Customer Reviews for

For the King's Favor

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

This book should be read prior to Defy a King, but due to the way this book was released in the US, unlike the UK, we received them out of order. The UK version is (The Time of Singing.) Both are stand alone books, but it would have been nice to have read this one first...
This book should be read prior to Defy a King, but due to the way this book was released in the US, unlike the UK, we received them out of order. The UK version is (The Time of Singing.) Both are stand alone books, but it would have been nice to have read this one first. In this novel we learn about Roger Bigod during the turbulent years of King Henry II, King Richard and King John as he fights for his lands that his traitor father lost. We also experience his marriage to Ida de Tosney (King Henry's mistress and mother of his bastard William Longespee.) If you read "The Greatest Knight "the first in the trilogy" this book will make you smile reliving a lot of those memories. Roger Bigod and William Marshall go through a lot together. I won't say more for spoiler alerts, but this is another great Chadwick read. Once again this is a stand alone book, but reading the books in order makes it all that much more enriching The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, For the King's Favor, To Defy a King.

posted by penname96 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chad

Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chadwick's
books, I could not bring myself to like Ida de Tosney. I can't put my
finger on exactly what it was that caused me to dislike her, but her
personality, as presented in this novel, simply turned my st...
Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chadwick's
books, I could not bring myself to like Ida de Tosney. I can't put my
finger on exactly what it was that caused me to dislike her, but her
personality, as presented in this novel, simply turned my stomach. I
would have gladly given 5 stars to this book, had I been able to
empathise at all with the protagonist.

posted by PeanutJim on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Excellent!

    This book should be read prior to Defy a King, but due to the way this book was released in the US, unlike the UK, we received them out of order. The UK version is (The Time of Singing.) Both are stand alone books, but it would have been nice to have read this one first. In this novel we learn about Roger Bigod during the turbulent years of King Henry II, King Richard and King John as he fights for his lands that his traitor father lost. We also experience his marriage to Ida de Tosney (King Henry's mistress and mother of his bastard William Longespee.) If you read "The Greatest Knight "the first in the trilogy" this book will make you smile reliving a lot of those memories. Roger Bigod and William Marshall go through a lot together. I won't say more for spoiler alerts, but this is another great Chadwick read. Once again this is a stand alone book, but reading the books in order makes it all that much more enriching The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, For the King's Favor, To Defy a King.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful historical fiction. I really enjoyed it.

    I really, really enjoyed this story. The one drawback was that the review copy I received had translation issues between formats because there were numerous obvious typos in it that were distracting. The story was a bit too long as well. Regardless, I found it to be a very enjoyable read and I would recommend it to people who enjoy a good medieval romance. This author certainly knows how to deliver on that account.

    Ms. Chadwick's writing style was thoroughly engrossing and I found myself living in the 1100s along with the characters. The deflowering of Ida by the king at such a young age and her subsequent service to him was realistically portrayed. I really felt for her situation. She was truly trapped and was such a sweet girl with a good heart. So when Roger Bigod came along and there was an obvious attraction between them, I was hoping and praying that she would be allowed to marry him.

    Their relationship with exciting and I enjoyed experiencing their budding relationship along with them. Their marriage was intense and sweet at the same time. Their love for each other was powerful and real. I think the author's greatest strength was in her ability to develop powerful love relationships between characters. She also did an outstanding job with the setting and with showing inter-familial rivalries and the desire to possess land and power.

    I agonized with Ida when she had to leave her oldest son behind and I grieved for her every time she reflected on the loss. I also rejoiced in her other children who were a comfort to her. I understood Roger's pain when he felt like he was in competition with the king even though he knew deep inside that he was not, and that she truly loved him, not Henry. It did make for some awesome chemistry and set up the sexual tension between them as husband and wife very well. This story was hot, but done in good taste. The romantic elements were strong but not overarching because the story was chock full of history and historical subplots that made for a well-rounded novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    accurate history meets modern love story

    After reading rave reviews about Elizabeth Chadwick's books, I now understand why she is so well loved by fans of medieval historical fiction. She effortlessly weaves intricate political intrigue and chivalry into her stories filled with historical figures she brings to life. I simply loved her characters! For the King's Favor is based on the true story of Ida de Tosney, the young mistress of King Henry II and the man she chooses to marry, Roger Bigod, an honourable man who patiently waits for the earldom he is to inherit. The story spans almost twenty years from when Ida is seduced at a young age and becomes the King's mistress against her will (a role she is ashamed of) to when her family and happiness are complete after being married to Roger for eighteen years. There is plenty of action and romance in this novel. Chadwick follows the political events of the time and how they affect Ida and Roger who are closely tied to the royal court. Ida gives birth to a son by the king before she marries Roger and the heartrending choice she has to make when she leaves the court to start a new life with Roger plagues her throughout her life. Roger's stepbrothers and stepmother continuously fight him over the issue of the inheritance of the earldom since Roger's father annulled his first marriage in which Roger was conceived. (I was surprised at the ease in which people could do this-annul a marriage even after the conception of children. I suppose it was similar to divorce but without the stigma?) These conflicts are well developed in the story and are enhanced by the fragility of court relationships, which can instantly change or reverse depending on the whims of those in power. Although Roger was loyal to the king, the evil Longchamp (Bishop of Ely) never lost an opportunity to sow doubts, posing a threat, as did the stepbrothers. This is what led me to believe the plot would thicken and something awful or momentous was going to happen to threaten Roger's alliance with the king and thus his chances of gaining his earldom. I was waiting for Longchamp or his brothers to plot against him since Chadwick did such a marvellous job of building believable characters and plunging the reader right into the world of political betrayal. When this did not happen and Chadwick chooses to follow the chronological life of Roger and Ida as depicted historically, I was somewhat disappointed. However, this does not take away from the fact that I enjoyed reading this novel. I want to mention that this book includes explicit sex scenes, tastefully described, except for one scene with a prostitute that was disturbing, and with details I could have done without. The main characters Ida and Roger are loyal to one another, love each other and their children, and their story is a good one. If you are a fan of historical fiction, you will undoubtedly want to read this one. Well written, full of royal intrigue, with likable and not-so-likable characters you'll love to hate, this novel is sure to please.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Engrossing and Entertaining

    originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Disenfranchised while still in their teens, both Ida de Tosney and Roger Bigod are at the mercy of the self-centered King Henry, then King Richard, and finally King John. The unquenchable desire to realize their dreams drive both of them makes some bitter choices. Although they must fight different battles, each of them refuses to remain a victim of the machinations of royalty during turbulent times.

    Ida pays an incredibly high emotional price to be allowed to marry Roger, the man she loves rather than someone the king picks for her. Her deep need to feel safe, loved, and secure gives her courage and fuels her efforts. After the marriage, she does not rely on her striking beauty, but uses her intelligence, talents, and industrious nature to help Roger as he strives to regain his earldom even s she nurtures their children and manages a large household during his long absences. Her loneliness is overwhelming at times.

    Roger pledged to service the king in his efforts to regain the earldom his father lost in rebellion. His legal knowledge and his military prowess keep him at the king's beck and call for months on end. He knows this is the price he must pay to get his earldom back.

    His and Ida's love is tested to the limit and family ties are stretched almost to the breaking point. His pledged service to the king, evading the traps his stepmother and her sons lay for him, and working to keep his holding prosperous while the kings strip England of her wealth to further their own agendas test his and Ida's physical and emotional mettle again and again.

    In For the King's Favor, medieval England throbs with festering political and religious sores as well as an infestation of the seven deadly sins in the extreme. The characters and their deeds linger in the mind long after the last word is read.

    Elizabeth Chadwick weaves a tapestry of a tale that is spellbinding. She weaves in a multitude of characters that use their astuteness to maneuver through a maze of intrigues conflicts in the powerful plot. With historically accurate facts, she weaves a background bustling with life that encompasses all levels of the society at the time. Best of all, she weaves in a love story that fills the heart with joy and satisfaction making the whole tapestry shine with hope for the future.
    For the King's Favor is one for the bookshelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chad

    Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chadwick's
    books, I could not bring myself to like Ida de Tosney. I can't put my
    finger on exactly what it was that caused me to dislike her, but her
    personality, as presented in this novel, simply turned my stomach. I
    would have gladly given 5 stars to this book, had I been able to
    empathise at all with the protagonist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Really enjoyed it.

    A total page turner...could never read just a chapter at a time. Really came to love and care for the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Very Good Read

    I usually read about Tudors type, history (and of course true crime, bios and more) and was not sure I would enjoy this but had such good reviews I gave it a read. Very good Read. Lot's going on but in no way confusing. Good Story and easy to read. A must for avid readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Recommend Highly

    Elizabeth Chadwick is a great author. I have read several of her book and "For the King's Favor" did not disappoint. Currently reading "To Defy a King" and also purchased "A Place Beyond Courage". Chadwick has the gift of bringing her characters in the present while inserting the flavor of the middle ages into her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Blake

    Ya

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Nixhole to blake

    You here

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3