Customer Reviews for

Forbidden

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twisted but so good!

    When I saw this book I laughed after reading the cover..I thought "they really have run out of this to write about". There is NOTHING like this in YA so it wins the award for origionality. I was worried it would be along the lines of "Flowers in the Attic" by Andrews and just be a knockoff but Suzuma makes it something unique and interesting. IT IS GRAPHIC and I would not recommend this to anyone who is younger than 17 AND dont read this if you are in anyway close minded or you will hate it. It takes a very open minded person to take this book for what it is and not judge it instantly. Their love story is heart breaking and instead of feeling disgusted by it you feel sorry for them and hoping everything will work out. Their life is so screwed up because of their mother etc. they find happiness in each other and that becomes the love they have for each other. No 16 & 17 year old should have to help raise 3 younger siblings and for them nothing ever goes right. The ending is heart wrenching but I recommend this book to anyone who can take a little bit of strangeness.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Very SAD but Highly Recommended!!!

    May contain spoilers
    I was desperately hoping that Lochan would eventually be revealed that he's not biologically related to Maya. I certainly thought so, especially because his eyes are beautifully green and Maya and the rest of the children' are deep blue.
    Gosh, how I hated the ending!!!
    Lochan was so sweet, so mature, so loving, so handsome, so kind and responsible; he was too brave, too selfless, it bothered me how it ended up like that for him!!!!! I literally bawled at the end. Too sad, If I knew the ending was like that, I would have never started reading, never cared if this book is that great like people said it is. The ending just didn't do it for me. I was shattered when I learned about Lochan's ending. And I then skimmed through the Epilogue. Too sad to bear. If only there is an alternative ending. I would rate this as my most favorite book.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful

    Lochan Whitely is seventeen, painfully shy, and struggling to take care of his siblings. His mother is a drunk, and spends all of her time working or shacking up with her new boyfriend. She is so desperate to be loved by this man that she has shunned her children. Lochan spends his days getting the kids ready for school, attending his own classes, cooking, cleaning, making sure homework is done, the kids are in bed on time and then getting his own homework done. The only shining light in his life is Maya. His best friend, his soul mate, the love of his life. The problem is, Maya is also his sixteen-year-old sister.

    Maya helps Lochan any way she can. If it weren't for her, things would fall apart quickly. The two of them struggle to keep their family together, making sure everything is done, the kids are safe and child protective services stays far away. Maya soon realizes that she, too, has feelings for Lochan. The bond they share is strong. To them, they feel more like friends than siblings. They've been through so much together and have acted like parents to their siblings for so long that it is almost like they are a couple. But this type of love between siblings is wrong. Sick and twisted. Something that shouldn't be thought about let alone acted upon. Eventually Maya and Lochan can no longer hide their true feelings for one another, and their romance blossoms into a relationship of fierce desire. They know it is wrong, and they know it can never go as far as they both want it to, but how do you fight something that you both want so badly?

    I must admit, when I first read the synopsis of this book I was a little put off. How could a book with this subject matter possibly be worth reading? I had the galley, but wasn't sure I could read it until I read some of the reviews. It seemed most everyone who'd read the book was raving about it. I decided to give it a shot. If it grossed me out too bad, I could always stop reading it. I went in expecting to hate it, but what I found was a beautiful story about love. Ms. Suzuma has taken a premise that is shocking and possibly offensive to some and turns it into a story that is heart-achingly beautiful. As I read the book and watched Maya and Lochan realize their feelings for one another and struggle against them, I couldn't help but wish that somehow things could be different so they could actually be together the way they wanted to be.

    The characters are well-developed, the writing is strong and the story, though repetitive at times, flows well. The author really makes the reader think about what is right and what is wrong as far as love is concerned. The story grabs you and won't let go, and the ending will rip your heart out then feed it to you. Romeo & Juliet have nothing on Maya & Lochan

    NOTE: This book is definitely not suitable for younger teens or those that are easily offended

    (Review copy courtesy of Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A story so real, cruel and heartfelt and all about being absolute it hurts. I have never read a novel that touched me and that left me so shattered and shaken like FORBIDDEN !

    Disgusting...

    Shocking...

    Disturbing...

    Unnatural...

    people might label a book about incest, a book like FORBIDDEN. I would have done the same, if I hadn't read it myself. I expected the worst and got the best and heartfelt book I could imagine when thinking of books that deal with taboo topics like incest. This book IS shocking, but in an intense and good way.

    Being different...

    In FORBIDDEN we meet the Whitley family, consiting of the children Lochan, Maya, Kit, Tiffin and Willa. Lochan is the troubled, but brilliant big brother, Maya, the brave and strong older sister. Abandoned by their mother they care for their siblings Kit, gang member, always angry and aggressive, Tiffin, the hyperactive and Willa, the youngest and most in need of care and affection. Every single character highly contributes to this novel's uniqueness.

    What shouldn't be said: "I love you"

    When I first read the summary of FORBIDDEN I imagined the two protagonists wouldn't know each other. I thought of their first meeting, them falling in love only to discover that they are brother and sister. I was shocked when I realised that they knew about being brother and sister when they fell in love!

    But their love is so not about being rebellious or provocative, it's all about the circumstances their love develops in. They both care for three siblings and a constantly drunk mother (I could strangle that woman! A monther abandoning their family made me sad and so angry.How can a mother be that careless about her beautiful children?) so they are kind of forced into threir role as parents- mother and father, husband and wife- lovers. Maya and Lochan give each other the feelings of affection und support that are constantly missing in their lives.

    Something wrong feels so right...

    I am always a fan of love stories and reading romantic and steamy scenes. But I shouldn't be a fan of brother and sister falling in love, right? They are supposed to stay away from each other and I couldn't help but hope for them to get together, for their love to have a chance, a future. The whole time I knew I shouldn't cheer on their love, I shouldn't want them to touch, kiss or be together, but I DID.

    If you decide to read FORBIDDEN you have to expect many love and sexual interactions. Suzuma gives us a lot of delicate details without degrading their love or turning their feelings into something disgusting or dirty. Their feelings are natural and therefore they deserve to be written about in detail. Again I craved for more, although I shouldn't!

    "You can close your eyes to the things you do not want to see,but you cannot close your heart to the things you do not want to feel.”~Anonymous

    Every tiny detail makes this novel perfect, what really touched me and connected me even further with the story was its initial quote.

    The dual point of view, alternating between Lochan and Maya is the best Suzuma could have applied to tell their love story. Their voices are so unique and touching, fitting perfectly together to tell one of the most tragic love stories of all time.

    This story is supported by a rich, complex and vivid language that adjusts to each situation like a chameleon, always highlighting each scene's highest potential. Suzuma has a talent for catching a mood and describing an atmosphere. Her language and writing is the rope that's tying you to the swaying boat of FORBIDDEN's story during a storm of emotions and impressions.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes You Think Twice About What Love Is

    Forbidden took me about five or six days to get through, which is quite unusual for me, but Tabitha Suzuma's novel about the most forbidden kind of love - incest - between a brother and a sister is all kinds of uncomfortable and heartbreaking and the kind of book that makes the reader rethink everything they have ever believed.

    Lochan and Maya are a mere 13 months apart in age and should still be able to behave as young adults, but they can't because they have three younger siblings that they are responsible for. Their alcoholic mother is never around so Kit, Tiffin, and Willa are their responsibility; their children, in a way. Lochan and Maya never really come off as simply siblings. They are best friends, and then more.

    I'll be honest, Forbidden made me uncomfortable at times. Incest is something that most people - myself included - don't talk about or even think about. I never gave it any thought because it isn't connected to my life. Venturing into Lochan and Maya's growing feelings for one another made me realize just how squirmy it made me feel. It makes them uncomfortable too, which I think is realistic. Neither of them truly wants to feel the way they do, they just do.

    Maya and Lochan's back and forth about how to handle it, what to do, is their own personal brand of torture. Lochan struggles everyday with his feelings and getting to see that, made their relationship that much more emotional. I can't exactly relate to Lochan and Maya's situation, but I was able to empathize.

    Lochan is slightly older and reads as a more mature character, taking consequences into consideration, while Maya is more willing to delve into something. In the end though, both come off as selfish, in a way. Neglecting the consequences and diving headfirst into a relationship that puts their futures and the future of their siblings in jeopardy. I won't say that I didn't find Forbidden a little disturbing, because I did. It's incest, but then Suzuma's writing is very sexy, very visceral. She doesn't hold back, so there are some more graphic scenes. Definitely more than just a little kissing.

    Tabitha Suzuma expertly crafts an intimate relationship that most believe should not exist, that society has deemed unlawful, and made it personal. She made me care so much for the Whitely family - not just Lochan and Maya, but for Kit and Tiffin and Willa and the abandonment that all these children have suffered. After so much pain, I could only think that if this one thing - this love between Lochan and Maya - made them happy, then why can't they have that. Society sees it as wrong and there are repercussions to a sexual relationship, but the fear they go through made me hope for the best for them, while preparing for the worst.

    That being said, I couldn't help but shy away from the more sexual scenes. This book is certainly not for everyone, but a lot can be gleaned from it. Incest is a word that people don't really throw around a lot. It's a taboo that we want to ignore, but then jump at the chance to scrutinize those in the situation. Maybe we shouldn't. Maybe the notion of love should be looked at in a different light, with a different view, because Forbidden is a love story. An uneasy, somewhat unnerving, tragic, and heartbreaking (I almost cried near the end) love story, but a love story nonetheless. It was an eye-opening and emotional experience for me and I hope others give this book a chance to make them see the world just a little bit diff

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best!

    I got a UK copy of this, and it is seriously one of the best books I've ever read. It's probably tied for #1 with Cassie Clare's mortal instruments. This book is amazing. I rarely cry or tear up for a book, and bawled like baby during this book. This book is a ride of emotions but it was so absolutely amazing. Defiantly pre-order or buy it!!! You'll be blown away.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book, Wow I dont even know what to say. It is probably one of the most beautiful, heartfelt, and extremely emotional books I have ever read. Suzuma makes you fall deeply in love with the kids and I found myself hoping that Lochan and Maya could have the perfect life they wanted. While the theme of incest can be a little off putting to some people, the way the author handles it makes you quesion love the way Lochan and Maya both do. Be warned though, the ending is extremely sad, so bring tissues. Even though I wish the ending had been different, this book is amazing and will make you think about the characters long after you have finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    A story to remember

    A new kind of Romeo and Juliet...this story will open your mind while breaking your heart. This novel caught me a bit off guard at first. I never thought I would find myself reading a book regarding incest... or even enjoying it; but this book took me by storm! It is so beautifully written that it makes you hope that everything works out even if the entire circumstance is taboo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Even though the ending was super sad(I almost cried), I thought

    Even though the ending was super sad(I almost cried), I thought it was realistic and honest. The entire book is sad because it reflects reality: children who are ignored by their parents and who are forced to grow up quick. I thought the story was very complex and addressed the taboo issue of incest rather well, which is hard to do since no one ever likes to talk about it.

    I think Tabitha did an amazing job with the characterization because I deeply felt for the characters in this story. I felt like I knew Lochan and Maya so well. I love when the writer gets into the character's thoughts and feelings because it brings me closer to them. I also loved the switch of narration between Lochie and Maya. It brought their different perspectives of what transpired throughout the novel.

    Tabitha also knows how to use descriptions very well and that brought the story to life even more. I really liked how she started the book with the detailed description of the flies on the windowsill. "I gaze at the small, crisp, burned-out black husks scattered across the chipped white paint of the windowsills. It is hard to believe that they were ever alive." Not a lot of YA writers are big on details these days, so it was refreshing to start a book in this way.

    This book also made me think a lot, too. Why we label certain things taboo, wrong, etc. I also thought it was brave of Tabitha to bring up the assumption that only men can be rapists. This is completely untrue, but unfortunately society likes to carry this belief. As a feminist, it angers me that society only sees men as the rapists and abusers when women inflict pain as well. Anyone can be an abuser; gender doesn't matter in this case. Unfortunately, society likes to think otherwise.

    Something I also liked about this novel was how it kept me guessing at how it was going to end. It's kind of disappointing when I can figure out the ending in books, but this one had me guessing. I knew it wasn't going to end pretty, but I kept wondering exactly how it was going to end.

    Even though it was a very sad read, it was also a very good one. I hope Tabitha releases a new book sometime soon because she has incredible talent.

    *I was lucky enough to receive this book through Goodreads First Reads last year in March.*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let's go ahead and get it out of the way now. Some people might

    Let's go ahead and get it out of the way now. Some people might be inclined to say that Forbidden is a story about incest. I say they're wrong. Forbidden is a story about love. It just so happens that the love is between a brother and a sister. Yes, that is incest. I realize this. To say that Forbidden is only a story about incest, though, wouldn't be doing it justice. Now that we've got that out of the way...

    I don't have words to do this book justice. I just don't. There's nothing I can say to make anyone understand how amazing I think this book is. Forbidden blew my mind. I went in with high expectations (after reading such good reviews) and I wasn't disappointed. The writing was superb. The storyline was unbelievable. I fell in love with the characters (well, except for Lochan's and Maya's mother, I hated her).

    The most important part of the entire book for me was the fact that you're always aware of the sibling relationship between Lochan and Maya. What's bigger and more important than that, though, is their love. Even though Lochan and Maya are brother and sister, never once did I feel disgusted or repulsed by their love. It's so incredibly hard to explain and I think that's what makes it such an amazing book. Forbidden expertly blurs the lines between what society has deemed right and wrong between a brother and a sister. And it isn't about sex. It's about love, pure love.

    This book broke my heart. Absolutely and utterly broke my heart. The ending, oh my gosh. I have no words at all for the ending of Forbidden.

    Would I recommend this book? Absolutely, without a single doubt. The only thing I could possibly say, though, is if you decide to read it, please keep an open mind. If you read this book with an open mind, I am sure you will love it just as much as I did.

    Side note: A few people on Goodreads have recommended songs to listen with Forbidden. A review that I read recommended Together by Pet Shop Boys. I would agree that this is the song for Lochan and Maya. (Unfortunately, I seem to have lost the review that makes this suggestion, so I am unable to give credit for it. Sorry!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    at first when i started reading this book i honestly thought it

    at first when i started reading this book i honestly thought it was twisted and sick but then through out the story it was amazing and the end had to be one of the most heartbreaking ending i ever ready. I honestly never cried for book but this one made me cry it was a heartbreaking ending but an amazing book . 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Riveting. I couldn't put it down..

    Wow. Where to begin. I was disgusted yet intrigued when I read the back cover, but was hooked after the first 3 pages. An amazing an unexpected love story. I started to wonder if there was something wrong with me as I began to understand and deeply sympathize with the characters, but read the hundreds of other reviews that were in the same boat. Suzuma does a beautiful job with character development and you start to really identify with their plight. The love, the drama, the tragedy, the pain and anguish, the suffering, colossal and heartbreaking losses, and even moments of hilarity will fill you with emotion. So real and so powerful.. Definitely the best novel I've read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    VERY VERY GOOD BOOK! A MUST READ! I LOVED IT!

    VERY VERY GOOD BOOK! A MUST READ! I LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    AMAZING

    This was hands down a very amazing book. Very well written, written with grace and poise of a very intense topic. The ending was sad, but realistic; do wish it was happier in the end though, but to be fair, that's not how the world works.

    Props to Tabitha for writing this, hope to read more from her!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Bellanique14

    This book was a great read. It contains really diffrent type of romance. The most forbidden kind. I had a hard time deciding if i even wanted to read it. Butdo to some of the other reviews i was perswayded to. I iam very glad i did. The book is beautifully written and had a great plot line. The romance was very deep and real.....sad bit exciting (do not read this book ifyou are easily affended by sexual coduct......dont read if you r under 16. It goes deep into the charactors sexual relationship i often found myself blushing durring sertain parts ) The ending really broke my heart didnt see it coming but i dont regret reading it.every teen should.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing!

    Her book was well crafted and beautifully written.
    The book left tears in my eyes. Beautiful story! I highly recommend this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking

    I have to honestly say that after reading the synopsis of this story I wasn't sure if I REALLY wanted to read it or not. I did however push on through any reservations I had and was glad I did. Though I did hope for an alternative ending this book had me riveted! A love story that you know is doomed but you wish for something different. The characters draw you in and won't let you go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    it was worth reading once...

    It was worth reading once but I couldn't get past the brother sister thing. I will say if you want to cry like a freaking baby then this is a must read! The ending was brutal, yet beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2015

    Some of you who haven't read the book yet might already be passi

    Some of you who haven't read the book yet might already be passing judgements on what you THINK this novel is about.
    But I ask you to deeply consider reading this book before you pass it off as something too taboo to be read.

    A powerful novel that discusses a topic that is taboo and hidden from the plain eye's view.
    So what'll happen to the readers who finish this novel, who are unaccustomed to discussing this particular topic of love, real romantic love between family?

    If you just say the word incest in an open room with strangers, it's guaranteed that a good chunk of them will look at you with disgust or give you strange looks. Because it's such a taboo subject in society, the topic is barely even acknowledged for more than a few minutes of every conversation that comes across it. 
    But in this novel, if you finish it from beginning to end, maybe you'll learn something you would've never even understood before. Something you would've never been able to understand if you had not heard tales like this.

    By the end of it you may want to consider putting it into real life perspective and question the severity of the consequences for those who have found love between someone related to them. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Amazing

    First off, this is an amazing book.
    If you are looking for a happy love story just leave now. This tragic love story left me sobbing after an unexpected ending. This book is also very well written. Do not read this if you are looking for a happy ending. DO NOT, I AM WARNNING YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9