Customer Reviews for

Forbidden

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend for younger YA readers

The main character, Claire Brennan is a junior at an elite prep school, on scholarship and has to keep her grades up in order to keep her scholarship. She's in all honors classes and oh yeah, she's sixteen and just hit puberty, in that girl way. So life is going swimmin...
The main character, Claire Brennan is a junior at an elite prep school, on scholarship and has to keep her grades up in order to keep her scholarship. She's in all honors classes and oh yeah, she's sixteen and just hit puberty, in that girl way. So life is going swimmingly, especially when she meets the cute new boy with the Scottish accent standing in line in front of her and her friends waiting to get his school i.d. She can't tell if he's shy or stand offish or if that's the Scottish way when he doesn't really talk to them. So, she puts him out of her head, especially when her major crush of two years comes up and talks to her two friends, totally ignoring her. As a character, I like Claire. She doesn't push her mother for answers that are long overdue. She is assertive at times and shy at others, but eventually gets comfortable enough with herself that she asserts herself. She knows what she wants and doesn't waffle back and forth. She accepts her fate with grace and her losses a little better than I would have, but it was reasonable considering the amount of time the novel takes place over. But, she's just a bit vanilla. No kickin' gifts. At least not yet. Now, Alec MacKenzie he has some super gifts. As an angelic descendant, he's got powers that helped him fulfill his past duties. Now he's AWOL and hoping to blend in with the students at Emerson Prep. But, when he sees Claire, he loses his ability to form words. Yep, insta like. But he keeps it to himself. He's got a lot of things to hide and his weird little habits make him a much more interesting character than Claire. He obviously has super strength when he breaks Claire's locker the day they meet, but funnier than that, is his inner dialogue which I love that we get to hear! I wish all authors would let us hear both sides of the story, girl's and guy's points of view. It makes the story that much more enjoyable to me. We get both points of view at various times and it really adds to the story. Alec is more complex than Claire because he knows who and what she is, how much danger she is in, how much he can't be with her and what his duty is concerning her. But he wrestles with all that in the few weeks they know each other. And, he's hiding out himself and afraid of being caught himself. I did have a problem with the Scottish part of Alec. A big deal was made of his accent, but the only time he said anything remotely Scottish was "aye". The best friends, Brian and Erica were awesome! Great supporting roles and really in the know. Claire told them everything. Erica especially. But she really didn't keep anything from Brian so she had someone to bounce ideas off of and to help her stay sane during the turmoil she goes through. They were the best friends anyone could have asked for. They even humored her with her theory that Alec was a vampire. Can't ask for a better friend than that! The story is really very simple, but it's a pleasure to read.

posted by Buried-in-Books on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Forbidden

This book over all is just plain wierd.Very predictable, and i feel like i have already read it before because it follows the same train of events as Twilight does. If you want to read a book a lot like Twilight then go for it. The author had a good idea but it just cam...
This book over all is just plain wierd.Very predictable, and i feel like i have already read it before because it follows the same train of events as Twilight does. If you want to read a book a lot like Twilight then go for it. The author had a good idea but it just came out cliche.

posted by LoriKay on December 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend for younger YA readers

    The main character, Claire Brennan is a junior at an elite prep school, on scholarship and has to keep her grades up in order to keep her scholarship. She's in all honors classes and oh yeah, she's sixteen and just hit puberty, in that girl way. So life is going swimmingly, especially when she meets the cute new boy with the Scottish accent standing in line in front of her and her friends waiting to get his school i.d. She can't tell if he's shy or stand offish or if that's the Scottish way when he doesn't really talk to them. So, she puts him out of her head, especially when her major crush of two years comes up and talks to her two friends, totally ignoring her. As a character, I like Claire. She doesn't push her mother for answers that are long overdue. She is assertive at times and shy at others, but eventually gets comfortable enough with herself that she asserts herself. She knows what she wants and doesn't waffle back and forth. She accepts her fate with grace and her losses a little better than I would have, but it was reasonable considering the amount of time the novel takes place over. But, she's just a bit vanilla. No kickin' gifts. At least not yet. Now, Alec MacKenzie he has some super gifts. As an angelic descendant, he's got powers that helped him fulfill his past duties. Now he's AWOL and hoping to blend in with the students at Emerson Prep. But, when he sees Claire, he loses his ability to form words. Yep, insta like. But he keeps it to himself. He's got a lot of things to hide and his weird little habits make him a much more interesting character than Claire. He obviously has super strength when he breaks Claire's locker the day they meet, but funnier than that, is his inner dialogue which I love that we get to hear! I wish all authors would let us hear both sides of the story, girl's and guy's points of view. It makes the story that much more enjoyable to me. We get both points of view at various times and it really adds to the story. Alec is more complex than Claire because he knows who and what she is, how much danger she is in, how much he can't be with her and what his duty is concerning her. But he wrestles with all that in the few weeks they know each other. And, he's hiding out himself and afraid of being caught himself. I did have a problem with the Scottish part of Alec. A big deal was made of his accent, but the only time he said anything remotely Scottish was "aye". The best friends, Brian and Erica were awesome! Great supporting roles and really in the know. Claire told them everything. Erica especially. But she really didn't keep anything from Brian so she had someone to bounce ideas off of and to help her stay sane during the turmoil she goes through. They were the best friends anyone could have asked for. They even humored her with her theory that Alec was a vampire. Can't ask for a better friend than that! The story is really very simple, but it's a pleasure to read.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    More to Come

    Similar to the Twilight saga, but only with angels. You can tell there will be more and lets hope it's as good as the first. The romance in the novel is good. Nothing past PG-13 for violence and kissing if you consider that bad. The villan is well thought of and not really a villan til the end. Minor twists and turns most are predictable. I recommend for pre-teens and certain teens. More to come and lets keep our fingers crossed!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Hope a second book will come out!!!!!!

    Hope a second book will come out!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Loved it

    Good reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The James Duo Brings Magic to the YA Field!

    If I thought Syrie James was going to have a hard time transitioning over to young adult literature, I was seriously mistaken. I'm not sure if she was just meant to write any kind of literature in general, but I hope she sticks with young adult literature for a while at least because I just ate this book up. And having her son, Ryan, as the other half of this amazing writing team just added to the wonderful story. I haven't seen too many writing pairs out there, and the ones that make it work for them I tend to think are out of the ordinary or just lucky sometimes? I'm not sure, but I have a hard time believing that writing any kind of novel is no easy task or we'd all be published writers, but throwing another individual into the mix with their ideas, and ways of seeing things, and the equation just got a whole lot more complicated...am I right?

    Well this mother and son pair proved that whether it was difficult or not, they overcame any and all obstacles. What a great story and series they've started with Alec and Claire and the rest of the gang. I've read a few titles that revolve around Angels and their offspring, the nephilim, but none quite like this spin. I enjoyed just about every part of this title. The pace flowed nicely and didn't slow or fly through important details, but carried on at just the right speed. I'm not sure if the writing was an equal divide, but having already been a fan of Syrie's writing, I knew her words and tale would suck me in, and it seems this trait runs in the family for sure.

    All of you readers out there looking for a good and easily a quick read (since you won't be able to put it down for long in between pages) I highly recommend checking this one out for yourselves. Be warned that with each new series, there's always the risk that once you become hooked, you're sure to be at the James' mercy...waiting for that second installment to come out, and counting down the days to find out what will happen next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I love this book

    I love this bookvbut they have to write another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Amazing book

    A book right up my ally I love all paranormal type things so this just fit right it it was interesting and grabs your attention from the begining there no boring parts to this book not only is ther paranormal aspect to it there also romace between the two main characters and fight/action stuff to so I love this book please hurry with the 2nd one I cant wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    This is a young adult book, but I found it enjoyable also.

    This young adult book was enjoyable. Fantasy, love story. About 300 pages, had a few typos. From the way it ended I expect a sequal.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    ** spoiler alert ** I liked this book however it was very.... hm

    ** spoiler alert ** I liked this book however it was very.... hmm what's the word... Twilighty.
    Girl meets boy
    Boy is "immortal"
    They fall in love which is "Forbidden"
    Boy leaves girl for her "saftey"
    Girl starts to fall for someone else
    Boy comes back to save girl
    Girl saves boy by figuring out how to push her power onto boy

    Like come on... Who doesn't see the similarities?
    And I thought this book was a series... I had no idea it was just gonna end like that.
    So by now you're probably wondering why I gave it 4 stars.. well lets just say it's a good thing I love Twilight

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Wow

    Really good interesting if u liked this check out unearthly by cynthia hand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    TwilightHylian

    This book was very good, I liked it. The only reason I gave it four stars, is because sometimes it got boring. But I finished it and liked it a lot.
    Read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    www.thebookwormextraordinare.blogspot.com

    Unbelievable! I have read other ya's about Grigori but this by far was the best. See blog for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good book

    I loved this book. I really hope there will be another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awsome

    Sounds cool.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2