Customer Reviews for

For a Few Demons More (Hollows Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 605 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(425)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The saga continues with incredible twists and turns,

Slipping back into Kim Harrison's world of Rachel and her friends and foes is very comforting. It makes me wish that I could never leave it because once I start reading her books I feel lost and amazed, the real world forgotten and far away in my mind. Each new volume b...
Slipping back into Kim Harrison's world of Rachel and her friends and foes is very comforting. It makes me wish that I could never leave it because once I start reading her books I feel lost and amazed, the real world forgotten and far away in my mind. Each new volume beckons me to indulge in another fantastic adventure where the fights, jokes, puns, some wicked magic and charismatic characters hold me in a trance until the last page is devoured.

The fifth book of the series has been the book of changes, so much happens from when we last saw Rachel, her solid ground composed of Jenks, Ivy, Kisten, Ceri, David, Glenn and few others is unraveling in all directions. She is torn between her wild romance with Kisten and the lurking desires she's growing for Ivy, not sure whether she wants to be friends or more, debating with herself while fighting werewolves, pissed of demons, alluring vampires, tricky elfs, hilarious pixes and not so nice witches and all sorts of enigmatic creatures with agendas of their own. With power struggles happening between those at the top of the food chain, Rachel is caught in the middle with everything she holds dear at stake. I can't say any more, these books can be easily spoiled; something that I knew was going to happen did in deed happen and it didn't lessen the shock but it took something away form me. So for those who aren't up to this book, start from the beginning and don't go peaking at spoilers.

The ending was so intense that I was torn between being afraid of reading through it and not wanting to see how the whole demon tangled up mess would resolve and unable to wait for the sixth book to arrive in the mail so I can rip the box open and pounce on it. Each character has been so lovingly written and so incredible real that any pain they went through I felt as well. Reading their stories and following their dreams, victories and fights always made me feel close to them, as if they were part of my own family. I am embarrassed to say but by page 444 tears were bubbling in my eyes, and I was a sobbing mess, I can't remember the last time a book made me cry! I can honestly say that this is my favorite series of all the books I have ever read, I can't imagine anything being warmer and filled with more glow, magic and real heart than this gem of a series. Utter perfection in my opinion and the more the better.

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This might have been my favorite in the series thus far but I ca

This might have been my favorite in the series thus far but I can only give it 3 starts because am stunned and disappointed that a character I was really beginning to root for is now gone. This character's involvement in the story is what has made it hard for me to put...
This might have been my favorite in the series thus far but I can only give it 3 starts because am stunned and disappointed that a character I was really beginning to root for is now gone. This character's involvement in the story is what has made it hard for me to put down the last few books and now I don't know if I should rush through the next book looking for something to fill my void and/or hoping that this character is somehow brought back (though this seems very unlikely) or just give this series up and look for something else because I'm so disappointed one of my favorite characters won't be there anymore.

posted by 10176699 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The saga continues with incredible twists and turns,

    Slipping back into Kim Harrison's world of Rachel and her friends and foes is very comforting. It makes me wish that I could never leave it because once I start reading her books I feel lost and amazed, the real world forgotten and far away in my mind. Each new volume beckons me to indulge in another fantastic adventure where the fights, jokes, puns, some wicked magic and charismatic characters hold me in a trance until the last page is devoured. <BR/><BR/>The fifth book of the series has been the book of changes, so much happens from when we last saw Rachel, her solid ground composed of Jenks, Ivy, Kisten, Ceri, David, Glenn and few others is unraveling in all directions. She is torn between her wild romance with Kisten and the lurking desires she's growing for Ivy, not sure whether she wants to be friends or more, debating with herself while fighting werewolves, pissed of demons, alluring vampires, tricky elfs, hilarious pixes and not so nice witches and all sorts of enigmatic creatures with agendas of their own. With power struggles happening between those at the top of the food chain, Rachel is caught in the middle with everything she holds dear at stake. I can't say any more, these books can be easily spoiled; something that I knew was going to happen did in deed happen and it didn't lessen the shock but it took something away form me. So for those who aren't up to this book, start from the beginning and don't go peaking at spoilers. <BR/><BR/>The ending was so intense that I was torn between being afraid of reading through it and not wanting to see how the whole demon tangled up mess would resolve and unable to wait for the sixth book to arrive in the mail so I can rip the box open and pounce on it. Each character has been so lovingly written and so incredible real that any pain they went through I felt as well. Reading their stories and following their dreams, victories and fights always made me feel close to them, as if they were part of my own family. I am embarrassed to say but by page 444 tears were bubbling in my eyes, and I was a sobbing mess, I can't remember the last time a book made me cry! I can honestly say that this is my favorite series of all the books I have ever read, I can't imagine anything being warmer and filled with more glow, magic and real heart than this gem of a series. Utter perfection in my opinion and the more the better. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    stop spoilers!

    People writing review need to PLEASE STOP WRITING SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!<BR/>It would be nice to read reviews without being told who dies!! this is so rude!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    This might have been my favorite in the series thus far but I ca

    This might have been my favorite in the series thus far but I can only give it 3 starts because am stunned and disappointed that a character I was really beginning to root for is now gone. This character's involvement in the story is what has made it hard for me to put down the last few books and now I don't know if I should rush through the next book looking for something to fill my void and/or hoping that this character is somehow brought back (though this seems very unlikely) or just give this series up and look for something else because I'm so disappointed one of my favorite characters won't be there anymore.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good, sad but oh so good

    In the fifth book I found myself very sad at the end but it was definitely a good read and I'm sure the sad part had it's reason for being there, I'll just have to wait for explanation in further books.................

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    They Bad!

    In For a Few Demons More by Kim Harrison, Rachel Morgan, Jenks, and Ivy Tamwood leap over hurdles and go where few have gone before. Kim Harrison's vivid language gives insight to her mind and that of her characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW

    I just finished her previous book, "Handful of Charms", and I am literally bouncing in my chair, waiting to get off work and go get this book. This series has become my absolute favorite. I absolutely recommend it, if you want a good laugh and some non stop action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    So good...

    Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Most conclusive story yet. This story finishes up a few long-st

    Most conclusive story yet.

    This story finishes up a few long-standing plot-lines, and even showcases a little character development, without drastically changing the characters. Any fan of Kim Harrison's Hollows series will be satisfied after this installment. Rachel is finally coming into her own, accepting what she is and using it, instead of fighting it in that cowardly way she always did. Rachel has less fear of society in this book, which is great, but may come back to bite her in the ass.

    In this novel, unfortunately, Jenks is very slightly out of character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Great read

    It just keeps getting better. I enjoyed this book as I enjoyed all the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Vast Improvement! Review brought to you by OBS staff member Hei

    Vast Improvement!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi

    Beware of spoilers

    Rachel Morgan is back in the fifth installment of the Hollows series. She is still dating sexy living vampire, Kisten, and living with her business partners and friends Ivy and Jenks (along with Jenk&rsquo;s wife and kids). Rachel is still trying to convince Ivy to work out a blood balance with her after Ivy bit her in the last book, but Ivy refuses unless Rachel will throw in sex, which she won&rsquo;t.

    Rachel is awoken one morning by a demon, Newt, possessing her body and when she uses her magic to get her out, the demon starts tearing up the church looking for something she thinks Rachel has. Ceri arrives and together she and Rachel summon Newt&rsquo;s familiar, Minias, to come and retrieve her. Minias takes Newt home, but now he owes Rachel a favor and the whole debacle causes the church to now be unsanctified.

    Meanwhile, someone is killing weres and Rachel knows it has to do with someone looking for the focus. Then, she discovers that three of the wolves weren&rsquo;t murdered, but were humans who committed suicide after the focus in David&rsquo;s possession caused them to turn into werewolves and the change was too painful for them to bear. Now Rachel must find somewhere else to hide the focus to where nobody is being turned accidentally, but making sure it doesn&rsquo;t get into the wrong hands either. She also must find out who is killing the other weres in order to find the focus. Not to mention she must find a way to get the church resancitified.

    I must admit that at times I have really struggled reading this series. Sometimes the storyline just really drags out, but I felt that this installment was much easier to read and it just seemed to flow better than some of the other books. And I was really happy to see that both Kisten and Trent were back for bigger storylines in this novel as I really missed them in the previous installment, A Fistful of Charms, where the two were almost non-existent.

    I liked the storyline with the focus causing David&rsquo;s girlfriends to turn without him even knowing it and showing us a side of David we have never seen before; a caring and protective side that I never saw coming.

    It was interesting to see Al&rsquo;s new found way to walk in the sun. I just wish it hadn&rsquo;t caused the shocking twist at the end of the book. I kept waiting for something to happen to negate it all, but it never came. But I can&rsquo;t help, but think it&rsquo;s not over yet. At least I&rsquo;m hoping it&rsquo;s not!!

    I did find it annoying that everything in Rachel and Jenk&rsquo;s lives seems to revolve around Ivy and how she&rsquo;ll react to different things. And I didn&rsquo;t like how it seems like they are setting things up for a relationship between Ivy and Rachel.

    Overall, I really liked this installment and it was a vast improvement on some of its predecessors in the series. I hope that the following books in the series continue to improve as well.

    This Review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    highly recommended

    fantastic book! loved the whole series can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Brain candy

    Not exactly literature, but fast-paced and fun. The main character annoys me at times...she whines a bit too much for my taste, and her self-deprecation is starting to convince me that she is, in fact, stupid. I read it on a plane in between bribing my kids to nap or watch cartoons. It was the perfect, mindless, entertaining read for that situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Good Book

    This book was very good and unpredictable...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    What a great read!

    ,I am up to no.11. Cannot put it down. I love jenks and his family. Good characters and plot. Each book shows growth with the ensemble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Awesome Series!

    I love this fun series! You never know what Rachel Morgan is going to get herself into. All the characters in the series are interesting and the author has a great way of creating them and working them into each others lives! This series is one I would rank among my favorite reads! Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Well, here we start the fifth book in The Hollows series by Kim

    Well, here we start the fifth book in The Hollows series by Kim Harrison with Rachel dealing with the same problem as in the fourth book. The werewolf artifact. I still find the idea of this artifact and what it does just... weird. However, For a Few Demons More shoots back up to the quality of the first few books in the series.

    Harrison writes characters that you can completely love, hate, like, loathe, or anywhere in between. She creates them in 3-D. Even the villains have soft sides. Everyone is constantly evolving. I have to admit, though, that sometimes I want to slap Rachel upside the head because she doesn't learn very quickly. She runs head-on into danger without a plan, she constantly wavers on her relationship with Ivy. It would be nice to see her grow up some.

    For a Few Demons More is a gut-wrenching, action-packed book. Be ready for anything, because that's what's going to happen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Recommend--will keep you in suspense!

    I could not put this down. Page after page was filled with suspense. This is the first book I have read from this author and I will definitely buy more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Love this series

    This is a wonderful series. If you like Karen Chance, Patricia Briggs, or Kelly Armstrong you will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    The entire series is a must read. Love, love, love Kim Harrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Great!

    This isn't my favorite book in the Rachel Morgan Series, but it is just as captivating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31