. The book does relate the information to the Bible, however it is still very informative if you are not Christian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    A must read for every marriage.

    It may tell you what you already know, but the way this material is presented is straightforward and true. It opened my eyes to areas I need to work on. It helps you to realize that all men share much in common that us women need to be aware of. We can't change them, but we can change the way we interact with them - with positive results!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Those who were disappointed in the Body Chapter - read this

    I have read this book from cover to cover - twice. It had an outstanding impact on my marriage. However, I understand those of you who struggled with the body chapter. But you missed the point!!! She was not saying you had to look like a model at all. What she was saying was to make an effort to look good. Don't just sit around in crappy clothes and expect your husband to be wowed. She was also not saying that you will no longer attract your husband once you are older. Your husband wants to see that you are making an effort to look good for him - whether you are a size 2 model or a size 20 average person. Try re-reading the chapter again, with a more open mind. This chapter (and others) helped me to understand what my husband thinks and the struggles he faces. I am a better wife for it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    You need this book and one other

    I was stunned when I read this. It is truth revealed. You will have wide-open eyes after you read what the author has found out from the guys. This book is exactly what was needed to go with 'How to Date Your Wife' by Stan Cronin. In 'For Women Only' the author interviewed 1,000 men to get their responses. In 'How to Date Your Wife' the author interviewed 1,000 women for their thoughts on husbands. These two books should be sold as a set. Both are excellent and reveal what the opposite sex is thinking with the advantage being that it comes straight for the horses mouth instead of from some doctor that is telling you what he thinks it all means. Get both of these books and read them with your spouse. You will not regret it. You can't buy one without the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Couldn't appreciate.

    Purchased and read, "For Men Only". That book was so relatable, that I thought I would read this one. Very disappointing after reading the other one. Ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    If only . .

    I'd read this BEFORE my last relationship, we might still be together! Very insightful on the ways of men and women and the effects on your relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Thank you so much!

    I really recommended this book to all newlyweds, I personally think it’s such an eye opener.
    Thank you so much for the valuable information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Leaned A Few Things!!!

    This book is very insightful. I even gave my own survey to a few friends on certain topics. The results were just as the book stated. This book will definitely give you insight in the world of "Men".
    Two thums up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Awesome Book! Eye Opener

    This book is an eye opener. The author talks about porn but she isn't making as if it is ok. She is stating that mean need to feel wanted and needed. I can relate to that due to having a marriage fail due to porn. He was addict though so not much would have stopped him. I think she lets us look at it in a males point of veiw and although we may not like it nor agree on it. It hits right on. It makes relationships better when we look at them fairly and now the way we want to view them. There are many things guys wouldn't believe we feel or want. All Women should read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4