Customer Reviews for

The Forbidden (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Love

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Not What You Think

    Yes this is about vamp, were's, demons, Hell, but it is more focused on Heaven, life, rites of passage, love and loving and the complications therein.
    These books, this is the 5th in the series of 13 are about moving closer to God. At least I think so.
    Damali growing up coming into womanhood, Carlos somewhat older but still learning to be a man, he is in this book still hung up on macho nonsense, he knows how to boss but not how to be a leader and a younger and female person guiding him does not sit well.
    The big picture of Heaven v Hell is being resolved but what will that mean for humans? Can our heroes save us or lose themselves to their own human condition? This and other questions are explored and maybe answered, you must read with your heart and your head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great story line

    This entire series rocks!! I had to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Who knew romance could be so hot, heavy and bloody?

    I was just blown away by this story. It was my first 'Vampire Huntress' book. The characters are strong and sexy! The romance between Damali and Carlos is to 'die for.' I also like that you learn some ancient history while you read. I love vampire lore....L.A. Banks is a superior writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    The Forbidden Truth....And it continues.

    The Forbidden was quite deep. I think LA Banks did a wonderful job setting us up for the next book in her series The Damned. The Forbidden is what I call a quite book. One of those books you sit down and read and a few days later, you start thinking about everything that happened in the book and how this was connected to that and that with this.....The Forbidden had me on the edge of my seat in wonder holding my breath waiting to see what was gonna happen next. And trying to figure out all the connections and happenings within the book.....I enjoyed this book immensely. It's one of those books you just can't read and place down, you have to think about what you read and understand where the storyline is heading now after.....Chantay :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    A Must Read

    I tried to stretch out the book as much as possible even walked away from it for 3 days but unfortunately got to the end of the book. I was just hoping to stretch it out until the next book comes out. (LOL) I loved the book that much that I didn't want to see it end. Oh and the travels that the two lead characters go on in the first half of the book make you feel like you are on an all expense paid sight seeing tour w/out the passport. You must read this book and the rest of the series(if you haven't already done so).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    This One Will Skool Ya - Look OUT!!!!

    Spectacular, stellar writing...L.A. Banks has done it again only this time she's explained the reasons why everything happened the way it did in the previous 4 books...I read this book in less than a week. Chocked full of intrigue Ms. Banks keeps her readers enthralled. If you are an avid fan of the VHLS series you will absolutely luv this installment...If you are new to the series start from the beginning in order to best enjoy the ride. The Forbidden as w/the others in the series is worth it's weight in silver. After read this book you will want to go on a pilgrimage of your own & raise your Isis, Baby!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic thriller

    When the Chairman of the sixth level of Hell realized that vampire Carlos Rivera was working against him, he has him taken into the sun to be incarcerated. Damali, a Neteru (a being who fights evil) cries for her lover and performs a ritual leading to three angels returning him to the mortal world, something that has not occurred since Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead. --- The Chairman wants to bring Damali into his domain so that when she becomes fertile again he will impregnate her with the Antichrist. Lilith, Adam¿s first wife and currently married to the devil, possesses the embryo of Damali and Carlos that they are now seeking. She needs to find them so she can become fertile and birth the Antichrist so that she can defeat her spouse and become ruler of Hell.--- One part romance, one part horror, and one part fantasy, in which the sum turns into a fantastic thriller in which readers from all genres not just these three will appreciate this stunningly stupendous work. L.A. Banks¿ tale will remind readers of novels by Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff because of the extremely entertaining plot but it also includes a strong social message that redemption is possible for even the biggest sinners. Carlos, a drug dealing criminal, has been brought to the Light by his love for Damali. THE FORBIDDEN is one to take to the bank.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    The Perfect Combination

    This installment of Vampire Huntress Series was the perfect complement to the other books. In this installment we learn more about what it means to be a Neteru and the dynamic of having two Neterus with very different styles and philosophies. I am very excited about this series and welcome the next installment. I highly recommend this book, but suggest you start with the first book to truly appreciate this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Wonderful

    With each successive novel, this series gets better and better. I have all five books of this series and I have to say Ms Banks has outdone herself. She's managed to incorporate ancient history (literally ancient) in such a way that once you've read the last word in The Forbidden you'll want to run to the computer or library to research everything she's thrown at you. If you read this book, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2