Customer Reviews for

For Women Only: What You Need to Know about the Inner Lives of Men

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book to help me understand my husband more!

Okay. I've already read the Mars & Venus Books and other books that are supposed to give women insight into men. I also have a husband who has been more frankly honest with me about men's struggles then most men are. But this book still opened my eyes in ways that are j...
Okay. I've already read the Mars & Venus Books and other books that are supposed to give women insight into men. I also have a husband who has been more frankly honest with me about men's struggles then most men are. But this book still opened my eyes in ways that are just oh-so-special. But I want to warn you... don't read this book unless you truly love your husband and want to be the wife that he needs.

See... this isn't a "how to get what you want" book, or even a "this is what you're doing wrong" book. Instead, it is a "your husband DOES love you, he is simply different from you" book! It's not full of to-do's but rather full of explanations... it explains WHY some of the things we say make our husbands smile and grin like they've been given the world, and WHY other things result in an angry back rapidly moving away.

This book goes over the familiar territory of explaining how men need respect... but it goes one step farther and showed me why my husband thinks I don't respect him... something that's confused me for years!

It talks about what we all know about how men usually want more sex, but it goes so much farther and shows why in a way that touches your heart and makes you feel so loved and special.

It shows how men really ARE romantics... and if you don't think so, I dare you to read the chapter and not change your mind! Their romance is just different then ours, that's all! And when your eyes are opened to how often your husband wants to do romantic (to him) things with you, you'll be so touched... and grieved at how often you've unknowingly shoved him away at those times. But you'll also begin to see what you can do to encourage him to work on the romance that YOU like!

And this is just the tip of the iceberg.

Keep in mind that this book is not a guide-book... it is an EXPLANATION book. It doesn't really get too much into right and wrong behaviors or what is sin and what isn't, etc... most of us already know that, and don't need to be told again. What it DOES do is explain where men are coming from. For example... we know and they know that lust is a sin... but fighting it as a man is COMPLETELY different then fighting it as a woman! When you undersand how it is for a man, you understand how even his desire to fight it shows strong character AND love for you!

One reviewer said that the author was excusing pride, and things like that. But that's now how I saw this book. Okay women... we know that to be like Jesus is to be a servant... but does that mean that it doesn't hurt when we feel like we're nothing more than everyone's slave around the house? Of course it doesn't! We are still "wired" in such a way that it is easy for us to feel this way. This book explains these sorts of things about men... how THEY are "wired". And once you understand this and begin to recognize these explanations in your own husband, then you can help and support him sooooo much better! Because then you see how little innocent comments hurt him... comments that are so easily refrained from, or re-worded. You see how little things you did when you were dating (and have since forgotten about) meant so much to him. You'll learn how to get that "you make me feel like a million bucks" grin on his face!

READ THIS BOOK!

posted by mom2girlsnboy on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Avoid like the Plague!

I read this book after my husband and I nearly divorced because of his use of Pornography. When he gave me this book to read to help 'understand' him better I was thrilled until I read the chapter about Visual Rolodex. The author seems to be enabling these men by 'no...
I read this book after my husband and I nearly divorced because of his use of Pornography. When he gave me this book to read to help 'understand' him better I was thrilled until I read the chapter about Visual Rolodex. The author seems to be enabling these men by 'normalizing' sexualizing every attractive woman they see. It made me sad that the author thinks all men are this weak and that God made them this way. I wouldn't blame deviant behavior on God. Very sad very disappointing book.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very excellent must read

    I ordered this book when I was having a rough time understanding my husband who pretty much walked out on me after our 2nd anniversary. I was devastated & so confused.I had no idea what was going through his head. I read this book & it cleared up so much for me as to want goes through the mind of a man. We have no idea. This book tells it all, totally amazing! I bought one for my own mother & now I am buying another one for my daughter, who thinks her husband has big issues. And as you read this book you will find out why we feel the way we do about them some times. Woman are really made so differtly than man. I rave to every woman about the information in this book. This is a must read for woman. By the way, my husband & I did go back together after 6 months of separation and we just had our 5th anniversary. I understand him know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    A necessary book

    This book made me laugh, cry, get angry, and downright baffled. Nonetheless, I found what I was looking for: the answers to many questions I had regarding men, how they think, how they feel, why they do the seemingly crazy and thoughtless things they do. Now, I understand you and forgive you. The real concern is, 'how do we get them (men) to read, 'For Men Only' to better understand us as women? I wish I read this before I got married. Next time, I will do better!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    RELATIONSHIPS- CLEAR AS MUDD

    This book definately helps to clear the water. I would have never invisioned i could help change so much of our relationship by changing my approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Clear and to the Point

    Love this book. It doesn't tell you how to 'play the game'. Just how to better understand your man. My friends marriage counselor suggested it and she told me about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Eye Opening

    This book truely changed the way I think about the men in my life. I read this before I got married and found the insights to be a huge help. I tell everyone about this book and I believe all women should read this book with an open heart and mind. Some things are tough to swallow but I loved how the author put in her statistics--facts on the men she surveyed. My husband also found insight in the 'For Men Only' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Love this book

    Great book, opened up my eyes and helped me to be more clam and understanding of the man I love. Yes, it's true that some women can't handle the truth so therefore they would say this book is a lie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    This book helped me

    I learned stuff I didn't know about men. It helped me to understand them much better. We may not like to hear some of what she says, but it is definitely true. Only read this if you are really ready to make a change in how you relate to your man. It will be worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read For Women Only and my husband read For Men Only in our Marriage Enrichment Class 'married 11 years' and it truly was eye opening! It can definitely help ELIMINATE or REDUCE arguements for as women we can understand the roles of men and their thinking and with For Men Only they can understand us. MEN NEED RESPECT NOT LOVE... who would have thought! The set would make a great wedding/engagement gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    A great book!

    This book helped me understand my boyfriend so much better! It's extremely easy to read, and is written by a woman who can relate to her audience but drawn from her conversations with and survey responses from countless men, so it's very accurate. I'd read a chapter, and then talk to my boyfriend and say, 'Do you really ____?!?' and almost every time his answer was yes! It's amazing how different men are in ways we'd never even think about, and this really really helped me understand my boyfriend better. I'd recommend talking about what you read with your significant other, though, because not EVERYTHING is true about every guy (obviously). I'd also recommend getting him to read the companion book, For Men Only, my boyfriend did and he is glad I convinced him to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Great read

    I'm 44 years old and had no idea some of the things my husband felt / thought. If you're getting married (or want to stay married), I'd highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Right on

    When I heard the author of this book being interviewed on the radio about it, I decided I had to get it and read it to see if it was right (since I'm a man). Well, it's right on. I thought the book was very well written and especially liked that she provided charts from her surveys to back up what she's saying. The book isn't a psychologist's opinion on the subject...it's simply the results and analysis of her surveys. Reading some of the negative reviews here, I will say that I think if you're a woman reading this book and you're not willing to learn that how you *think* men are wired is wrong, then you probably will be offended by some of what is said. However, if you keep an open mind this book will help you to understand men. Again, it's an excellent book and is right-on. I would recommend it for any woman to read whether you are happily married, unhappily married, or single. This will help you understand a lot of aspects about men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Single Women must read

    The title caught my eye but the book I could not put down. I am 26 years old and feel I understand how to love and understand my future husband b/c of this book. I read the book in four hours,, BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    soon to be married woman

    I read this book with my fiance and was shocked to discover the truth about a lot of things I had always wanted to understand about men. Not only has this helped our relationship, but it has impacted the way I look at and treat all the men in my life including my father and brother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Five Months Later & I Still Cannot Stop Thinking of The Lessons I've Learned!

    Ladies, this is an absolute must have! I cannot express the unbelievable changes I made immediately after reading this book. It has been five months later and I still cannot find another book that has measured up to this one. The ¿visual rolodex¿ made me put a serious reality check to the way I carry myself in my own home. I was encouraged that men do not necessarily want a size 3 but what they want is for us to take pride in taking care of ourselves. I love, love, love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    For Women Only: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men

    I thought I was happily married, I mean, come on I love my husband, and he loves me. I'm a Flight Attendant and successful author, what is there left to learn about men, that I don't know. Then I saw an interview with Shaunti on TV and I was stunned. The book sounded facinating. She interviewed 1,000 guys and tallied up the results. I got the book - read it in one setting and then quizzed my husband. 'Honey, you don't think this...do you?' He did. My eyes were opened. And I saw my husband as 'so different' from me, someone who responds to different things, will respond differently than me. You need to get this book. I have told everyone I know, men and woman, this book will change your marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    For Women Only: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men

    I met Shaunti Feldhahn when we were both scheduled to be on the same TV show promoting our new releases. She was on while I was in the green room, so I watched her performance, and was so riveted by what she was saying, that I immediatly got this book, and couldn't put it down. Then, I started calling all my friends and reading them parts of the book, and then read whole chapters to my husband. I had a good marriage before, (but thought my husband was slightly nuts because he didn't look at certain issues the same way I did.) Now with this book, I have a more effective way of speaking to my husband and understanding his views. I'm not saying this book is all you need to transform your marriage. I'm saying if you have a good marriage and want it to be transformed from good to GREAT for GOOD. Grab this book immediatly and read it - you will love it! It's actually facinating and I would put it on my list of required reading for every pre-wedding day bride to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    I can't believe it!!!

    Everything that I thought I knew about men - it's all explained, in black and white in this book - everything that I was so wrong about!! Everything that I had no clue about!! This really changes things - I think every single woman needs to read this book as a prerequisite for relationships with men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Great book and easy read

    From a man's perspective this book is bang on accurate. It made me giggle the entire time I read it because I could relate to everything in it. I am sorry that cmora didn't understand it all. I didn't find anything in it that would support the use of pornography, nor make men out to be weak just because we are visual. Actually, being a Christian, I find that my faith makes me strong in dealing with my tendencies towards sin. None of us are without sin and we are all weak without Christ. This is a great book with a Christian slant and I recommend it to all women in a relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Quite informative!!

    I had no idea...why hasn't a book like this already been written?!? I learned SO MUCH about what goes on in men's lives and in their heads that I had no clue about - knowing this could have definitely saved me a lot of heartache in past relationships...a must read for every woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    WOW, now I get it ! ! ! !

    I've been married for over 30 years and truly Love my husband very much. But for all the years of Kissing and Making-up because I didn't 'get it', this sure would have made 3 decades of difference. When I read it and asked my husband about certain area, he said 'Yeah, that's me' OH my gosh! We've both talked and argued over the years to be 'understood' however it was usually from my viewpoint because I was the one more able to reveal the need or problem I thought we had. I LOVE this book and have given several away. Each time I did, I got a WOW from the gals and a 'Yup, that's me' from their guys. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4