Customer Reviews for

Forbidden (Books of Mortals Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Compelling!

As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful pro...
As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful prose and innate elegance that is completely Tosca. Combined, Dekker & Lee have crafted plainly a powerful story with compelling characters. Absolutely stunning! The characters are so well developed, the pacing breathtaking, and the storyline so utterly satisfying that I am in tears that its sequel, Mortal, is not yet available. I just have one thing to say after reading Forbidden-it's good to be ALIVE!

posted by RonieK on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh...

I didn't care for it. I couldn't decide if they were using stories from The Holy Bible for ideas or mocking it. It left me not wanting more. I really did want to like it.

posted by 10325970 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 278 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    good sci-fi

    held my interest, had a few unexpected twist but was a little predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Left me hanging

    This book left me hanging and wanting more as a good series should. I can't wait to find out what happens with everyone and the adventures to come.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No love, No hate, No joy, No laughter. Just fear.

    This book is about a society that has had most of its emotions stripped away because of a virus. The only emotion left is fear. No love, no hate, no joy, no laughter. Just fear. The story follows Rom who is given a vial of some ancient thing he thinks may be blood. He doesn't know. So he does what any fearful person would do. He drinks some. While he is unconscious from drinking whatever the vial contained, his friend, Arva, is fearful that he will die. So she does something every fearful woman would do. she drinks some too! This book is full of twists, turns, plots, and mystery. It never lead in the direction I thought it would go. The ending was a surprise. This is one of those books that may have to be read again just to discover the hidden clues about things that I missed on the first time through. Although this book is written in a futuristic place, it really had the feel of an older place with castles, horses, and men with swords. Even though it would flip back and forth between the alternative places (like riding a horse through the cobble stone streets while looking at television monitors of your approach) it wasn't too much that my dual-personality mind couldn't handle. ** Note ** I received this book free from NetGalley and Hachette Book Group in exchange for an honest review. I received no chocolate or any other compensation in exchange for my review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great!

    I'm never disappointed when I read Ted Dekkar. Great story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great Read!

    This book is placed in modern times with midieval undertones. I normally don't read books like this, but I love Ted Dekker, so I knew it would be good. Awesome book. Really held my attention to the end. I am about to purchase "Mortal", which is the second in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    First Dekker book i've read and I finished it in 2 days. I loved the plot and characters, a fun, interesting book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Ted Dekker is one of the best current writers out there. I was

    Ted Dekker is one of the best current writers out there. I was happy to get Forbidden on my Nook for $2 a couple of weeks ago when it went on sale....I was notified by Dekker's facebook fan page! If you haven't read The Circle Series, the books Black, Red, White, and Green are must reads. Red changed my life. Also, Immanuel's Veins is very moving! Somehow, Dekker (and those he writes with) is able to tie good fantasy writing with truth and images that you will not be able to forget. If you enjoy reading, I highly recommend this book as well as his others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL!

    Please help spread the Word of God to nook users! Please go to "revival for God" first result if you are interested! Thanks and God bless! †††

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Jeremy

    I Really Recommend Buying Forbidden And Mortal At The Same Time,Because When You Finish Forbidden You Will Be Wishing To Read Mortal In No Time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Wow!

    When I heard about this book, I thought "Cool! My two favorite authors are teaming up to write a trilogy."

    By chapter three I was thinking, "Woah! My two favorite authors teamed up to write a Christian-themed Dystopian novel." (A refreshing and brilliant combo, in my opinion)

    Great job Ted and Tosca. I loved it! Can't wait to start reading Mortal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Very interesting!

    Bought this book cause I liked the look of the cover. So glad I did. Very original story and interesting characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Amazing Book!

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Very intriguing. Can't give anything away. Just have to read it for yourself! Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee together are amazing. I've alteady bought the next book,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I wanted to love it, but...

    I really wanted to like this novel and have a new series to sink my teeth into. I love post-apocalyptic storylines, and of course all things dystopian. However, it just wasn’t there for me. I could never really get emotionally invested in the characters (ironically), and the basic foundation is too lacking in originality. The world’s population has been stripped down of humanity, void of the normal range of human emotion, left only to fear, to act in ways that seem cold and unnatural; characters seem to not even care whether their own offspring live or die. Maybe that was shocking decades ago when Brave New World hit shelves, but it’s lost a little bite since practically every dystopian novel since that time works off a similar premise. In fact, this novel bears an uncanny number of parallels to Lowry’s The Giver, widely taught in middle schools the past twenty years or so, and for me, a more poignant and entertaining read even if it was written for children. Forbidden does consider religion’s role in the imagined future world, including elements of a controlling, formalized religion which are a clear critique of the Roman Catholic ways; but taking jabs at Catholicism is certainly nothing new under the sun. All-in-all it is well written, but has too many bizarre tangents going on for me, and none substantially fresh enough to inspire my continuing the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Above Average

    The beginning was slow and I almost didn't go past page 10 but the book got better as I read. I'm a "Got To Get Me From Page 1" kind of gal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Believable characters and fantastic plot make for an interesting story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Good read

    Great, fun read. Can't wait to read the sequal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great book

    I highly recamend this book to lots of people who like to read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    didn't work

    It didn't work. Its on my computer but it won't work on my nook so I never read it.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Very good.

    I am a fan of post-apocolyptic science fiction, and this is a good one. Characterization is well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Very good read.

    I love all Ted Dekker books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 278 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14