Customer Reviews for

For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow is Enuf

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

simply wonderful

as a male reading this play, I can see how some males would and could see this as an attack. But I see this as not an attack on men, but a liberation for women. This play helped me as a black male to open my eyes to some of the difficulties that black women face everyda...
as a male reading this play, I can see how some males would and could see this as an attack. But I see this as not an attack on men, but a liberation for women. This play helped me as a black male to open my eyes to some of the difficulties that black women face everyday. From me (a black male) to you (black females) 'I am sorry'. Please continue to stay strong

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE READ

Do not get the sample.. its only the first 8 pages.. and it only covers the reviews and part of the copy rights. -808 chick(:

posted by 9581969 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    simply wonderful

    as a male reading this play, I can see how some males would and could see this as an attack. But I see this as not an attack on men, but a liberation for women. This play helped me as a black male to open my eyes to some of the difficulties that black women face everyday. From me (a black male) to you (black females) 'I am sorry'. Please continue to stay strong

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    A Breathtaking Use of Language

    I absolutely LOVED this book. The language was beautiful and I found myself reading (and often REreading) the poems out loud to myself. The theme of community transcends African-American women and spoke to me as a young white male.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    A must read for ALL women!

    This book clearly influenced my life with it's honesty, brutality, and love. I re-enacted one of the poems in a spoken word contest over 20 years ago and my friend maintains it's one of the best pieces he's ever heard..........

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Breath takingly beautiful

    I have owned my first copy of this wonderful book since I was twelve years old. I am now forty four. It still moves me, makes me shiver, makes me cry, makes me laugh. It is my life, my world. It speaks to my soul as to what it is to be a black child, girl, woman in this world and come out victorious.!!

    Thank you My Queen for speaking to us, for us. To all of the Queens of the universe read and be moved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A must read for women of all color

    'For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/when the Rainbow Is Enuf: A Choreopoem' is an engrossing look at the lives, dreams, and trials of women in our time period. I beleive this is a must read for all women because it touches all ranges of emotions that women experienc. Especially interesting was the unique look at sexuality in it's many forms and the ways we react. I read the book alone and then read selected poems with my closest sister friends. It was an excellent bonding experienc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    PLEASE READ

    Do not get the sample.. its only the first 8 pages.. and it only covers the reviews and part of the copy rights. -808 chick(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    A must read

    This book is must read for all Colored Girls,rather they are black or not. The poems in this book cover a wide range of issues that go far beyond any color barrier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Feel Like I Have Been Living Under A Rock!

    I just saw the previews for the movie and I am excited to see it. Forgive me for not reading the book yet, but the only book that truly excited me like this is "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It was supposed to be just a guide to forgiveness, instead it changed my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    A Classic Masterpiece

    The first time I read this I was 10 years old. When I was 17, I played 'Lady in Green' in the high school play. To this very day, I read parts of this book over and over again whenever I need inspiration, or just a good emotionally-releasing cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    A Timeless Classic

    This choreopoem has been around for decades. However, it never loses its impact and beauty. Reading it never gets old. I would recommend all young readers be exposed to this moving and dynamic literary work, that's deepest lesson lies in learning to love self, unconditionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great Book

    I would recommend that everyone read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I havent read the book yet but lokking foward to reading it heard it was awsome

    Readd me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    a gutsy and inspiring tribute to women

    beautifully written, provocative and passionate. she has all the words that make you feel as though someone finally got it; really got it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully poetic

    Had to read this for a literature class much before the movie was ever coming out and loved the poetic vibe in such tragedy and hardship. Literary in its writing, poetic in its story telling, tragic in its content I would recommend this to any woman, black, white or otherwise. We have all been in one of these ladies shoes, and if we haven't, this is hope that things are always worthing living through, even the toughest things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you like poetry you will like this book

    Bravo Ntozake Shange! This is a good play , very short (112 pages) and can be read in a few hours or less. However, just like the movie, you have to open your mind and really focus on the the story -which is lyrically told through the poems- or else you will miss IT. I particularly enjoyed it because I saw Tyler Perry's movie version several months ago so I was able to make a connection to the characters. Reading the book actually left me desiring to see the live production of the play! I would recommend "For Colored Girls...." for book discussion groups or as a preview or follow up to watching the movie version. Otherwise if you are not into poetry you probably won't like this book because it is not the kind of book you just sit down and read for leisure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Great poems.

    I loved the movie and had to have the poems for myself. Very powerful. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Powerful!!

    I saw the movie, and wanted the read all the poems behind the movie. It was powerful and encouraging. A quick read:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    found

    in the world as it is today so many women and their daughters are lost, unaware that they have anything of worth let alone a voice to be heard. its sad that many will never read this book and most will see the previews for the movie n think oh goodness another tyler perry. but this book captures not only our experiences but our essence and the author lends us her voice and beautiful words so we can be heard. amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    recommended

    Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Aims for the heart and makes its mark

    This choreopoem is as moving as it is colorful. You are drawn toward the characters, swept up in their emotional roller coaster and you feel their pain and anquish. Laugh, cry, dance but be sure to read this first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8