Customer Reviews for

Forbidden Falls (Virgin River Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Wonderful Virgin River Book

    I waited very (im)patiently for this latest Virgin River book to come out. It is one of the best series I have ever read in this genre. I loved the character of Ellie, and Noah was just what she needed in her life. In these books I love catching up on all of the other characters from the series. Robyn Carr writes in a way that you feel like you know the characters and you become so drawn into their issues. I loved the sub-plot with Vanni and Paul and you can always identify with feelings and characters in these books. I read them so fast because I'm dying to know what is going to happen and that everything is going to turn out well. So now I will wait for the other two in the next two months. Some series books get less exciting as the series progresses but not Virgin River. Every book has grabbed my attention as much as the first. I love them.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not So Forbidden

    Author Robyn Carr is a NY Times and USA Today best-selling author, as well as a RITA winner. Other titles include: Never Too Late, Runaway Mistress, Blue Skies, and The Wedding Party. She resides in Las Vegas, Nevada with her husband.

    Listed as Book Eight in the Virgin River Series, Forbidden Falls follows Ellie Baldwin- a woman trying to regain custody of her two children wrongfully taken from her, and Noah Kincaid- a widow minister who just purchased a run-down church. Noah is in desperate need of an assistant to help with refurbishing the old church, so when Ellie walks in to apply for the job, he's a little taken aback. Ellie's more colorful than he's used to, but after hearing her story, he not only hires her, he's determined to help her. They may come from two different worlds, but they have more in common than either expect, and when romance looms in the air, eternal happiness can't be far behind. If only they'd give in.

    This was unusual, pairing an ex-stripper with a minister. The book was very laid back religiously, though had many quotes to draw it in. I suppose that was my biggest issue, was it seemed contradictory, though didn't deter me from reading.

    Robyn Carr writes with a narrative style, which usually makes it difficult to get into the story and relate to the characters, but she pulls it off very well. She's also heavy on the dialog, which is interesting because it propels the plot and garners great emotion. Right from page one you're drawn in and want to know more. The setting in this series is outstanding and the secondary characters make these books shine. Though part of a series, these books stand alone. A little sad, a little sweet, and a lot funny, Forbidden Falls is a keeper.

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great One By Robyn Carr

    I loved my return trip to Virgin River. This book brings two more wonderful characters to this town, and we also get to catch up with the characters from the other books. I feel like I have gone back home. This book also gives such a good message of hope. The heroine Ellie's character never gives up, she has faith that gets her through. No matter how life knocks her down she just keeps going on. If everyone had that attitude when things were not going their way the world would be a better place.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an interesting addition to the Virgin River saga

    Hope McCrea put the abandoned church building for sale on E-Bay. Widower reverend Noah Kincaid buys the edifice after talking with Hope as he has decided to relocate to Virgin River in Northern California to bring faith to the flock.

    Noah arrives and immediately advertises for a Pastor's Assistant although he expects no applicants, but several do; none qualify. He hires former exotic dancer with no church experience Ellie Baldwin because he feels she has earned a second chance to prove herself as "respectable" so she can regain custody of her children. Starting with admiring her spirit and her somewhat wicked sense of humor, Noah falls in love as does Ellie. However, both understand the children and the flock come before their desires.

    This is an interesting addition to the Virgin River saga as two characters from different walks of life fall in love; an emotion neither wants, desires because neither has a good track record. Ellie is not afraid to open her mouth as she is brassy and amusing while the Reverend is wallowing in self pity so much so the empathetic audience as well as many locals wants to help him. Fans will appreciate the latest return to Virgin River as Robyn Carr provides a wonderful contemporary second chance at life and love.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Wonderful Love Story

    This series is truely an amazing work of literature. The author portrays all types of personalities and situations in which connects the reader to the characters and their stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommended- must read

    Just started this one, but again Robyn Carr is excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Another Virgin River Series Winner

    After having read all of the books in series, this book is one of my favorites. The recurring characters and their support to the newcomers make this an enjoyable read. Robyn Carr strikes the right balance of keeping the series interesting, but at the same time, a relaxing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: Forbidden Falls Author: Robyn Carr Publisher: Mira Book



    Title: Forbidden Falls
    Author: Robyn Carr
    Publisher: Mira Books
    Series: Virgin River #9
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Review:

    "Forbidden Falls" by Robyn Carr was another good read of this author's 'Virgin River Series.' This series was of Noah and Ellie. This was a wonderful romantic story of a pastor from a new town who finds love on 'from the other side of the tracks.' There will also be a secondary story involving a past hero/heroine who will have a 'heart tugging change of events that will be brought into their lives.' Now, to truly understand this second story you may need to go back a series to see what is up with Paul and Vanessa. This author really knows her stuff in being able to put all of these series together that they seem to flow so smoothly off of the pages as you read them. The reader will also be able to find out about the secrets of the puppies and with that being said you must pick up "Forbidden Falls" to read it for yourself to see how this author will bring it all out to you. It is a good read.


    There will be so much going on in "Forbidden Fall" that once you start reading you will find it hard to put down and when you do you will be wanting the next series # 10 "Angel's Peak."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Love this whole series

    Best series of books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Read the series in order as written to keep the characters straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Excellent

    This is one of my favorites. Ellie just keeps you in stitches, and Noah just keeps loving her back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    5 STARS

    THE SERIES IS INCREDIBLE READ ALL 20

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    I HAVE THE WHOLE SERIES THEY WERE ALL GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Light easy read

    i enjoyed reading this book very much...i also enjoyed reading the series and keeping up with the characters..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Loved It!

    How refreshing to be able to spend the time with the people of Virgin River. However, I found it difficult to keep the sequence in order between #7 and 10. Excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    loved it.

    Read all 18 in the Virgin River series. Loved them all. I like how you get updates on characters from others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    good

    The entire Virgin Series is deightful and a bit steamy but characters and area depicted is enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Love Robyn Carr's books. Easy read and can't wait to get to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Good Read-don't miss out!

    This is another one of Robyn's good ones. She has a real knack for keeping her characters straight from book to book. I am working my way through the Virgin River series and loving it. I wish I had a book club to discuss this in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Highly recommend!!!!

    I have read all the Virgin River series and love them all. I haven't decided which one is my favorite they are all so touching. She really knows how to develop her characters and keep the readers attention. I think it is best to read them in order as the characters develop and are added to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10