Customer Reviews for

For the Sins of My Father: A Mafia Killer, His Son, and the Legacy of a Mob Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Excellent Book

    Albert DeMeo has done an excellent job of creating a fine balance between honoring the father that he loved, without glamourizing the pain he caused and the crimes he participated in. This book is touching and eye-opening and would be enjoyed even by someone who is not a 'mob' fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    keeps you reading

    MAKES YOU SEE ROY IN A DIFFERENT LIGHT, AS TOLD BY HIS OWN BLOOD WHO GREW UP WITH HIM.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Wonderful Author, Wonderful Read.

    I've personally met Albert and this book is extremely delightful. A must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    I tip my hat to Albert DeMeo

    For the first time a book has been written about Mafia life that is told by a true insider. De Meo tells an honest portrait of his relationship with his father and how it related to life in the Mafia. It makes one really look at how the Mafia is portrayed, how these people have their own way of living their lives, that most of us don't understand. I was particularly impressed with the honesty of the young De Meo and his storytelling about his inner-most feelings about his father and his family. I wish Al good-luck with his future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    This book balances out much of the Mafia myth with truth and raw

    This book balances out much of the Mafia myth with truth and raw honesty. Gives one an understanding of the pains of growing up with a Mafia father, without glitz and glamour....or denials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    An Honest Review

    Fill with action and emotion. Albert was spoiled in the life and caused him to go through some of the things he did. The action made me read continuously, all the way to the end, very provoking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    You must check it out!!

    Very gripping! Reminds me of the Glass Castle. I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    The Book Is About Loss Not The Mob Colm

    I too lost someone in a violent manner and their lifestyle was to blame but it does not make their loss to me any less painful. It was the best book I ever read , It has helped me through many a dark night, I cant wait for the movie. P.S. I had the pleasure of meeting Al DeMeo at a charity event and he is far from a cry baby but a Dam Sexy Man Sincerely Elizabeth

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    spoiled boy to spoiled man

    albert should see . what these scum do to people .poor me poor me .poor me i sat and read this cry babys book hes pyathetic .he should see people in the cancer hospitals .i lost my dad at 15 my leg . and still havent cried as much as poor albert.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2