Customer Reviews for

Forbidden Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it! Wow!!  This boo

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!

    Wow!!  This book is even better than book 1.  So much happening in this book, too exciting to put down!  You learn answers to questions you had in book1, and you got answers to questions you didn’t even know you had.  There is more violence in this book and some graphic (just wanted to make you aware).  You know me, and I will not give away what happens in this book because I refuse to ruin your own journey into this awesome book.  It does contain battles, lots of drama, family reunions, new friends, and lost friends. Kimberly does a fantastic job pulling you into the story and making you connect with all the characters you love.  

    I absolutely recommend this story to fantasy, sci-fi and paranormal book lovers alike.

    **Book gifted to me as part of a blog tour for honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    This novel was an emotional roller-coaster that keeps you on edg

    This novel was an emotional roller-coaster that keeps you on edge the entire time. Once Kinrade begins her story she doesn’t let you go until it is over.




    At the beginning of this novel Kinrade gives just enough background info to jog your memory as to what happened in the first novel in the series, without boring you with long recaps. She picks up the story right from the get-go and keeps you captivated. If her solid storyline doesn’t draw you in, Kinrade’s inviting yet exciting writing style is sure to do it. 




    I love the world and the characters that Kinrade creates. It is seamlessly and flawlessly put together. Kinrade leaves nothing to chance in her novels. Each and every aspect is plotted to create a unified whole, leading the readers to the ending, or in this case, the ending of one crisis that leads us towards the next. 




    Not only does Kinrade continue to develop the main characters from the first novel, making them more and more lifelike but she also has some of the supporting characters step up and take a bigger role in the story. We also get to know some entirely new characters in this novel who, although possibly misunderstood, are following what they believe to be right. 




    Kinrade also continues to switch perspectives from character to character. It really helps to draw you into the novel. It also helps you understand the characters and their actions. She does it so flawlessly that it really adds to the story rather than causing confusion or detracting from it. I love how Sam is written in the 1st person and Drake in the 3rd; it fits their characters’ personalities perfectly. 




    As a whole, this was a brilliant novel that picks you up and whips you around. Kinrade fills in many holes left from the first novel while leading you into the 3rd. 




    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    nice book people should read it...

    nice book people should read it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Returning with Sam and Drake from the first book and adding in h

    Returning with Sam and Drake from the first book and adding in her friends left behind the walls at the center: the twists and turns that this installment take have increased the ante for all the characters. As the story progresses, the kids are growing into their powers and developing abilities that are far more than anyone expected.

    Continuing nicely where the first book ended, as the kids age, their actions and dilemmas are also more adult in nature. The involvement of the differences about the moral use of power that flares up with Drake and Sam increases the already tense feel to the book, as they are still running and hiding from those who want to control them: and they are concerned for friends left behind.

    Add to the “good and bad” there are several elements of gray from the less noble of the characters, when no one act is ever strictly good or wholly bad once you see the motivations. It is a book that I found fractionally better than the first, the emotional investment in the characters was already established in book one, and strengthened with this twisty story.

    I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review for Innovative Online Book tours. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forbidden Fire Book Two Warning: I will do my best to not spoil

    Forbidden Fire Book Two

    Warning: I will do my best to not spoil the first book, but it may contain spoilers despite my efforts.

    Sam and Drake are on the run this time with one thing on their mind protecting what is most important to them. We also see Lucy and Luke as they are left behind at the “Rent-a-Kid” center determined to get to the truth of the center and hopefully find a way as well.
    Not as great as the first book but it still has its own twists and turns along the way that makes it a fun read. This time along with Drake and Sam we are able to really get to know Luke and Lucy, Sam’s best friends, and this allows us to continually know what is taking place with all the other kids who are being held at the rent-a-kid center. In doing this the author brings to life many other characters who take part in several of the action scenes along the way. This is definitely and interesting series, the para-powers continue to fascinate me from Luke who can walk through walls to Mary the seductress each one has an attention-grabbing story to tell. I cannot wait to continue on and see where Kimberly Kinrade takes us next.
    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    An Amazing Continuation... It is well appreciated when a sequel

    An Amazing Continuation...
    It is well appreciated when a sequel is even better than the first book. That is a must that is demanded by us readers and Forbidden Fire gave me exactly that- it was amazing! The story of Sam and Drake continues with new characters and more twists that makes this story a suck- you- in- wanna- know- what- happens- next- now- kind of amazing!

    Inside Forbidden Fire, you get to spend the continuation of this story connecting more with the characters, rooting for the good guys, being in suspense right along with them, and trying to figure it all out- of which you cannot. There are no predictions with this one. The storyline is great- correction- amazing,and you just cannot figure out what will happen next! Frustrating I know, but that's a postive complaint. This book draws you in just as much as the first book and keeps you hanging on by a thread (or letter) until you turn to that last page and read that last word.

    Another Bazillion star review for author Kimberly Kinrade! Now a little what I liked about the storyline and the wow factors that I liked (without spoilers of course).

    Sam- who is still pregnant with her super para-power kid with Drake, is now rid of the Rent-a-Kind facility and trying to help free the other kids still there. At the same time she is still trying to elude the bad guys who are trying to get them both back. She is also torn over what she can do with her para-powers (mind control) along with another side effect thanks to the Rent-a -kid jerks (trying not to spoil there).

    With the help of old friends of Drake's and reconnecting with the wonderful twins- Lucy and Luke, they work towards figuring this all out and getting their fellow para-buddies freed too from theRent- a-kid. I have to say Lucy draws forward in this story and is one tough chica!

    Beware of a Mr. Black and the Seeker. Again...there are twists and you're gonna love this book! I cannot wait to dive into the last book of this amazing trilogy- Forbidden Life.

    Author A.D. Duling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A review copy was provided by the author for an honest review.

    A review copy was provided by the author for an honest review. Forbidden Fire immerses you again in the the world of para-powered people with the thrilling continuation of Sam and Drake's story. Now in hiding and on the run from Rent-A-Kid agents these two have a lot more at stake which makes reading this book essential! This sequel will give you chills because of how ridiculously good it is. You get glimpses into Sam's past which really adds an extra layer of understanding to her character. You also get the additional POV from Lucy which is different and fun because she's got a lot going on in lock-down at the Rent-A-Kid facility and you get to know her character better and come to appreciate her role more. Lucy's viewpoint becomes more intriguing as her own lie-detector abilities manifest in new and unique ways not yet seen before in Forbidden Mind.

    But perhaps the best development of the entire story is how everyone's para-powers advance and turn into something different and unexpected. Forbidden Fire has real character depth and many plot layers unfolding throughout the story. There are plenty of moments that will take you by surprise; unpredictability is a fantastic asset Forbidden Fire utilizes to the fullest which is amazingly refreshing. I really like the new villain that's unveiled; a very formidable and evil enemy. I found myself questioning good and evil and that's basically what this book explores; it incorporates the morality of what defines right and wrong. & You finally get some insight into why Drake was never taken to Rent-A-Kid when he was younger and who Sam's real family is which is such an insane revelation! Forbidden Fire kicks up the gore and amplifies the cruelty making some scenes hard to read but nevertheless gripping in a twisted sort of way.

    If the story were a puzzle all the pieces would be different and yet they would still be connected to the same picture. Forbidden Fire is fiery, both figuratively and literally. It's well written and has you feeling a giant array of emotions. Incredibly good would be an understatement. The first book Forbidden Mind was a great read but this book takes everything to a whole other level - one which raises the bar even higher. It's a must read for anyone who enjoys reading about young adults with uniquely powerful abilities, evil corporations, unpredictable twists, consistent action, romance, dark plots, gore galore, and cool characters all wrapped into one engrossing story.

    I cannot wait to read the conclusion of this amazing trilogy, I'm just SO impressed with everything that's happened thus far. It's so deliciously dark and captivating! I have nothing but great things to say about this series :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    X-men meets Alphs (tv show) plus some Dark Angel, Best series I have read in awhile. Check it out.

    Wow, this story just keeps getting better and better. It flows so well from one book till the next. I was happy that I have them all here ready to read. And same with the last and final book, Forbidden Life, I am ready to pick it up too.
    Since this is the 2nd book, and know some may not have read the first yet, I am being careful in this review, it will be spoiler free for both books, the best I can.
    I loved Forbidden Mind, and love Forbidden Fire too.
    This series reminds me of a few TV shows I had watched in the past, and now. In the past, I watched a show called Dark Angel, this reminds me of it; in the way that the kids are locked up, and trained for the companies own uses, and tracking devices installed too. But in this series, the kids are more like the x-men characters, and a whole lot like a show I watch on Sci-Fi channel called Alphas, in that one, its not kids, but adult with all sorts of Para-powers too, but they call them Alphas. Anyway, the point is, even though these are all similar in ways, this story in itself is unique.
    I am hooked like you would not believe in this series, and will be sad to see it end. I really am impressed with Kimberly’s writing style, and am very comfortable in reading it.
    I love how we get to be in different points of view. In this one, we get inside many, Sam, Drake, Lucy and more.
    I do not want to say much more about the story, as to not spoil it, but its intense, exciting, and non-stop action. You will be on the edge of your seat reading as fast as you can to see what happens next. It has been really hard to put down, for sleep, lol.
    I highly recommend this series. It’s great for all ages, you get the sci-fi spin with the paranormal in there too, with some romance. Love it.
    5 out of 5 stars for me.
    I was provided a copy of this book for my honest review for the book tour by Innovative Online Book Tours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    I absolutely loved Forbidden Mind, the first book in this excit


    I absolutely loved Forbidden Mind, the first book in this exciting trilogy. The storyline was unique and fast paced. Forbidden Fire picks up where Forbidden Mind left off and doesn't stop.

    This story was action packed and interesting. I found it hard to put the series down once I started it. This book was every bit as good as it's predecessor.

    Pick up this book and be prepared for a wild ride with Sam and Drake, whom are on the run from the corrupt organization that is hunting them down.

    Back at the school, Luke and Lucy struggle with the aftermath of Sam and Drakes escape. The school has become more strict and cruel. They realize that they have to do something in order to save the kids trapped at the school.

    Take the journey with them as they fight for their right to freedom. Learn about their amazing powers and abilities, making them unique in every way.

    I highly recommend this YA paranormal book. I give it five glittery stars because it is just awesome and worthy. Forbidden Life is the third book in the trilogy and I simply can't wait to sink my teeth into the final book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Edge of your seat delight!

    Forbidden Mind sealed my fate as a fan for life of Kinrade. However, still, I was a little worried about Forbidden Fire for a few reasons. One, I knew for a fact that this installment was written from varying point of views. And, while I quite like the idea of multiple POVs, not many authors can pull it off effectively. I was also worried because this was the second part of a three-part series. And from previous experiences, often, the books in the middle just sort of rehash the same ideas over and over, dragging it all out, and so often they fail to serve up much in the way of excitement.

    Oh, but it only took a few pages of Kinrade's writing to put a smile on my face, to cause me to scoot to the edge of my seat, to make me laugh at myself for even letting a worry surface about her impeccable writing. Because Forbidden Fire thrusts the reader into the depths of the story without pause. And I can tell you, Kinrade more than pulls off the varying POVs. The switch between narrators is effortless and smooth, and downright thrilling, leaving us hanging with the end of each section. Pulling at us. Forcing us to just keep turning, keep hanging on.

    Her writing is simple, and I mean this as a compliment. She doesn't get bogged down with too much description, and, yet, she gives us enough to satiate our growing curiosity. Her imagery is vivid, and the love which these characters share is sure to not only cause you to fist pump the air rooting for them, but cause you clutch at your chest as they invade you and warm your heart.

    I can't tell you how impressed I am with this series. How perplexed I am that anyone would ever not read these. Even if you don't read YA or paranormal romance normally, I dare you to pick up this series and put it down. In fact, no, I double dog dare you.

    So where does the last installment, Forbidden Life, take us? I'm not sure, but bring it on Kinrade. I'm ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1