Customer Reviews for

The Forbidden Game: The Hunter; The Chase; The Kill

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Amazing.

    Ok, well, this is my first review, so be easy on me. I haven't read any of L.J. Smith's earlier novels. Not interested in vampires much anymore, so, yeah. But anyways, back to the review. I never expected so much about a game that is forbidden and takes you into the game, but in this trilogy, you not only are in the game, but in a whole other dimension, world. I read all three books in about, maybe, two days and a half. It was so fascinating, alluring, couldn't keep me to stay still. I loved all the characters (except I just couldn't get myself to like Tom), and of course I just loved Julian, the Shadow Man. I am 13, and couldn't go to sleep until 4am when the sun was peeking into my window, because I was scared of the dark. Of darkness. I hysterically laughed at myself, by the way. So, I just want to say that this book was, haunting, creative, and amazing. Ok, well, thanks for reading my first review... have a nice day(:

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This adventure is addicting

    I have read the series by L.J. Smith and I must say she is an awesome writer. This book kept me on my seat....it was full of adventure, thrilling. It is scary and tantilizing. I was hooked on this book from the beginning to the end. I devoured the book in two days. I could not put the book down. Jenny and her friends are on quite an adventure, but for some reason I really liked Julian. Even though he was a bad guy, and he put everyone through so much, you could tell that he truely loves Jenny. Jenny loves Tom, and Julian loves Jenny. Which guy is right for her? Who will she finally be with? I definately wasn't expecting the ending to end the way it did. The charcters are well written, and definately are relatable. If you want to curl up with a book that is full of romance, mystery and just thrilling things with unpredictable twists, read this book! You won't be sorry!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    got hooked!

    i must admit, the title didn'd really get me, i had it on my shelf for a year, until oneday i was so bored and decided to read it. and BANG!! i couldnt put it down. Its the best trilogy i've ever read. i would get told off by my parents because i was always reading it. The way L. J smith writes is amazing..i totally fell in love with julian, the way L. J Smith would describe him. Once i had finish reading the first book, i went straight to the library and borrowed the next two. i was hooked! My favorite one was the last series..it was sad but a really good ending. I was sad when i realised i've finished all three already..but it didnt stop me from reading it again. You just cant get sick of it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this series when it was first published in the 90s and I

    I read this series when it was first published in the 90s and I am glad they decided to reprint it since it never gained much recognition. I think it is superior to vampire diaries and the secret circle. Julian is the best and most complex character LJ Smith has ever written and you can't help wishing Jenny would just choose him over Tom even though he is suppose to be the villain. Its such a different concept than most other fantasy/paranormal series yet reminds me of the 80s movie Labyrinth with David Bowie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    I love Julian!

    Julian is what makes this a really good book. He loves Jenny so much. She kind of gets on my nerves how she doesnt want to give into Julian, and I hate how shes so stuck on Tom. I like the other characters except Dee, her character is a bit exaggerated. I really like all the stuff about the shadowmen and the other worlds and the runes. The most exciting parts were whenever Julian and Jenny were together. The ending is not one that I would have chosen!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this story , but the reason why i'm mad is that Julian died. Yes, i know he was supposed to be the bad guy, i just can't help but like him and his passion for Jenny is just amazing. i was hoping Jenny would pick him and that he wouldn't have to die.

    also cuz l.j.smith said she was gonna write a squel i hope Julian comes back and Jenny goes with HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The beauty of imganition

    Wow! I accidently bought this on my mom's nook, and now i dont regret it. Detail after detail, my imganition shows me what it looks like!!! One more chapter (i tell my self) mabey another. I cant close this book! * book ends* WOW! What a great book! * i lay in bed looking at the celling. Then i close my eyes and let my imganition take over. Now im 'watching' the book all over again.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one word........... AMAZING!

    This book was written by a true author. L.J. Smith's books are so good down to the last page! This book kept me going, i really felt like i was in the book! It also kept me on edge with all the action from Julian. This book was real to me, because it was sort of like my own nightmare coming to life. I recomend this book to everyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love L. J. Smith

    These books and many of L. J. Smith's other works were written when I was yonger and I am glad that they are re-printing them. This story is creepy, well written (most of L.J. Smith's are) and very hard to put down.

    If you are in the mood for romance, mystery and unpredictable twists I highly recomend reading this and other books writen by L.J. Smith. The best of her seires are: Night World, Secret Circle, Dark Visions, and Forbidden Game.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery and a love triangle!

    This book is for mystery lovers. Jenny, Tom, and the rest of their friends go on an epic journey... in another dimension! No one knows how to escape or what to do... except Jenny. She has the only thing the Prince of Shadows wants... her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Traumatized

    Okay, so this book put me through an emotional rollercoater and right now I'm just sitting here wondering what to do with my life. This book is so so sooooo good, words cant describe it. I love Julians character and its so obvious how much he loves Ginny. THE SEQUEL NEEDS TO COME OUT SOON!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Luved this book

    Will there be another?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYES

    This book... I can't even tell you hownin love i am with all of i. JULIAN ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    One of my favorites!

    This book was truely amazing! I defintely recommend it to anyone. It's a highley addictive read to keep you on the edge of your seat. It's packed with suspense and has a very creepy twist. The characters are fantastic and the love story is incredible! There's nothing bad to say about this book :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Beautiful Work

    When I first bought the series, it was purely on a whim. I didn't know a single thing about the book when I got it. Yet the moment I began reading, I couldn't stop. My heart pounded in excitement because of the mystery, the danger. I found myself fearing the dark, and wondering if there was a difference between reality and fantasy (thanks to Julian). I hope that the Forbidden Game series is adapted into 3 movies, and if the director does it well enough, the Forbidden Game could be a true masterpiece on screen. I recommend this book to anybody who is interested in a thrilling novel that makes you cry, and makes you laugh, and keeps you reading all night. The Forbidden Game series has effected me in a way unexplainable by words, but if you have read the book, you would understand what I mean.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Omg ppl! Samplers are allways bad even i didint like the sampler but i love the book! Just becouse its not some boring old clasic love story dosint mean its not good! Nobody ever understands the fist few padges maybe even chapters! Now READ MY COMENT

    I cant beleve some ppl dont like it just becouse thay hvint made a moovie out of it yet. I thought it was very creative and mind bogeling. I cant stand it that ppl wont even give it a chance just becouse thay think the idea is stoopid. Naw i understand if you dont like that type of fantasticl books or if you thuoght the book to be boring but all i ask is that you give it a chance and dont dis the GAME.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Awesome

    Omgi love this book is so addictve!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    Fantastic!

    This is one of the best books I've read in a while, it was suspenseful, dramatic, and just plain different. I LOVED this book, I definatly recommend it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it!

    Though I have not read this series in years, it still remains one of my favorites. I read all of her books when I was younger and could not wait for the next one to come out. I have not read any of her recents books because I am a bit too old now but her eary books are worth picking up. I still will not give up my copies from way back when.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    YAY =D

    I cannot wait for these books to come out. i have only read the first book and i loved it. it was so different than the other books i have recently read and i am so glad that is not about vampires,(don't get me wrong i love vampire books but its good to read other stuff too). i was annoyed that i could only find the first book but now that all three are coming out together i am so excited. i love L.J Smith's books :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13