Customer Reviews for

For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Optimus

    "Never." He shouted, transforming and driving toward base.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Destroyer

    Drives to met the cons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Nightbird

    *this time im gonna set things straight. This time i shall not mess up. This time i shall give it my all* she thought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Not recommended for people who are actually suffering.

    Why does God allow tragedy? Can God bring good from incomprehensible loss? How should we pray during times of great suffering? These are the type of questions Lucado tries to answer in 80 small pages.

    "The power of prayer . does not depend on the one who makes the prayer but on the one who hears the prayer."

    The primary theme of this book is simply: God is sovereign and He loves you. It has never taken me this long to read so few words. Don't get me wrong; the langage used in this book is simple. Short, punchy sentences maintain a rapid pace, and carries you along each page so rapidly, you could almost fail to notice how little substance there actually is. Almost.

    Part of me enjoyed reading each chapter, but another part could not help but see this book as a waste of time. That part of me made it almost impossible to finish reading it, as short as it is. There are certainly some gems to be found, and I agree with the central message. I'm sure that many people will find this book encouraging and enjoyable. However, I doubt that those who are really suffering, those who are in terrible pain, in deed, those whom this book is ostensibly aimed at, will find much comfort here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lucado answers the questions in this book.

    Where is hope in the middle of the storms of life? Where is God in the midst of these hard times? Where is God when a loved one dies, a job is lost, or sickness effects your life? Where is God when everything is falling apart? The answers to these question lie in Max Lucado's book, "For The Tough Times". This short, easy to read book is full of insight and wisdom to many of the questions we all ask during the tough times. Throughout the book, Max Lucado reminds us who is still in charge of everything going on in this world. God. Overall, this book was an encouragement to not blame God when things go wrong, to find His grace in the storm, and to find peace by forgiving those who have wronged us. The poignant word pictures Lucado paints are stirring and heartening.

    This is a great little gift book to give to a friend or loved on who may be going through a difficult situation. I was able to read this book in just one day. The book is only 80 pages long and can be read in an evening or a weekend afternoon. This is one of those books you put on you nightstand or on your office bookshelf to get to when you need a bit of encouragement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    Max Lucado's "For the tough Times" Falls Short of its Lofty Goal

    "When jobs are lost, marriages fall apart, and loved ones die, what are we to do?" This question is what Lucado prefaces on this short book. I can certainly resonate with this question, and there are not a lot of those that could not. Most have experiences that can certainly classify as struggle and painful.

    When I first picked up this book, I had doubts that an 80 page book could not answer such complex questions. After reading through the book, I believe that my initial impression was correct. I really believe that the book was a broad bush over tough and common issues, and it fails to live up to such a grandiose task.

    This is not to say that there are not fine nuggets of information that can be useful. There is a short list of summaries of the biblical narratives of characters such as David, Joseph, Moses, and of course Jesus. There is not any new insights, but the purpose of nice reminders is well served. Also, there are attempts in answering these tough complex questions, which could be understood as being better then to have no attempts in answers at all. I believe that the answers might be seen as a good start, or perhaps an arrow pointing in the right direction.

    By and large, I would not recommend the book to someone that would be going through "tough times". With this said, I am not for sure if there are many resources out there that truly can answer such questions. Maybe the best aspect of this book is that it points one to see "tough times" in context of God's love for us. This is something that is less understood in a book and more understood when we experience God in such times.

    -dj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    For the Tough Times by Max Lucado

    Max Lucado addresses the questions that I think many of us ask when going through hard times that we don't understand. Where is God? How can He let this happen? Does He care? I have found myself asking these questions at times. I know in my head that God is sovereign and in control, so then why isn't He helping me? When I started reading, I wondered how he was going to answer these questions. If it would be the same "Sunday School" answers that we often hear.

    As I read this book, I found myself praising God for who He is. His strength, His wisdom, His power and His love. I also saw myself in perspective. I only see the here and now. God sees the future. He can turn sadness, struggles and grief into praise, victory and glory.

    This is an excellent book that I would highly recommend. It's a short book, only 79 pages, but very powerful. God's ways are not our ways, and His thoughts are not like our thoughts. Max Lucado reminds us that everything, even Satan serves Him. He is the still on His throne in Heaven, and He's still in control. We know the Bible stories like Joseph and Daniel where God rescued them and used them. What an encouragement to us. As Max Lucado wrote at the end of this book, "Do it again, Lord. Do it again."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    A Great Reminder

    For the Tough Times by Max Lucado which is a short (only 79 pages) but yet very powerful book. Lucado has a very distinct writing style, and while not always my favorite I found it perfect for this book. In today¿s world, with our economy upside-down, people losing jobs every day, and then with just regular life occurrences, death, heartbreak, illness, most everyone has as some point asked `Where is God?¿ in all of this.<BR/><BR/>Lucado does a good job in reminding the reader who is actually in control, that when the cloud of pain and problems blocks our view we need to remember to look beyond the cloud to the God who is always and never stops being in control. His writing style is comforting which is exactly what you need when your heart is full of pain and you are looking for answers. As you read you are reminded of these important truths - God is good, God loves you, God hears you and God will act on your behalf.<BR/><BR/>This book is an easy read and if you find yourself in a `tough time¿ I recommend you take a look. It is an excellent reminder that God is active even when it feels like life is out of control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For The Tough Times by Max Lucado

    The topic of suffering is relevant to every human being on the face of the planet. As times get tougher, we tend to question why more often. A quick perusal of newspaper headlines or television news will show us that times are growing tougher by the moment.<BR/><BR/>Max Lucado once again delivers the answer--God.<BR/><BR/>For The Tough Times is a small book that packs a big punch. In it, Lucado vividly portrays a sovereign God who has a purpose for everything He allows in our lives.<BR/><BR/>Using the example of Bible heroes, such as David, Joseph, Moses, Daniel, Job, Paul and the disciples, Lucado shows how God used adverse events in their lives to bring about good.<BR/><BR/>Max Lucado specifically addresses finding God in the midst of tragedy and suffering, God's amazing love for us as our heavenly Father, and the sovereignty of God. He uses scripture to show us how God uses Satan as His tool, the importance of forgiveness and prayer, and how to view suffering and death from God's perspective.<BR/><BR/>For The Tough Times would be the perfect gift for a friend who has recently experienced tragedy or loss, but it's also a great book to have on hand for personal use and reference. <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book by author Max Lucado.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    Gift Book Draws on Lucado's Strengths

    This little gift book demonstrates Max Lucado's chief skill, which is his ability to offer short, simple words of comfort to people in pain. My favorite sections of this devotional book are "The Bitter Taste of Revenge," and "From God's Perspective" which, despite the bland title, is about death. In these chapters, Lucado's writing actually reaches me on a more visceral level. The other six chapters are a pleasant read to while away a few minutes in a doctor's waiting room.<BR/><BR/>I'm not a huge fan of Lucado's written work, in general. His sentences are very short; if I had to take a guess, I'd say that he writes on the fourth grade level. I don't mean to devalue his work at all. Somebody has to write for the multitudes of people who prefer to read fairly simple material. And when people are in spiritual pain, easier reading can be a good choice because it requires less concentration.<BR/><BR/>There is definitely an audience for this gift book. Giving a book like this to someone who is experiencing a trial always shows sensitivity; this isn't a book that will offend anyone. If I had experienced a loss or trauma recently, I would find this gift touching simply as a sign that someone cared, even though I'm not a Lucado reader. So I would recommend it, under the right circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Inspiring

    This was my first Max Lucado book, but definatley not my last. I found this book very inspiring and comforting. It opened my eyes to some of the most common questions and many new thoughts. It inspired me to open my bible and follow along and read the references. I would reccomend this book to anyone and would give it as a gift to everyone. A must read for all ages. Short but stunning~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written!

    You don¿t have to look far today to see depressing news. We can have hope though when we look to Jesus for our peace and answers. The book For the Tough Times by Max Lucado offers hope. <BR/> The book begins with a question asked by David in Psalm 11:3¿¿When all that is good falls apart, what can good people do?¿ I think at some point everyone has asked this question. What are we supposed to do during the hard times when nothing makes sense? We may question God or not know how to pray. We may feel lost, confused, and vengeful. In the chapters of this we learn we can put our hope in our Father¿s love, and we can be triumphant through Him. <BR/> One point that struck me from this book is the importance of being still. It is hard to be totally quiet before God, yet in the midst of our pain and struggling, often the thing we need the most is to wait on Him, listening for His voice.<BR/>This is a short book with short, easy to read chapters. It would be a wonderful book to give as a gift to a friend who is suffering through a loss. I have read numerous books by this author and again enjoyed his writing. Anyone who reads this book really can take something away from it after reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    This is for EVERYONE

    This book is for everyone. I mean everyone. Read it, then read it again with a highlighter in your hand. <BR/><BR/>By the title, you imagine it¿s just for those who are experiencing hardship in life. But even if your life is all rainbows and ice cream right now, who doesn¿t know of someone experiencing tough times? If we ourselves are not asking, we all hear the questions: Where is God in all of this? Can good come from evil? Is God really listening? <BR/><BR/>We can all use the encouragement in these pages, no matter our circumstances, to gain a greater understanding of God¿s purpose in allowing life¿s hard moments. Four ourselves, for those around us, and for the state of our world.<BR/><BR/>I almost stopped after the introduction, feeling that in just five pages Lucado had already given me enough to ponder and digest. But the full 80 pages were loaded with analogies, biblical and historical examples, and Lucado¿s characteristically flavorful language. Besides addressing the questions above, he expounds on the issues of trust, God¿s authority, the allowance of evil, forgiveness, reverence, hope in death, and prayer.<BR/><BR/>I¿m about to read it again. This time with a highlighter in hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1