Customer Reviews for

For the Relief of Unbearable Urges

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Gcdfd

    I love juilssa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Gorgeous collection of short stories.

    Truly one of my favorites. Every story in this book was superb and practically flawless. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    'Unbearable Urges' is a Great Find

    After picking up this book up for an assignment, I was delighted to find a collection of intriguing stories. Englander has created nine short stories that stand well on their own and they tie together through the Orthodox Jewdaism view as well. The moral complications that his characters find themselves in leave a large supply of topics for discussion. Themes such as vanity, personal spirituality, and spouse faithfulness make his book a good Book Group selection. His characters come to life in a way that seemed to leave our class arguing as if they were one of us. I found myself relating these foreign experiences to my own. It is also a fairly quick read. The only problem that readers may have is if you are not accustomed to terminology from Orthodox Judaism. I found that this made some of the reading a little challenging, however it is necessary to feel as involved in this culture as you do when reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Clever and Thoughtful

    Nathan Englander's stories are full of the irony inherent to human life. His characters are believable, self absorbed and pitiable as they face their unique challenges. The results, as in life, waver between comic and tragic, with few human weaknesses left unexplored. As these characters fall into extenuating circumstances ranging from bizarre to almost eerily possible, the reader has little trouble following and sympathizing with or criticizing the actions of the protagonists. Good food for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    A comical view of Jews

    In my opinion, this collection of short stories is rather comical. It seems as if Englander¿s goal was to portray modern Jews in America in a laughable way. Perhaps writing it this way makes it easier for the non-Jewish reader to relate to the characters. In a way, Englander lessened the religious intensity of the stories so that they would appeal to a variety of readers. However, religion is undeniably the main theme throughout the short stories. My review of this book is somewhat limited considering I have only read the following short stories: ¿For the Relief of Unbearable Urges¿, ¿The Gilgul of Park Avenue, and ¿The Wig¿. My review should still be valid, though, since all of the short stories are similar and connected in some way. I enjoyed reading ¿For the Relief of Unbearable Urges¿ and ¿The Gilgul of Park Avenue¿. Since I am not a religious person, I enjoyed the humor of the stories. While I do not know much about the Jewish religion, I was still able to understand what was going on in the stories because Englander makes it understandable. Although the characters of the stories are Jewish, they encounter problems that can happen to any of us. Any reader is able to feel compassion for the characters. I did not enjoy reading ¿The Wig¿. I was confused about exactly what was taking place in the story. The events went very fast without enough explanation. Also, I do not think ¿The Wig¿ was a reasonable story; I do not think that what happened in the short story would ever happen in real life in New York City. Nevertheless, it stayed consistent with Englander¿s comical view of modern American Jews. Englander writes in a way that allows any person to pick up the book and read it and not be puzzled about what he just read. I recommend For the Relief of Unbearable Urges to anyone who is looking for an easy read that still provokes you to think and sympathize with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    What I thought

    I really enjoyed reading this collection of stories. I found them very entertaining and thought they were all very clever. I think all the stories are wonderfully individual and I liked them all for different reasons. I really enjoyed one in particular called The Gilgul of Park Ave. I thought this is one of the best stories I have read in a long time. It kept my interest and I thought it was really good. I loved the idea of someone stepping into the back of a cab a Christian and coming out of that same cab a Jew. I give Charles a lot of credit to go out on a limb and change all that he has ever known in life. I also find myself sympathizing with his wife, who now had the dynamics of her beloved marriage changed because of her husbands cab ride. I think what makes this one story so great is that both sides appeal to the reader and the reader can really get into the emotion and feeling of the story from two very different perspectives. Another story I found interesting to say the least was the tale itself called The Relief of Unbearable Urges. I was a little taken back by this story but I think that is why I found it so intriguing, because I had never heard a story like this one before. I think the idea that a rabbi would tell someone to do such an act to make a marriage is absurd and crazy but that is defiantly a key factor in the drive of the story. I found this story to be very funny and in a way I still think readers can relate. I think they can relate to seeing something they want more than anything and then not being able to have it. I also think they can relate to the idea that someone wants what they can't have more than something they can. Overall I liked the book of stories very much and would defiantly recommend it. I think all the different kinds of stories allow many people to enjoy this book. I think it applies to many people from all walks of life and that many different people would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    I do not trust my own judgment here

    I may be wrong,and I may be getting old but the reading of these stories did not move me deeply. In fact I have a sense of the writer writing about people and times he does not really know and feel from inside but rather imagines from outside.It seems more a game of mind than of heart. I can be wrong about this book, and I have heard enthusiastic reports from others who claim that Englander is going to be the next great Jewish writer. In any case this is one case in which I do not trust my own judgment. I would recommend that any reader who does care for Jewish life in fiction give this a chance. My guess is many of you will find far more in it than I have been able to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    Bold, stunning, brilliant, must be read....

    Nathan Englander has here presented a refreshingly fearless depiction of the Jew in the modern world. His stories, as comical and outlandish as some of them may be, in many ways capture the confusion that can be the life of the Jew in America. Englander is truly gifted when it comes to offering up characters with real depth, real personality. His book is memorable and must be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1