Customer Reviews for

Forbidden (World of Nightwalkers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the pop

In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the popular Nightwalker series by introducing the possibility of a further six nations onto the existing six, previous knowlege of the Nightwalker books is not needed to enjoy this but I highly recomend reading th...
In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the popular Nightwalker series by introducing the possibility of a further six nations onto the existing six, previous knowlege of the Nightwalker books is not needed to enjoy this but I highly recomend reading them.


The Bodywalkers have their mythology based in ancient Egypt, when their mortal body dies their soul returns to the Ether, which is the place between life and death. Once they have recovered from their "death" they are able to hitch-hike back to Earth and into a new body by possesing a human at the moment of their death. Both parties have to be in agreement though, and over a period of time the two souls will merge allowing them to share a body.


Following an attempted murder, Docia is introduced to a world she never expected existed. Raised by her brother, Jackson, and his friend Leo after the death of her parents, Docia has led a pretty uneventful life so why are people suddenly trying to kill her? The melding of Docia with a Bodywalker occurs after the first attempt to kill her, this invites even more bad guys to try and kill her, luckily for her it also introduces a protector in the form of Ram/Vincent who believes her to be hosting his Queen. Along the way we meet new foes and allies, the plot has many twists and a forbidden romance that raises the heat level.

It's a promising beginning to the series, like all first in series books with such a huge mythology there is a large amount of info thrown at you in this book, it was a little hard to get my head around at times. I was greatful for the distraction that Jackson provided and I'm looking forward to getting to know him better.


Jacquelyn has proved once again why she is a master (or should that be mistress?) of what I like to term "fantasy paranormal". The worlds she creates are so indepth and different that you can't help but believe they may actually exist.

4 Stars

Reviewed for Literal Addiction, ARC provided by Netgalley.

posted by Mich_Mc on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I liked it

However, she kept ending each chapter right in the middle of a good part and the start of the next chapter would involve different characters. I guess she was trying to draw out the suspense with the mini cliffhangers but the actual result was less that and more like lo...
However, she kept ending each chapter right in the middle of a good part and the start of the next chapter would involve different characters. I guess she was trying to draw out the suspense with the mini cliffhangers but the actual result was less that and more like lots of annoying interuptions. I usually love her work. This one I just liked. The series has promise. I just hope she stops the disjointed interuptions in the next books.

posted by sksweet14 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Characterization confusing but a great action read!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    From New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Frank comes this first book in The World of the Nightwalkers—an exciting and sensual new spin-off series in which the Bodywalkers, an ancient race of the night, battles the evil forces who prey on them.

    The unexpected happens in an instant. On her way to work, secretary Docia Waverley hurtles into a crashing crossroads, and she quickly begins to suspect that things will never be the same. Then, when a tall, blond, muscular stranger intervenes on her behalf, telling her it is his duty to protect her at all cost, what is just a feeling turns to proof positive. That is, as long as Docia’s savior doesn’t turn out to be a crazed kidnapper.

    When Ram finds Docia, he has no doubt that she is his queen. But as this golden warrior sweeps in to protect her, he feels something more than body heat every time they touch. He is overwhelmed by a searing connection that goes deep into the twin souls inside him. A desire rises in him that is forbidden—this woman is his queen, the mate of his king, his leader, his best friend. And yet Docia is so vulnerable and attractive that she awakens a hunger in Ram that is undeniable, a carnal craving he cannot yield to . . . not without risking the very survival of the Bodywalkers.

    REVIEW: This was a pretty intense piece as far as the action and sensuality of the book goes. The author’s writing is done very well, and she has a way of drawing you into her scenes like no other.

    I did feel a bit frustrated with this piece, though. The character development seemed to be lacking a bit and I never really felt as if I connected with them. I almost felt lost about half-way through the book, simply because the story jumped quite a bit without a lead in. Almost as if a huge chunk had been taken out.

    I did give it three stars, when I wanted to give it so much more, but the lack of connection really bothered me with this piece. I won’t say it bombed entirely, because it didn’t, but with me, when I read, I want that connection. The action and sensual scenes were great though and it does keep you on the edge of your seat and turning the pages as you go.

    For a thrilling package that boasts pieces of a completely new world, pick this one up today and dive in.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    I liked it

    However, she kept ending each chapter right in the middle of a good part and the start of the next chapter would involve different characters. I guess she was trying to draw out the suspense with the mini cliffhangers but the actual result was less that and more like lots of annoying interuptions. I usually love her work. This one I just liked. The series has promise. I just hope she stops the disjointed interuptions in the next books.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the pop

    In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the popular Nightwalker series by introducing the possibility of a further six nations onto the existing six, previous knowlege of the Nightwalker books is not needed to enjoy this but I highly recomend reading them.


    The Bodywalkers have their mythology based in ancient Egypt, when their mortal body dies their soul returns to the Ether, which is the place between life and death. Once they have recovered from their "death" they are able to hitch-hike back to Earth and into a new body by possesing a human at the moment of their death. Both parties have to be in agreement though, and over a period of time the two souls will merge allowing them to share a body.


    Following an attempted murder, Docia is introduced to a world she never expected existed. Raised by her brother, Jackson, and his friend Leo after the death of her parents, Docia has led a pretty uneventful life so why are people suddenly trying to kill her? The melding of Docia with a Bodywalker occurs after the first attempt to kill her, this invites even more bad guys to try and kill her, luckily for her it also introduces a protector in the form of Ram/Vincent who believes her to be hosting his Queen. Along the way we meet new foes and allies, the plot has many twists and a forbidden romance that raises the heat level.

    It's a promising beginning to the series, like all first in series books with such a huge mythology there is a large amount of info thrown at you in this book, it was a little hard to get my head around at times. I was greatful for the distraction that Jackson provided and I'm looking forward to getting to know him better.


    Jacquelyn has proved once again why she is a master (or should that be mistress?) of what I like to term "fantasy paranormal". The worlds she creates are so indepth and different that you can't help but believe they may actually exist.

    4 Stars

    Reviewed for Literal Addiction, ARC provided by Netgalley.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Mixed feelings

    I was left feeling mixed abut this book. Parts of the book were slow, others interesting. The romance kind of got lost in all of the information about the Nightwalker world. The chracters are strong yet vulnerable and grow on you. Will continue with the series and see where it goes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    I was very disappointed in this book. I love all of her previous

    I was very disappointed in this book. I love all of her previous book, especially the Nightwalkers. I wish the overview had mentioned it was about egyptian reincarnation. I was bored with all the information and thoughts she kept giving. I had a hard time finishing the book and skipped over pages at at time. I wish Ms. Frank would go back to her Nightwalker& Shadowdweller character writing... They were excellent and I read most of them second time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forbidden (The World of Nightwalkers #1) by Jacquelyn Frank My T

    Forbidden (The World of Nightwalkers #1) by Jacquelyn Frank
    My Thoughts:

    I for one, loved all the explanations that were throughout this book. I am a new reader of Jacquelyn Frank and soon discovered that this is a continuation of another series. Needless to say, I will be getting the Nightwalker, Shadowdwellers and the Gatherers. I am not sure if The Gatherers is of the same world but, I still want the series.

    I loved this first book and am looking forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Good start but doesnt live up to other series

    I adore the authors other books. Drink of Me is my fav and Ive read it 4 or 5 times, her other Nightwalker books Ive read at least twice. Normally I love her style, but here it didnt come across very well. An additional 100 pages would have done wonders for the story. I felt like the author was trying to give so much information in this new world within the Nightwalkers that there wasnt much room for the love story. The dual souls deal was hard to open myself up to, as Dosha says "Its a menage a everybody" While the hero/hero and heroine/heroine eventually grew on me I found I loved the side characters more. This series has great promise if the stories can be lengthed enough that the primary romance doesnt become overshadowed. I will continue with it. I want to read Jacksons story and lean about the other Nightwalker races she teased us with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Oh, wow!

    I am totally hooked and cannot wait for the next book. I love how the author created a whole new world to become immersed in, but kept it connected to her earlier, much enjoyed, books. As to the many cliff hanging chapters, well that just meant that I couldn't put this book down and finished it in a day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this new series by this author. I like her work and this series looks very promising. I can't wait to read the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Check it out she is a really good author.

    I have read many of her book an find her to deliver on her books. If you are looking to read something good this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Docia Waverley was at the wrong place at the wrong time. While c

    Docia Waverley was at the wrong place at the wrong time. While crossing an intersection near a bridge she narrowly avoids being hit by a car. What the person in the car didn't miss was leaning out the window to push her off the bridge so Docia would fall onto the rocks below. Dying, her spirit enters a limbo of sorts (aka the Ether) and is greeted by a woman and man. The woman gives Docia a choice to continue living or die. The only hitch is if she chooses to live she will not be 100% herself anymore, the Egyptian woman will be in her body as well. As I think almost everyone would chose, Docia decides to live.

    Healing under her brother's smothering care Docia is getting a major case of cabin fever. In an attempt to get some alone time to relax she sends him on a errand only to be "kidnapped" by a sexy man. She is taken to a house to heal and be protected with several strangers that are more than meets the eye. Everyone is saying she is the Queen they have been waiting for which is kind of creepy in my opinion, but it didn't seem to bother Docia much. Ram, the guy that "kidnapped" her is hunky and hard to resist. I could quickly see sparks fly and hoped their relationship would work out as the book progressed.

    The perspective goes back and forth between Jackson and Docia while reading. Jackson is trying to find Docia and rescue her, while Docia is coping with a hunky man and people chasing her. All in all Forbidden is a quick read that brings something new to the table. I recommend this book if you are looking for something a little bit different in the paranormal world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Much like her series Night Walkers

    This series reminds me of the author's first series I read "Night Walkers". I didn't care for the Shadowdwellers series,but this one I just read shows me the author's talents of thinking out of the box. I found the characters interesting & with depth. There was mystery & surprise & of course romance. Way to go Miss Frank keep it up. Also loved her book "Adam" & am looking forward to the next book "Forever"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    I was a Jacquelyn Frank virgin before this book. I've never read any of her books and barley recognized her name when I saw it on LibraryThing Early Reviewer. To be completely honest the hot piece of man candy on the cover is what grabbed my attention. Unfortunately that's all he grabbed. *sigh* Where do they find these guys? I'm thinking I need 2 or 3 of my very own. After I read this book the only thing I could think is that I've been living under a rock for 6 years. Frank is an amazing writer. I have no idea how she missed my radar, but she's definitely on it now.

    Forbidden is supposed to be a paranormal romance. To me, it reads more like an urban fantasy. If you're expecting a hot romance with a side story of who's trying to kill Docia, expect to be disappointed. I'm not saying there is no romance in the book, because there is, it's just not the main story. Relax about the Docia bit, that was not a spoiler. You find that out on page 9. I refuse to believe that anything before page 10 can be considered a spoiler.

    As I said before, I've never read The Nightwalkers. Other than having no idea who the characters were in the prologue, it did not seem to be a problem. The Bodywalkers are a new species, or according to the prologue a new nation, and with that comes a new set of characters. If you're into Egyptian history you're going to love the Bodywalkers. There few heavy hitters mentioned: Menes, Hatshepsut, Ramses II and Cleopatra.

    How the Bodywalkers came to be is such an original concept. I do not know how Jacquelyn Frank came up with it, but it's brilliant. The Bodywalkers are as old as Ancient Egypt. Instead of bringing the mortal world and their earthly possessions with them; the mummification process actually prevented the Ancient Egyptians from entering the afterlife. Mummification instead tethered the Ancient Egyptians to the mortal world and a between place called the Ether. The Ether is essentially where the Ancient Egyptians' souls stay until they can blend with a human, becoming Bodywalkers.

    When a human is on the brink of death, specifically near a Nexuses point, they are sometimes temporarily pulled into the Ether. The human is then given a chance to share their mortality with a Bodywalker. If the human says no their soul moves on to the afterlife. If they say yes it's a second chance at life for the host human, also known as the original, and the Bodywalker, also called a carbon. There are perks for accepting the Blending. The shared human body is now stronger, heals faster and their life span is significantly longer. When the human body dies the human spirit moves to the afterlife and the Bodywalker is returned to the Ether for 100 years.

    Docia is my favorite character. She's spunky and a little weird, but in a good way. Unfortunately as the blending process continues you get less of Docia. She's basically sharing her body with another person and that person also has to make an appearance. Asikri, Leo and Vincent deserve an honorable mention. They have this whole wise-ass bad boy thing going on, it's really hot.

    I would have given this book more stars but there were a few spots that were slow and the mummification history was a little repetitive. Would I read the next book in the series? Absolutely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Wonderful start to a new group.

    I love how Jacquelyn Frank writes. It is a wonderful journey. I can hardly wait for the next one. And when she brings the different nightwalker worlds together in the future, I hope. I love when you have the continuation of other characters in the series its like saying hi to an old friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Been waiting on a new nightwalker novel for a while. This was a

    Been waiting on a new nightwalker novel for a while. This was a great addition to the nightwalker universe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Thrilling, sexy and funny! I found the Nightwalker series addictive and I am so glad Jacquelyn Frank chose to continue with the World of the Nightwalkers series. I am looking forward to reading each and every one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    Interesting

    Kind of interesting but could not hold my attention. I feel as though I'll not be able to finish this book. Really want to but just moves too slow and jumps from one characters pov to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Docia Waverley is a secretary in a small business. She has broth

    Docia Waverley is a secretary in a small business. She has brother named Jackson whose a K-9 Cop who recently lost his canine partner Chico. Docia and Jackson are also looked after by Leo as well. Docia is thrown from bridge and dying when she's offered a choice to take on a Bodywalker. Docia agrees and the world she knows will never be the same again. Ram aka Vincent Markaz is a Bodywalker and second in command to Menes The Politic King. Ram is searching for the queen only to find Docia's amazing recovery from death. Ram tries to slowly explain about Bodywalkers and The Blending that takes place in the originals body. Ram also has another problem Docia creates an electric sensation in him that he can't explain or his attraction either. The Templars are fanatical group that are lead by Odjit or Selena who wants to be come queen or Pharaoh of all Bodywalkers. Is Docia really the queen reborn or someone else? Will Ram let his body rule him or do his duty to Pharaoh? Can Odjit be stopped? Will Jackson accept Docia's changes? Your answers await you in Forbidden.




    Wow another addition into Nightwalker World. I really like the Egyptian aspect of this part of Nightwalker World. Docia very much reminds me of Isabella from Jacob. Jackson is much like Elijah in his protectiveness towards Docia. I'm looking forward to more stories added to Nightwalker World.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by NetGalley for review Review ori

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    When I heard that Jacquelyn Frank was doing a spin off of her popular Nightwalker series, I was excited. I’ve been a longtime fan of the series and the other spin-off, Shadowdwellers. In this series, the Bodywalkers (along with a few other Nightwalker species) are introduced.

    I think this book falls into the category that many “first in a series” books end up. While I liked the book, so much world building occurred that often times I felt it very hard to keep up. There were also a lot of characters to keep track of and I’ll come back to this point in a moment.  Then there is the whole idea behind the Bodywalkers. The ancient Egyptians, in their bid for afterlife, did mummifying and embalming. But in Ms. Frank’s spin, this practice actually angers their gods and their spirits never rest, causing them to share a body with humans. Their personalities and consciousness’s merge and in return the host lives a longer life and is enhanced… but they’re also relegated to living at night.

    Docia is the heroine of the book. In the first chapter, she’s killed and then resurrected as a Bodywalker. As the story progresses, she learns about the spirit now merging with her own.   Ram, our hero, is her guide into this new world. I ended the book without strong feelings for either of them. I rooted for them to get together and overcome the odds, but in the end, I think the plot and world building tended to overshadow them.

    I think what bothered or perhaps confused me the most is the idea of Bodywalkers. Two spirits joining together in one body. Add in a romance between two Bodywalkers, and there are now four “people” in the relationship. Throughout the book, the characters (Ram and Docia) are sometimes called by their host names and sometimes their spirit names and it was just odd. I suppose in my confusion, I could totally relate with Docia as she’s suddenly plunged into this world and actually has to live in it.

    It sounds like I hated the book, but that’s not true. In the end, I laughed and cried and wanted to know more. Yes, I was confused through most of the book, but it was mostly cleared up in the end and there’s enough of a cliffhanger that I’m looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4 stars - Such an utterly brilliant world these Bodywalkers! F

    4 stars - Such an utterly brilliant world these Bodywalkers!

    First Impression...That cover! That definitely got my attention. I haven't read a lot of paranormal lately and I love PNR so this one had my interest for sure. I was, also, trying to figure out who this "ancient race of the night" could be. That had my wanting to read it.

    The Story...I've never read this author before. Since this was a spin-off, I was worried that I would be lost in a complex world but except for the prologue I was perfectly fine. The prologue is full of clues and a world I don't know. I did go back and read it after the fact and wasn't as lost.

    This story is so unique. A world that I haven't seen in any other paranormal series before. Not vampires or shifters though they are part of this world, the Bodywalkers are something different. I enjoyed learning the lore and having it fall in to place for me. I will say that this series feels more Urban Fantasy than Paranormal Romance. The romance is a central issue in the story but it's not a romance book. This is clearly a first book of a series kinda book. It builds a great world and sets up for more the story to come.

    The Characters...I loved Docia. From her name to her personality, she is totally quirky. I really enjoyed that. Her strength and her love for her brother are put to the test as she is asked to join this world in a very personal way. The blending had me kinda sad. I wasn't really excited to "lose" Docia so much but, thankfully, she is still there. As for Ram, I loved him. He's a fierce warrior and loyal servant of his king. He is so not allowed to feel the way he does about Docia and the fact that all his years of devotion were put to the test to resist it was fun to watch.

    The Writing...is excellent. The style is one that I normally struggle to read. It's from multiple points of view and that changes frequently. It's third person but we do get to hear what they are thinking. It takes a lot of writing talent to pull this style off and I really think the author did it.

    Could I Put It Down...Mostly, I didn't want to put it down. I rarely get to read straight through, such is the life a working adult. There were a few slow spots but mostly, I kept turning the pages.

    In The End...The ending was a bit of a twist. I'm very interested to read the next one and see how that plays out. Having not read the original series, I'm definitely interested in picking it up. I think that people who enjoy Urban Fantasy with a side of yummy will enjoy this the most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3