Customer Reviews for

For Your Entertainment

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Adam Lambert tops the Best Sellers list!

Adam Lambert is the outstanding new artist who was the star of American Idol this year! His beautiful vocals have been lauded by the top entertainers in the Music Industry. "To find a talent as exceptional as Adam Lambert is a rare and special event," says Simon Fuller,...
Adam Lambert is the outstanding new artist who was the star of American Idol this year! His beautiful vocals have been lauded by the top entertainers in the Music Industry. "To find a talent as exceptional as Adam Lambert is a rare and special event," says Simon Fuller, Creator and Executive Producer of American Idol and Founder & CEO of 19 Entertainment. "I am thrilled that American Idol was the platform for the world to discover this brilliant young man. He is unique and unforgettable and a certain star of tomorrow." Another quote, from Bryan May guitarist for Queen! "I am not kidding. I'm not easily moved to jelly by male vocalists ... but Adam's voice reaches out with sensitivity, depth, maturity, and awesome range and power which will make jaws drop all around the world. No doubt about it. The world of Rock has a bright new star."

posted by 4782 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not all that awesome

I liked Adam on Idol but did NOT like this album at all. Doesn't sound anything like what I expected it would...really a disappointment.

posted by 2311074 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Adam Lambert tops the Best Sellers list!

    Adam Lambert is the outstanding new artist who was the star of American Idol this year! His beautiful vocals have been lauded by the top entertainers in the Music Industry. "To find a talent as exceptional as Adam Lambert is a rare and special event," says Simon Fuller, Creator and Executive Producer of American Idol and Founder & CEO of 19 Entertainment. "I am thrilled that American Idol was the platform for the world to discover this brilliant young man. He is unique and unforgettable and a certain star of tomorrow." Another quote, from Bryan May guitarist for Queen! "I am not kidding. I'm not easily moved to jelly by male vocalists ... but Adam's voice reaches out with sensitivity, depth, maturity, and awesome range and power which will make jaws drop all around the world. No doubt about it. The world of Rock has a bright new star."

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE ENTIRE FOR YOUR ENTERTAINMENT CD IS FANTASTIC

    I am a 54 year old woman married to an Army officer. I've loved Adam's voice and showmanship since the day he started on IDOL. He has become the new Madonna (and before her, Cher,) as being the consummate entertainer. The entire CD is worth listening to over and over again. I have used it for my water aerobics three times weekly since I bought it the day after the AMAs and I am STILL not bored. Every tune is a thought provoking or electrifying gem. I have a second CD in my car. You can't go wrong buying this CD unless you are tone deaf or emotionally dead.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You will be thoroughly entertained

    This CD grabs your attention from the first track and never lets you go. There are songs to fit any mood you find yourself in. It's impossible not to want to dance to 'Music Again', 'Fever' and the title track, 'For Your Entertainment', while 'Soaked' and 'Broken Open' are soulful with soaring vocals that have to be heard to be believed. You will find yourself listening to this CD over and over, and discovering something new each time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Single "For Your Entertainment" is a HIT!

    Just heard 'For Your Entertainment' and it is FUNFUNFUN! Adam's voice doesn't do much soaring out into space on this one, but the beat is HOT, the mixing is so siiiiick, and the overall feeling is I GOTTA HEAR THIS AGAIN! Not such a bad thing for a first single. Congrats AL! It's AWESOME!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Artist

    Adam Lambert is an outstanding singer and performing artist. He is extremely creative. His voice is unique, refreshing and captivating. He brings us to life. You have to see and hear him to understand. Take the time to listen.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Adam Lambert fully delivers on his promise to Entertain!

    This may be my favorite Idol alum album. The more and more I listen to this album, the more I like it. Adam has an amazing voice and imminently succeeds in bringing the glam edge back to pop-rock.

    This album is a great showcase of his amazing talent, both as a singer and as a performer. And there seems to be something for everyone . . . dance, pop, synth, ballads . . . it's the kind of album you can actually listen to from start to finish.

    Although other songs have gotten more attention (Music Again & For Your Entertainment), Track 3 (Whataya Want From Me) is an amazing ballad-like song, Track 4 (Strut) is quirky and fun, as is Track 11 (Sleepwalker).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good CD enjoy every song on it

    I really enjoy this CD it is good start to finish

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    An Incredible Talent and Fantastic CD

    I had the opportunity of seeing Adam Lambert perform at the Pantages Theater in "Wicked." His talents are incredible and he is such a natural. Adam loves all kinds of music and it shows in this album. He doesn't get hung up on genre, he just loves music and after you hear him sing, you will too. What a set of pipes on this guy. The orchestration and arrangements, combined with Adam incredible voice make this a must have CD. I can't wait until his next one comes out because he'll have even more contol over the content. Mark my words, the sky is the limit for Adam! All this talent, fantastic looks, AND he's a wonderful person to boot! You go Adam!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Adam Lambert can sing his face off!!!!

    I love every single song on this album... his voice is amazing, one minute the beats make you want to get up and dance, and then the most beautiful ballads almost bring you to tears. It's Rock, Pop, Dance, all weaved together with a little of that theatricality we love about Adam... there is something here for any musical taste or any mood. Excellent, definately worth buying for fans who loved him on Idol, or anyone who enjoys catchy, current pop music with outstanding vocals. I am 35 years old and love this album, and so does my 7 year old neice and my 52 year old mom! Adam crosses all age barriers!!! Buy it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not all that awesome

    I liked Adam on Idol but did NOT like this album at all. Doesn't sound anything like what I expected it would...really a disappointment.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Buy for Pop Fans

    This is a great CD. The tracks, even excluding his amazing single "For Your Entertainment" are great. You never are bored and the lyrics are provoking, in every way. I do not regret the 13 bucks I paid an would even buy the Deluxe Edition on adamofficial.com because I expect the other bonus tracks will be just as great in quality.

    Go get it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sounds like Queen/ Does anyone else think so???

    Thought he might do a few slower songs. Something to show off that wonderful range of his... too bad he screwed up on that show (although, apparently, he doesn't think so.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outrageously, guiltily pleasurable. A musical popsicle.

    I have never in all [nearly] 30 years of my musical fandom bought an album by anyone remotely associated with the corporate machine called American Idol. But then. there is Adam Lambert. This man's mere existence invalidates everything. He's like the glittery lovechild of Velvet Goldmine and Edward Scissorhands, ridiculous, offensive, and intelligent all at once, and he has somehow landed in the hands of mainstream America.

    Obscure indie music snobs: It's okay to love this album. Expect to get 'Music Again' and/or 'Sure Fire Winners' stuck in your head for entire work-shifts at a time. You're not shallow for digging 'If I Had You'. It's shameless Euro-dance-pop, sure, but the vocals are all real, and the bridge screams of surrender. 'Aftermath' is cheesier than a block of packaged Velveeta, but as long as you relate the lyrical sentiment to something powerful in your own life, you'll feel less retarded for screaming along. 'Broken Open' carves out the kind of emotional hole that should be reserved for indie film tragedies. And yes, 'Time for Miracles' at the end actually works. After this emotionally taxing funhouse of a record, the whole 'ain't giving up' theme feels really good, like a cold cheap beer after a long day.

    One final note: never, ever, under any circumstances, play the fist-pumping anthem 'Fever' in your car, unless you are sober and fully parked. Otherwise you run the risk of completely ignoring the road and ramming into some poor unsuspecting pedestrian who will only wonder why you won't stop headbanging long enough to get out of the car and survey the scene. Consider yourself warned.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Buy It Now! You'll Be Very Entertained....

    This is a really enjoyable album. It ranges from rock, to dance music, to tender ballads, making it a good showcase for the wide range of his vocal, dramatic, and performance abilities. I find myself humming the tunes after listening. The songs are great to listen to, and I think they would be absolutely fantastic in concert. Please tour soon, Mr. Lambert!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My new favorite!! A 56-year young grandmother!

    I put the cd into my car, and my husband and I listened to Adam's beautiful voice at least four times through the whole cd while driving a couple of hours. I was dancing behind the wheel! His voice is truly amazing...and I would have loved to hear more tracks with maybe some type of show tunes. BUT...what the album offers is sexy, fun, sexy and brilliant! I will be first in line for a concert by him! Each song is interesting...and it just gets better. I totally love it, and am so proud of him, and I am now, already waiting for his next cd!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fresh and Exciting

    I LOVE this album! I've played it a jillion times already and find a different favorite song each time. It has variety - both fun and intimate.
    And, of course, Adam's vocal performance is outstanding!

    Some of the material reminds me of some of my favorite sounds from past decades but Adam's version sounds new and fresh.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Adam Lambert

    your the next madonna.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Mad World

    I love Adam Lambert's songs and Mad World is one of my favorites. I listen to it more than once every day!! He is a very talented artist.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved it! His voice is amazing and he had a pretty wide range on this CD. I think he did a fantastic job on it. The music did a good job of showcasing his vocal and musical range. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    This album rocks

    When I first heard the song "whaddaya want from me" on the radio, I was curious what Adam Lambert was like. when I got his album I fell in love with his music! its wonderful. I play "if I had you" over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7