Customer Reviews for

Forbidden (Books of Mortals Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Compelling!

As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful pro...
As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful prose and innate elegance that is completely Tosca. Combined, Dekker & Lee have crafted plainly a powerful story with compelling characters. Absolutely stunning! The characters are so well developed, the pacing breathtaking, and the storyline so utterly satisfying that I am in tears that its sequel, Mortal, is not yet available. I just have one thing to say after reading Forbidden-it's good to be ALIVE!

posted by RonieK on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh...

I didn't care for it. I couldn't decide if they were using stories from The Holy Bible for ideas or mocking it. It left me not wanting more. I really did want to like it.

posted by 10325970 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

    [Book Description]
    Many years have passed since civilization's brush with apocalypse. The world's greatest threats have all been silenced. There is no anger, no hatred, no war. There is only perfect peace... and fear. But a terrible secret has been closely guarded for centuries: Every single soul walking the earth, though in appearance totally normal, is actually dead, long ago genetically stripped of true humanity.

    Fleeing pursuit, with only moments to live, a young man named Rom stumbles into possession of a vial of blood and a piece of cryptic writing. When consumed, the blood will bring him back to life. When decoded, the message will lead him on a perilous journey that will require him to abandon everything he has ever known and awaken humanity to the transforming power of true life and love.

    But the blood will also resurrect hatred, ambition, and greed.

    Set in a terrifying, medieval future, where grim pageantry masks death, this tale of dark desires and staggering stakes peels back the layers of the heart for all who dare to take the ride.
    [Book Description End]

    With one month from the release of the series' second installment, I finally finished Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee's highly-acclaimed Forbidden, which I first started reading in October 2011.

    The first in the Books of Mortals trilogy takes place in an alternate future in which fear is the only emotion genetically allowed. Although the setting and story are certainly good, the book failed to meet its hype. The book was slow, and even got to be quite boring in many places. It's a struggle to get through, making an unpleasant experience.

    The antagonist is a man named Saric. He was given a serum by alchemists that brings back some of his emotions, but only the horrible ones. Basically, he was turned into a beast in a world that knew only fear. He sickened me to the point that I truthfully say I have never hated anyone, real or fiction, more than I hated Saric. That is not how to write a good bad guy! A well-written bad guy is one who you can see reason behind; one you can sympathize with. Ted Dekker has a trend of writing antagonists who are mentally unstable and/or retarded, and no offense to him, but that is the most annoying kind of bad guy in any story. By the end of Forbidden I literally wanted to butcher Saric.

    There was a flaw in the story's concept. It's an awesome concept for a setting, but it's not possible to get rid of all emotions except fear. Among the characters who could only experience fear, I saw other emotions as well, such as confusion and desperation. Those could be considered attributes to fear, but that's irrelevant, because they're also emotions separate from fear. If someone in that universe suppresses their fear, they can still be confused, causing a major flaw in the idea of no emotions but fear. Other emotions are necessary in order to have only fear, and that in itself is contradictory.

    Forbidden was good, but there were a lot of things I had a problems with; all those listed above, in addition to all of the blood, gore, and sexuality. There's nothing necessarily wrong with having blood, gore, or sexuality in a novel, as long as they don't go overboard. I, for one, am someone very easily grossed out, and there was a lot of gore that I wasn't comfortable reading. The authors could have been just as realistic in their writing while just being less explicit. I know that, because they've done so in the past. As for the sexuality

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, With Moments of Dejavu

    I won't review the plot of the story, you can do that. I will say, though, that this latest release of Dekker (with Tosca Lee) is much better than his recent books. I enjoyed the general story, the characters, and an interesting premise. My concern with his last few books is that Dekker keeps pulling out his one trick pony. Same basic plot ideas through each one. While this is much better, I'm concerned the pony is showing up in it's pages again. This time it's in the form of the circle trilogy. Dekker stays with familiary circle territory...old world theme, horses, tainted blood... and what was kind of a downer for me, another pendant showing up. It felt like the circle in some ways, just under a different story. I will read Mortals when it comes out in 2012, but you can only dress the pony up in different clothes so many times before you begin to wonder if he has anything more to offer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Good Book

    This book is similar to "the Gift" or "Uglies" where humanity has been genetically changed to be "better". In this case all emotions have been removed except for fear which makes them controllable without being ambitious. The story then revolves around "keepers" of the secret, those who discover and fight for freedom and the evil men who want to unleash evil and darkness.
    This is not my favorite genre because they tend to be depressing and dark. This one is well done for this type of story and includes a lot of action and death. It draws a definite line between the dark and light emotions and how they can rule our lives. The ending is a beginning as well leaving room for future books.
    I would not recommend it for teens because of the darkness and references to physical and sexual abuse provoked by the darker emotions.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Slow start

    This was a good story line but was too slow for me. Too much talking about what they were gonna do and not enough action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Okay

    The book was okay. I had bought the second book at the same time so i will read it but otherwise i probably wouldnt. I love Tosca Lee, but this book is a little lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Interesting premise, but slow

    Finally got interesting in the last 100 pages. Premise is interesting, but a little preachy on the emotions stuff--I got the picture in the beginning, don't waste ink reminding me. I will give the next book a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Okay

    This is a very interesting beginning, but it's also very predictable. I did not feel for the characters at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    recomend for Dekker fans

    Good vs Evil, with characters that you want to root for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Enjoyable, but..

    I enjoyed reading this book but I had the feeling a lot of the premise, and some of the character names were very reminicent of "Star Trek"!
    I believe there was a little bit "borrowed" from "Vulcan history".
    It would have been better if it seemed more original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Ok

    It was all bright. Had its ups and downs.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Clever, but not impressed

    Sometimes when I read books I can tell that the writer is really using the book as a vehicle to get their philosophy or agenda across, which can really take away from the book if the story isn't also really good (like those moments in a theatre where you lose connection with it and realize that you are just watching a movie). What saved this book for me was that I basically agreed with the philosophy of 'feelings are messy, but good things to have' and was willing to see hiw the writer told the story. When that is combined with a formulaic, "I'm going to write just enough story to make sure you have to buy the next book for resolution', it makes for a really irritating ending. I will not buy the second book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Not Great, Not Bad

    This is an okay read. Not real thrilling, plot is rather predictable. Characters are interesting, but not so much that you need to know more about them. Seems like the writer has a problem with women, all of the important women in regards to one of the main characters, have been killed. Wondered what is going on here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forbidden

    Set in the future, the world as we know it is gone. Geneticists have learned how to remove emotion from humans (except for fear) so that we can all live in peace. And it has been this way for 480 years. But a young man named Rom is given a box which holds the secret to bring humanity back from the 'dead' world they live in.

    I enjoy reading Ted Dekker's books and when I saw his name on it, I grabbed at the opportunity to read this one. I should have read more to learn what the book was about and not go by the author's name. This was not my type of novel.

    The writing is crisp and the characters engage you and I am sure there will be a lot of followers waiting for the second installment in this series. It just wasn't my cup of tea. My fault.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2