Customer Reviews for

Forbidden Forest

Average Rating 4.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Really Good!

Stats: 450-ish nook pages. Paranormal fantasy romance. Some typos, but not enough to overly distract. Story takes place in modern day earth, but mostly in a fae-type realm. Elves, ogers, vamps, shifters, and werewolves... Two people fall in love trying to overcome so...
Stats: 450-ish nook pages. Paranormal fantasy romance. Some typos, but not enough to overly distract. Story takes place in modern day earth, but mostly in a fae-type realm. Elves, ogers, vamps, shifters, and werewolves... Two people fall in love trying to overcome social stigmas, evil plots, and deeply ingrained bigotry in order to stay together. Hope I don't have to wait too long for the sequel.

posted by 7176450 on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

3.5 stars - After I got into the story, I enjoyed it!  Did I en

3.5 stars - After I got into the story, I enjoyed it! 

Did I enjoy this book: I ended up enjoying this book after I got past the first 75 pages or so. Then, I had to see how it ended. I read every free chance I had until I reached the end. 

I found the beginning kind ...
3.5 stars - After I got into the story, I enjoyed it! 

Did I enjoy this book: I ended up enjoying this book after I got past the first 75 pages or so. Then, I had to see how it ended. I read every free chance I had until I reached the end. 

I found the beginning kind of slow. It is difficult for me to explain why I found the beginning hard to get through. I was glad to learn about the different classes, races, and cultures of the characters. We have shapeshifters, vampires, werewolves, elves, and halflings. The world building was amazing as well. Very descriptive. I could see everything in my mind's eye. But it was just slow to read. I wanted it to move a bit faster. 

Also, the transitions between points of view was sometimes difficult to keep up with. The points of view shifted between Forest, Syrus, the king, Kitch, Phillippe, and a few tohers. I wanted the transitions to be a bit smoother and clearer. I caught on but it was rough sometimes. 

The two main characters were very well written. Forest is a halfling who is looked down upon but who is also an excellent fighter. She is hard and tough yet broken and sad. She has amazing strength...she went along with escorting the vampire prince despite her absolute hatred of vampires. She did what she had to do. Forest is a complex character that was developed wonderfully. Syrus, the vampire prince, was arrogant but humbled. The fact that he was blinded helped him become less arrogant. Syrus, too, was a complex character but endearing. 

These two characters together had wonderful chemistry. The way they interacted with each other had me laughing at times, sighing at times, getting frustrated at times. I just thoroughly enjoying their story. This is the point where I really got into the book and wanted to see how it ended. I was invested in Forest and Syrus.

Speaking of the ending...UGH! What a cliffhanger!!!! I will definitely be reading the next book in this series. I have to know what happens next!

Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book. 

Will I read it again: I will not but I will read book 2, Forest Fire.

posted by Chrissy_W on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Really Good!

    Stats: 450-ish nook pages. Paranormal fantasy romance. Some typos, but not enough to overly distract. Story takes place in modern day earth, but mostly in a fae-type realm. Elves, ogers, vamps, shifters, and werewolves... Two people fall in love trying to overcome social stigmas, evil plots, and deeply ingrained bigotry in order to stay together. Hope I don't have to wait too long for the sequel.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Forbidden Forest is a Paranormal Fantasy Romance. This story is

    Forbidden Forest is a Paranormal Fantasy Romance. This story is about a Halfling named Forest. She is Half Shifter and Elf. In her home world of Regia she is an outcast. The lowest of the low. She works hard to be respected. She works as a border potrol to make sure some species do not cross to Earth. Her Boss gets a mission and decides to pick Forest . Forest now has to protect a vampire prince named Syrus who everyone believes died in an assassination attempt . Forest has a deep hatred for vampires. The fight back and fourth. They make amends. While on their mission their darkest secrets are reviled and they learn more and more about each other. Forest know more than she cares to say. She understands that what is happening to them is not something that will be accepted. 
    This Story was well created that you can get lost within its pages. I could not stop reading it. Read it in one day because I was like O M Gosh what is going to happen next. I can not wait for the next one. I was so into the book that all the unexpected moments caught me off guard. I recommend this book  for all the paranormal fans. I totally loved it from beginning to end.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    more!!!

    I want more

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    This was an awsome book the inter play between Forest and Syrus

    This was an awsome book the inter play between Forest and Syrus was excellent.  I cannot wait for Forest Fire to be released.  I wish this book had been a stand alone, because it is hard to have it unfinished.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Razorclaw

    KILLS ALL DA LITTLE KITTEHS SO THEY STOP POSTING STUPID COMMENTS!!!!!!!

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    BookWorm

    I LOVED IT!!! It tells of a vampire and a halfling who- un conditionaly and irrevocabbly- fall for each other. This is full of sorrow, hope, and determinaton. I think the author really showed the feelings of how real people would react.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Amazing

    What an Amazing book. Really wants me to buy the next but unfortunatly I can't. So I guess I'm just going to have to get the free sample. I really would love for the second book to be free :L I ha te Barnes and Nobles. worst tech. book company ever... Nothing on it is free. Hardly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Yet another enjoyable get away for me

    Forest is a damaged fae( Shape shifter and elf) who is running off of a hate for a whole race of supernaturals ( Vampire) because of one's evil done to her only to find that her soul mate is of the race. War and unrest in the fae world make for a great twist and turns in the reading adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This book is very enjoyable, it has some goofy parts, twist & turns! I'm looking forward to reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Loved

    Great book cant wait for the sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    markierichardson@aol.com

    If you havevany of the next books please nook friend me so i can borrow it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    A must read!

    I just finished reading this book and rushed to find the sequel on my Nook, but it was not available. That is the only thing I did not like about this book!
    I could not put my Nook down. I read a lot of fantasy/romance and can say with complete sincerity this is one of my favorites! Love the characters, love the forest, love the vamps, love the fun and humor, romance,passion,and love.
    I highly recommend this to anyone who lobes to fall in love with the books they read! Please hurry with the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Res 16

    I postrd, by the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Tito Sun

    Here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Good

    Good read. Enjoyed the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Good book

    That all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    You left sparkle kit at the meadow!!!!!!!!

    She needs help!!!!! Wolves are coming!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Tigerfaith

    Tigerfaith only looked back once with a sad look...then she left with Kodor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    I enjoyed the book and read it constantly until it was over.  I

    I enjoyed the book and read it constantly until it was over.  I particularly enjoyed the imagination of the author, the community and culture, the class society.  The strength of Forest as a woman and Overcomers was inspiring.  I would recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Great

    Great book! Can't wait to read more! I really enjoyed this book! Loved the plot and characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11