Customer Reviews for

Forbidden (Books of Mortals Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Compelling!

As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful pro...
As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful prose and innate elegance that is completely Tosca. Combined, Dekker & Lee have crafted plainly a powerful story with compelling characters. Absolutely stunning! The characters are so well developed, the pacing breathtaking, and the storyline so utterly satisfying that I am in tears that its sequel, Mortal, is not yet available. I just have one thing to say after reading Forbidden-it's good to be ALIVE!

posted by RonieK on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh...

I didn't care for it. I couldn't decide if they were using stories from The Holy Bible for ideas or mocking it. It left me not wanting more. I really did want to like it.

posted by 10325970 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Absolutely Compelling!

    As a longtime Dekker fan/reader, can I just say one thing: IT'S ABOUT TIME! Dekker fans of The Circle will squeal in delight as they see Dekker return to his earlier roots of fantasy and the darkly spectacular in Forbidden, but Lee's fans will glory in the beautiful prose and innate elegance that is completely Tosca. Combined, Dekker & Lee have crafted plainly a powerful story with compelling characters. Absolutely stunning! The characters are so well developed, the pacing breathtaking, and the storyline so utterly satisfying that I am in tears that its sequel, Mortal, is not yet available. I just have one thing to say after reading Forbidden-it's good to be ALIVE!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The story had me hooked. Great Read!

    The story had me hooked. Great Read!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

    As a major Dekker fan I loved this book! I got an advanced copy so I read it before a lot of people, and I LOVED IT!!! It was another world that I was hurled in to and was saturated with the love...the fear of that world. It makes me crazy, and impatient for the next book!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Must read!

    Best advance read, instantly hooked!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved it

    I am a big fan of the circle series, so the twist of this story and the others was extremely unexpected and auesome! I cannot wait for the next book! Highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine a world where fear is the only thing controlling the population!

    Fleeing pursuit, with only moments to live, a young man named Rom stumbles into possession of a vial of blood and a cryptic vellum. When consumed, the blood will bring him back to life; revive his emotions; when decoded, the message will lead him on a perilous journey that will require him to abandon everything he has ever known and awaken humanity to the transforming power of true life and love. But the blood will also resurrect hatred, ambition, and greed at terrible risk.

    Set in a terrifying, medieval future, where grim pageantry masks death, this tale of passionate love and dark desires from master storytellers Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee peels back the layers of the heart for all who dare take the journey.

    The Books of Mortals: Three thrillers. Two authors. One last chance for humanity. The Books of Mortals are three novels, each of which stand on their own, yet all seamlessly woven into one epic thriller. The journey begins September 2011 with Forbidden. Mortal will be published in September 2012 and Sovereign will be published in September 2013.

    My Review:

    Set in the very realistic future of our world, geneticists have been working on the DNA structure within the human brain to control which emotions we can feel. In order to create a perfect world capable of working together, humans have been given a retrovirus called Legion that wipes out all emotion from them except fear. When they can only feel fear, they will do whatever it takes to make sure that the world exists in a manufactured version of peace.

    Rom is thrust into the discovery late one night when an old man in alley way tells him that his father was killed protecting the secret that could once more provide humanity with hope and restore order. Leaving Rom with nothing more than a cryptic message in a box, wrapped around a vial of blood with 5 measuring lines on the outside, he is forced to uncover what has been missing in his life that he never knew was ever there.

    The Order wants nothing but to keep things the way it has been for the past 480 years and when they discover the secret of the blood exists, they will stop at nothing to make sure that all evidence of it is removed before they can undo the way people have been living their whole lives. Once more Chaos is on the verge of being thrown back into the world and the presence of good and evil once more will battle to restore humans back to the way their Maker designed.

    I received Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee compliments of Center Street Publishers, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. Being a huge fan of all of Ted Dekker's written works, this was truly a delightful surprise when it arrived in my mail. Once more Mr. Dekker's works have kept me glue to his novel until the final page is turned. The only disappointment is always finishing much too soon, leaving me wanting more.

    These two wonderfully talented writers have managed to tap into something no one else has bothered to think about. What if all our emotions to feel anything at all, were simply removed and the only thing we could comprehend was only fear? No love, no hope, no joy or even sorrow. This futuristic spin in this new compelling series will captivate you and leave you desperately wanting more. This one rates a stellar 5 out of 5 stars.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Must Read!!

    This was the first book that I purchased on my Nook. I figured that I would read it just here and there, but in less than two weeks I'm finished! It wouldn't be so bad, but I have also been working about 70 hours per week. I have not read any books by Ted Dekker or Tosca Lee, but I'm shopping for one now (at least until Mortal comes out).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Left me hanging

    This book left me hanging and wanting more as a good series should. I can't wait to find out what happens with everyone and the adventures to come.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great Read!

    This book is placed in modern times with midieval undertones. I normally don't read books like this, but I love Ted Dekker, so I knew it would be good. Awesome book. Really held my attention to the end. I am about to purchase "Mortal", which is the second in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    First Dekker book i've read and I finished it in 2 days. I loved the plot and characters, a fun, interesting book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Ted Dekker is one of the best current writers out there. I was

    Ted Dekker is one of the best current writers out there. I was happy to get Forbidden on my Nook for $2 a couple of weeks ago when it went on sale....I was notified by Dekker's facebook fan page! If you haven't read The Circle Series, the books Black, Red, White, and Green are must reads. Red changed my life. Also, Immanuel's Veins is very moving! Somehow, Dekker (and those he writes with) is able to tie good fantasy writing with truth and images that you will not be able to forget. If you enjoy reading, I highly recommend this book as well as his others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL!

    Please help spread the Word of God to nook users! Please go to "revival for God" first result if you are interested! Thanks and God bless! †††

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Jeremy

    I Really Recommend Buying Forbidden And Mortal At The Same Time,Because When You Finish Forbidden You Will Be Wishing To Read Mortal In No Time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Wow!

    When I heard about this book, I thought "Cool! My two favorite authors are teaming up to write a trilogy."

    By chapter three I was thinking, "Woah! My two favorite authors teamed up to write a Christian-themed Dystopian novel." (A refreshing and brilliant combo, in my opinion)

    Great job Ted and Tosca. I loved it! Can't wait to start reading Mortal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great Book

    I could not put this book down. This book had me hooked from the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Soul

    A male Riolu was leaping on the tree branches. Branch ny Branch, He was getting closer to Aroura.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Read this series

    Loved this so much i'm on the third book now.Be prepared to be unable to put it down.10 outta 10. A messiah story set in a world 500 years from 2091. Not usually my thing.Glad i gave it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee are excellent writers by themselves, bu

    Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee are excellent writers by themselves, but put two masterful storytellers together, you get a masterpiece. Ted and Tosca's first book in The Books of Mortals series "Forbidden" is a beautiful masterpiece! Forbidden opened my eyes wider to see that we are indeed living in a world full of dead people.We are not the humans we are supposed to be. It is only when we drink the blood of a Savior of this world that we become fully alive and experience love for one another and, most of all, for Jesus Christ our Savior. Forbidden is the first book in the Books of Mortal series. This book is the beginning of an amazing story of true life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Like the whole series

    I like both this and Mortal. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8