Customer Reviews for

For the King's Favor

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

This book should be read prior to Defy a King, but due to the way this book was released in the US, unlike the UK, we received them out of order. The UK version is (The Time of Singing.) Both are stand alone books, but it would have been nice to have read this one first...
This book should be read prior to Defy a King, but due to the way this book was released in the US, unlike the UK, we received them out of order. The UK version is (The Time of Singing.) Both are stand alone books, but it would have been nice to have read this one first. In this novel we learn about Roger Bigod during the turbulent years of King Henry II, King Richard and King John as he fights for his lands that his traitor father lost. We also experience his marriage to Ida de Tosney (King Henry's mistress and mother of his bastard William Longespee.) If you read "The Greatest Knight "the first in the trilogy" this book will make you smile reliving a lot of those memories. Roger Bigod and William Marshall go through a lot together. I won't say more for spoiler alerts, but this is another great Chadwick read. Once again this is a stand alone book, but reading the books in order makes it all that much more enriching The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, For the King's Favor, To Defy a King.

posted by penname96 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chad

Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chadwick's
books, I could not bring myself to like Ida de Tosney. I can't put my
finger on exactly what it was that caused me to dislike her, but her
personality, as presented in this novel, simply turned my st...
Though this book is skillfully written, as is usual for Ms. Chadwick's
books, I could not bring myself to like Ida de Tosney. I can't put my
finger on exactly what it was that caused me to dislike her, but her
personality, as presented in this novel, simply turned my stomach. I
would have gladly given 5 stars to this book, had I been able to
empathise at all with the protagonist.

posted by PeanutJim on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    accurate history meets modern love story

    After reading rave reviews about Elizabeth Chadwick's books, I now understand why she is so well loved by fans of medieval historical fiction. She effortlessly weaves intricate political intrigue and chivalry into her stories filled with historical figures she brings to life. I simply loved her characters! For the King's Favor is based on the true story of Ida de Tosney, the young mistress of King Henry II and the man she chooses to marry, Roger Bigod, an honourable man who patiently waits for the earldom he is to inherit. The story spans almost twenty years from when Ida is seduced at a young age and becomes the King's mistress against her will (a role she is ashamed of) to when her family and happiness are complete after being married to Roger for eighteen years. There is plenty of action and romance in this novel. Chadwick follows the political events of the time and how they affect Ida and Roger who are closely tied to the royal court. Ida gives birth to a son by the king before she marries Roger and the heartrending choice she has to make when she leaves the court to start a new life with Roger plagues her throughout her life. Roger's stepbrothers and stepmother continuously fight him over the issue of the inheritance of the earldom since Roger's father annulled his first marriage in which Roger was conceived. (I was surprised at the ease in which people could do this-annul a marriage even after the conception of children. I suppose it was similar to divorce but without the stigma?) These conflicts are well developed in the story and are enhanced by the fragility of court relationships, which can instantly change or reverse depending on the whims of those in power. Although Roger was loyal to the king, the evil Longchamp (Bishop of Ely) never lost an opportunity to sow doubts, posing a threat, as did the stepbrothers. This is what led me to believe the plot would thicken and something awful or momentous was going to happen to threaten Roger's alliance with the king and thus his chances of gaining his earldom. I was waiting for Longchamp or his brothers to plot against him since Chadwick did such a marvellous job of building believable characters and plunging the reader right into the world of political betrayal. When this did not happen and Chadwick chooses to follow the chronological life of Roger and Ida as depicted historically, I was somewhat disappointed. However, this does not take away from the fact that I enjoyed reading this novel. I want to mention that this book includes explicit sex scenes, tastefully described, except for one scene with a prostitute that was disturbing, and with details I could have done without. The main characters Ida and Roger are loyal to one another, love each other and their children, and their story is a good one. If you are a fan of historical fiction, you will undoubtedly want to read this one. Well written, full of royal intrigue, with likable and not-so-likable characters you'll love to hate, this novel is sure to please.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Very Good Read

    I usually read about Tudors type, history (and of course true crime, bios and more) and was not sure I would enjoy this but had such good reviews I gave it a read. Very good Read. Lot's going on but in no way confusing. Good Story and easy to read. A must for avid readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Really enjoyed it.

    A total page turner...could never read just a chapter at a time. Really came to love and care for the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1