Customer Reviews for

The Forbidden Game: The Hunter; The Chase; The Kill

Average Rating 4.5
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This was the first time I have read an L.J. Smith novel. I loved it! Full of suspense and romance. The characters felt real and I just loved Julian--he made a wonderful teen bad boy. The story was fast paced and hard to put down. I read it in about a day. I hope to find more books like it. Now I will have to pick up her other books!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Worth the time.

    This book was pretty good. i enjoyed it mostly up until the end. it was a little scary, not like saw 23 er anything but creepy. thats because it was a game that plays on your worst nightmares. i guess there is a lesson there somewhere like u can conquer anything with teamwork which is incredibly cheesy but still good. i thot l.j. smith did a good job. the only thing i wish i could change is the love triangle. Jenny is obviously meant for Julian but isists on being with tom. the part that really aggrivated me was when tom went all "im gonna lose her anyway so ill just ignore jenny and try to protect her" i wanted to slap him. if i were the writer i would have flpped the storyline and had tom go crazy and like try to attack jenny then have julian save her but like he dies or so she thinks but then one day she looks up and he's there with the new ring that says "i am my own master" like in the book. i hate that Julian dies but overall im glad i read that book it was a good read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Forbidden or Unreachable?

    I thought this book was a little dry at times, but over all, I thought it was a very exciting story(: Sometimes I thought it wouldn't be possible for them to carry on the story, but I found it interesting how they kept adding new ideas. The twists and turns they put on reality from fantasy was incredible! This book brought so many new ideas to my head and made it so I had to think outside the box in order to understand what they were talking about.
    The authors language was unique... I couldn't see a teenage girl in this setting talking the way she did. It wasn't crude or offending, just a little old for her age. It made her sound intelligent, but it seemed a little odd to me so I got a little sick of the book.
    Most of the things in the book aren't really life changing skills, like how to capture spirits in a closet, but there were a few here and there that made me wonder.... Like when Julian says that the only real difference between fantasy and reality is the way that you look at them. That was a brain teaser for a minute, but when I actually sat down and thought about it, it made sense and actually kinda freaked me out for a little bit.
    I would recommend this book to anyone. It's got a lot of love scenes in it, but that's the whole reason for this book. A forbidden love that is just barely out of reach... By only a couple realms:P A lot of this book is about using your head and finding loop holes out of difficult situations even when you think there are none. And knowing the difference between reality and fantasy. This book gave me a totally new outlook on life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Intense!!

    This book takes you through your darkest nightmares, twisting and turning, keeping you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. It starts with a simple birthday get-together and a game in a shiny white box. The friends get dragged into something that was started many years ago, but never finished. This book has it all - romance, suspense, humor… I could NOT put it down, and I slept with the light on after I finished it! GREAT READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Slow in the beginning but picks up. Good Read.

    Slow in the beginning but picks up. Good Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I love how it goes on and on! You will never get tired of reading it! This book keeps you wide awake wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    What happens next?

    So i finished the hunter and i just started the chase! Well so far the book is a serious let down from the first one! Honestly i dont see how l.j smith can stretch the series, but she did it for vampire diaries so my question is............ should i keep on reading or should i give up now and return the book to the book store? Please answer me back as soon as possible cause the book is only refundable in the next week or so! Thank you for reading and comment soon:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Omg!

    SPOILER ALERT Why did you kill ofg julian!!! He was the best character!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Humm...

    Im not done reading it yet im in the middle of the chase but it kinda reminded me of that movie jumonji or somthin i know it starts with a "j" but is it just me or is it like that only with this book its got romance:] so far i think its ok and its a little boring at somtimes im kinda rooting for Julian to get Jenny but "someone" already told me what happensto him:[ Just dont stop in the middle you have to keep reading to get to the better stuff ~Sid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Awesomee!!!

    Okay, i loved this book to death!! But im soo upset that Julian died! He was a good guy dee down inside and i never really even liked Tom that much... he seems too possesive i guess. But overal the book was fantastic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    A must read

    I bought these books and read them about 12-13 years ago when I was in high school. I absolutely loved them. The author does a great job creating a new world in which to lose yourself. Being an adult I still read these from time to time and I still love them. If you're a teen that loves fantasy and has a thing for the "bad boy" you will love these. I recommend them highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    an ok book to read...

    this book was a good read but i honestly felt i judt wanted to finish it instead of feeling it is an smazing book. I would reccomend vampire diaries alot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Fantastic blend of Jumanji, Phantom of the Opera, and Disney's the Haunted House

    Buy and read this for Halloween. This is definitely something for any reader with a love for thrill and adventure. Not much to complain at all with this book. Very good plot, good description, and character development. With Halloween coming up, I highly recommend reading this. I thought this was an amazing combination of Jumanji, the Phantom of the Opera, and Disney's the Haunted House. You squirm with fear from the nightmares and suspension, and have knots in your stomache every time Julian confronts Jenny. Love Love Love It! Please read! For being out for 16 years, this book deserves much more publicity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad.

    This book isn't as good as L.J. Smith's other books but its definitely a good read. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    Loved it (:

    This is the 1st book i've read by L.J. Smith, and i love it!!! my least favorite character, i have to say, is Tommy. I love julian, becuase he loves jenny, and will do anything to have her. now thats what i call devotion. TEAM JULIAN ALL THE WAY!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Definitely the best of her work.

    I apologize about the four stars. I first read this series in fifth grade and I've kind of grown up enough since then to realize that there is some literature out there that outdoes L.J., as reluctant as I am to admit to that. ::grin:: But I'm still buying her books at Barnes and Noble when I come across ones I haven't purchased yet, because they're important to me. I have friends who have taken L.J. along to college with them, because she's sort of like a security blanket. Who couldn't use a dose of soulmates and forever-love when you're all alone on campus? My friends who like to think they've left their YA days behind sometimes confide to me that they read Secret Circle again over the weekend. And the Forbidden Game, in my own humble opinion, is the best of Ms. Smith's work. Vampire Diaries sure comes close, in the sheer volume of its subplot, but in the Forbidden Game, the characters are the best developed. Jenny has a trial by fire and comes out stronger, but her confidence is not totally unflappable. Julian is as prey to terrible emotions like love and tenderness as Jenny and her friends are prey to his ruthlessness. As with real people, none of them are cut out of steel, and they all go through transformations as the series presses on. The morals behind the books are strong and admirable. For the buyer, don't hesitate to buy the compilation volume, but definitely LOOK at the covers of the separate books. The cover artist does a magnificent job on them. Read them. And don't be surprised when you lovingly tuck them (or it, if you buy the collector's edition) into your trunk when you leave for college. Once you enter the More Games store, you can never live again without Julian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4