Customer Reviews for

Forbidden

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adored this book.  It was great for young adult rea

I absolutely adored this book.  It was great for young adult readers, and for adult readers.  I really loved Roseline.  After literally hundreds of years of severe abuse from the man who is most likely the most scary man on the planet, she risked a possibly severely pai...
I absolutely adored this book.  It was great for young adult readers, and for adult readers.  I really loved Roseline.  After literally hundreds of years of severe abuse from the man who is most likely the most scary man on the planet, she risked a possibly severely painful death to escape him, leaving with practically nothing, and starting a new life at a Prep school in Chicago.

As you may expect, Roseline was hesitant in making too many friends, but the friends she did make were every bit as important to the story as she was.  I loved all of their individual quirky personalities, and how they brought Rose out of her shell, and made her (and me as the reader) laugh.

And then there’s Gabriel….the perfect guy.  She can’t stay away from him.  No matter how hard she tries, they are both constantly drawn together, and they start to realize there is more to their story than just a crush or a physical attraction.  And although Roseline is afraid to get too close, and have her past literally come back to haunt her, Gabriel won’t give up.  The author did a perfect job of keeping their relationship realistic in how you would think they would really be affected by her (real) age, her past that could kill, and the strange new things that were happening with Gabriel.  There were definitely some “awww” moments, but not too many.  It was perfect.

The end of the book wrapped up perfectly, not leaving a cliffhanger, but definitely leaving me ready to read the next book ASAP!  It was a great read!

This Review is copyrighted. Please do not share without giving Paranormal Reads/Erin full credit.

posted by ErinMT on August 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

:)

Not bad it is a very difrent take on dracula's lovers. Not a sappy love story and great read for any young adult

posted by 18221343 on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    I absolutely adored this book.  It was great for young adult rea

    I absolutely adored this book.  It was great for young adult readers, and for adult readers.  I really loved Roseline.  After literally hundreds of years of severe abuse from the man who is most likely the most scary man on the planet, she risked a possibly severely painful death to escape him, leaving with practically nothing, and starting a new life at a Prep school in Chicago.

    As you may expect, Roseline was hesitant in making too many friends, but the friends she did make were every bit as important to the story as she was.  I loved all of their individual quirky personalities, and how they brought Rose out of her shell, and made her (and me as the reader) laugh.

    And then there’s Gabriel….the perfect guy.  She can’t stay away from him.  No matter how hard she tries, they are both constantly drawn together, and they start to realize there is more to their story than just a crush or a physical attraction.  And although Roseline is afraid to get too close, and have her past literally come back to haunt her, Gabriel won’t give up.  The author did a perfect job of keeping their relationship realistic in how you would think they would really be affected by her (real) age, her past that could kill, and the strange new things that were happening with Gabriel.  There were definitely some “awww” moments, but not too many.  It was perfect.

    The end of the book wrapped up perfectly, not leaving a cliffhanger, but definitely leaving me ready to read the next book ASAP!  It was a great read!

    This Review is copyrighted. Please do not share without giving Paranormal Reads/Erin full credit.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    A page turner

    This book will keep you on your feet froom start to the end. I love everything about it and the vivid images were amazing. Now for book 2

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    ...

    Does anyone else notice that they basically use the same picture for another book? Its called bluedawn

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Yay!

    This is an awesome book! The plot gripped me from the beginning, in somewhat of a horror story. There was great character development througout the book, and I found myself rooting for Roseline from the start and hating her cruel husband-who is commonly known as Dracula. This was a interesting twist on the classic Dracula story. The summary makes it sound a bit like Twilight, but if Bella was the vampire and Edward was the normal person everyone seemed to have a thing for. Do not be alarmed, it's not like that! There is magic and love and intelligence(Thank goodness!!!) that all blends together to give you a book that you can't put down. I also loved the great descriptions in the story that provided a vivid picture in my mind. Overall the only thing that bothered me was that the whole book was told in present tense, which got to be kind of annoying sometimes. However, I look forward to reading the rest of the trilogy and finding out what happens to Rose and Gabriel. Yay for sequels!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Fun read!

    Amy Milles puts an entertaing spin on this genre of fiction. I enjoyed the character development as well as the story line.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    :)

    Not bad it is a very difrent take on dracula's lovers. Not a sappy love story and great read for any young adult

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    It was...disappointing

    The book is very obviously written by a new author just learning the basics. It is not even close to being a fantastic book, but it is ok. The writting is very immature and makes me wonder who the audience is suppost to be at times. It is rather hard to keep up with when it has so many errors. The story line is rather bland and predictable, but a little intertaining. Not a big fan of the character Rose. Her demure is to dull and boring when she is suppost to be a few hundred years old. I expected her to convey more of her actual age, but she seemed more like a normal teenager than an immortal being. And her attitude dos not help me like her anymore either. Franky I am disappointed in the creation of such a character. The book though is ok as a quick read, if yu have nothing else to do. I even went ahead and baught the second one, which is three times longer, I hope I am not disapppinted again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Enjoyable

    The fact that she has not written a stereotypical vampire book make this a good read, the. Characters are young but likable. I am interested in the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars I started this book while I was waiting for an event t

    3.5 stars
    I started this book while I was waiting for an event to start. I took easily to the opening chapters. I chose the book because of the cover and paranormal blurb. 

    Characters 3.5/5
    Amy's writing style is very easy and I was captivated within the first few pages. The characters need some development, but are rounded enough to appreciate them and fall in love with them in this book. 

    Roseline - I liked her instantly. I liked that she isn't the outcast but also doesn't want to be queen bee, even though she naturally draws attention. She is a well-balanced heroine, who is lovable and protective of her friends. I would enjoy finding out more about her past. 

    Sadie - I loved her spunk. She is the outcast who rebels against the popular but secretly wishes to be a part of it too. She is smart and witty. Without giving too much away, I was really happy that she opened her eyes and found something special at the end of the book - I really look forward to the development of this in the next book. 

    William - I adored him and his boyish charms. I liked his enthusiasm and easy nature. Part of me really wanted him to end up with Roseline, even though she belongs with Gabriel. I appreciated the fact that he is a great friend to Roseline, regardless of whether she is single or not. 

    Gabriel - I love this name! His instant infatuation/draw to Roseline is a bit weird in the beginning, but he definitely grows on you throughout the story. I felt bad for him and the life he's stuck with. He is trapped by parental expectations and business arrangements, which include a girlfriend every guy wants and he cannot get away from. We are still left with many questions about the changes we see in Gabriel throughout this story, but in the sneak peek to book 2, it looks like a lot of things should be cleared up. 

    Vladimer & Lucien - Vladimer is the villain in the story, and an exceptionally evil one. He is mean, cruel and evil to the core. Lucien is Vlad's brother and even more evil and sadistic. The roles they play aren't too big until the end. I don't like Vladimer or Lucien, but I guess that is the point. 

    Nicolae - his arrival unsettles Rosaline intensely. He is strange and has quite a few secrets. He plays more of a background role until the last 3rd of the book, but he will play a bigger, more important role in the books to come.  

    Fane - Fane is Roseline's best friend and lover from long ago. I liked his character and was touched by how much he truly loves Roseline. I do hope to see him in the future books. 

    Plot, Writing style & Cover 4/5
    Amy has an easy writing style. The only critique I have here is the grammar/editing errors I picked up a few times along the way. The story line was unique and I really enjoyed the twists she brought into the story. The plot has a great pace and the last 20% of the book was really good! There are a few loose ends in the story but nothing that takes away from the plot. The characters are developed, and I think Amy has a lot of potential to work within the next book. Even though I am left with a few questions and a small cliff hanger  I am sure these will be covered in the sequel. 

    Forbidden lay a good foundation for this series. 

    This series has an awesome cover. I saw this girl on 2 other covers though? This does have me raising a few questions, but ultimately I loved the cover: 5/5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Great

    I hardly ever rate anything five stars but I very much felt this book deserved it. Although there are some typos throughout, the story itself and how will written it is despite the minor mistakes, definitely makes up for it. The mistakes don't make it at all difficult to read unless your intelligence rates far below the average score and I truly believe that intelligence (or lack of) is also a factor in those who's ratings for this book is low. Unless you're just not into the genre then you're just not into the story but even then you'd still be able to appreciate it at the least.
    Can't wait to read the next one, Reckoning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Teen book

    It was free.
    It was same old worn out plot
    Boring. 1 star just to be able to publish warning to others just to pass on this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Annonymous

    Loooooove

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Got bored

    Didn't get too far in it. I got bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Enjoyed

    For a free but it was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Highly Recommended for romance lovers

    It was a great book. The plot was great everything was great about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    I loved this book!  The storyline was great!  The characters uni

    I loved this book!  The storyline was great!  The characters unique!  I read this in one day, just couldn't put it down.  Love, action, mystery, suspense, and adventure are just a few things this read has to offer.  A definite must read is my recommendation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Same cover?

    Same cover as witches of santa anna? Have not read yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Forbidden review

    Finished this book in 3 hours. So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great Job!

    Great use of imagery. Loved it! Bought the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3