Customer Reviews for

Forbidden Life

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!! **Book gifted

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!!

    **Book gifted to me as part of a blog tour for honest review

    Well, this book did not disappoint :)  It rocked!!  It has a little bit of everything: air battles, volcano, mutants, magical island, reunion of friends, new family, new friends, more kidnappings, battles, lost trust, new love, and a struggle with most characters to figure out the correct path.  Definitely an emotional rollercoaster!!  You want to get the villains, cry with our heroes, and say Awww (because you are happy for them) when good things happens! 

    This is a must read for anyone who started the trilogy and again if you love X-men and superheroes, you have got to read this :)  The other sad part is that there is no more to read *sniff

    Kimberly has made it to my favorite author list, and I need to see what else she has to read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Everything becomes disturbingly real in this instalment of the F

    Everything becomes disturbingly real in this instalment of the Forbidden Trilogy. The way that Kinrade tells the story you can really see how this is possible and why governments would want to try this. It adds an extra element of scariness to the story itself. Kinrade has the ability to make the surreal seem real through her very captivating storytelling. 




    As usual, Kinrade’s story is very well written. Her storytelling and narrative draw you in while keeping you abreast of the dividing and intertwining storylines. You get the feeling of suspense and need for action without any of the gore that tends to accompany it. Kinrade manages to keep this very fast paced and nerve racking novel upbeat throughout.




    You get a true sense of the main characters in this novel through the chapters written from their perspectives. Each is written in a different style with completely different vocabulary. It meshes perfectly with each of their personalities. I love how you get to know Lucy so much better in this instalment. She has been one of my favourite characters throughout, but she really comes into her own in this story. My only issue with any of the characters in this novel is that suddenly part way through the book everyone magically goes from being a teen to being an adult. It’s a smooth transition and you barely notice it at the time but looking back you can see it clearly. 




    As a whole, this novel was a good wrap up to the series. Everyone has something or someone to lean on. They also have some form of a plan for the rest of their lives. That said, Kinrade also doesn’t fall into the trap of jumping 10 years into the future and giving everyone a happily ever after. They are still themselves, but we have a sense of completion for this part of their story.




    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Building to a climax for the main characters, this third book in

    Building to a climax for the main characters, this third book in the trilogy brings the characters into the most difficult and life-effecting decisions they have yet been faced with. There is a stronger feeling of sci-fi to this book, highlighting the author’s ability to world-build and integrate new elements without losing the other elements that readers have come to love and enjoy. The kids are all growing up, and facing decisions that are, if possible, even more adult-like than any before.

    Additional character perspectives are added as we are introduced to even more obstacles for the familiar characters to face, building the tension in this entertaining installment. This story provides a new insight into the backgrounds of the kids and their would-be controllers, while possibly turning some of your previously held thoughts on their ear.

    This story nicely wraps up most of the questions, and will leave you satisfied when you turn the final page, but you will find that the characters and questions about “where are they now” will stay with you. With a skill for developing point of view and maintaining a near breakneck pace in the action, the author has crafted a conclusion to this series that will delight. A good series read for an older YA reader (15+).

    I was provided an eBook from the author for purpose of honest review for Innovative Online Book tours. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forbidden Life Book Three Warning will most definitely contain

    Forbidden Life Book Three

    Warning will most definitely contain spoilers of the first two books if you haven’t read them. I will do my best to keep it vague.

    Sam will do anything to protect Ana now that she has finally arrived, but the powers that be know Ana is going to be the most powerful paranormal child ever to exist and will do anything to get their hands on her. All the while Drake is missing recuperating after what had happened to him in the previous book, and Luke and Lucy are on a mission to put an end to Rent-a-Kid once and for all before they too lose Ana.

    I still want to kick Drake where it will hurt the most what he did to Sam is despicable. Other than that it was a fun book and obviously the author did a phenomenal job in her descriptive capabilities to evoke such a strong emotion from a reader. I loved the different trials that each of the characters must go through as they face decisions that may change their entire lives. In the end, this was a great conclusion to the trilogy I just wish she had finished off with Luke and Lucy a bit more, but that aside she ties everything up with a nice bow for her readers.
    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Forbidden Trilogy- Forbidden Life- Author Kimberly Kinrade- Revi

    Forbidden Trilogy- Forbidden Life- Author Kimberly Kinrade- Review

    As I came to the final page of this trilogy, I smiled happily in satisfaction along with the characters. I was very pleased with the ending and loved all of the in between. That is the key to any series...a great ending. I loved this one, but you will have to read to the end to find out how this tale exactly does end...I'm not giving no spoilers here.

    Complex would be the perfect word to describe the story line. The predicament for Sam, Drake, Lucy, Luke and a few other characters- that rock, I must add- is the surrounding outline of this very well told tale. I loved the variation on telling the story( third person, first person), and loved the imaginative world surrounding it all created by this wonderful, imaginative author, Kimberly Kinrade.
    I love twists and love constant action and adventure in my books and this book brought it. Excitement and captivation kept me turning the pages-love that even more- and once again, I was reading this story as fast as my eyes and mind could comprehend to absorb and enjoy it all. A brilliantly well told story with a great ending.

    Story sum up:
    Drake has disappeared, having lost his powers and Sam is left alone to give birth and deal with life- well not entirely, she does have friends. Lucy and Luke (the twins) have teamed up with IPI to take down the head haunch of the Rent a kid facility, Steele, going to another location to rescue the younger paranormal's.

    Simmons the lady in charge of IPI, wants to take Steele down (rent a kid creator) and with the help of Lucy and Luke she hopes to accomplish just that. A solider of hers, Hunter joins the mix. Of course a romance comes about between the two as well as a lot of growing up for Lucy. Amazing things surface in this third installment that is unexpected, very imaginative, but fits right in with the tale.

    I hate spoilers, but still want to clue readers in on how amazing a book is, especially one that deserves such the praise. You will not be disappointed with Forbidden Life and from my interpretation; I believe this isn't the end of this paranormal realm created by Kimberly Kinrade, of which I am very pleased to know. I look forward to reading the next series in the works and have now become a lifelong fan of the author.
    As I was given a free copy of this book for my honest review in return, I have done exactly as such. This is my honest review of the book, without any spoilers of course. :0)

    Author A.D. Duling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Forbidden Life is the longest read in the trilogy and in my own

    Forbidden Life is the longest read in the trilogy and in my own opinion the best! The story was like a giant roller coaster that crept up a steep hill and even though you knew the end was coming you still won't be entirely ready for it. It will consume your mind with its many layers and intricate plot. The plot thickens with every chapter and the suspense just keeps building. The action in this book just never ceases and you'll be racing through to find out what's going to happen next. Forbidden Life picks up 3 months after Forbidden Fire left off. Every character has there own struggles to overcome and numerous obstacles to face. That in and of itself is brilliant because just when you think everything's going to be okay an unknown variable changes everything. You get to see tons of Lucy which is fantastic - she's so strong, independent, and fierce. Her perspective is incredibly entertaining and full of surprises. She really becomes her own character and as much as it is Sam's story it's also Lucys as well. Forbidden Life never has a single predictable moment and that's what makes this whole series standout in a sea of other YA novels. This book is also my favorite of the entire trilogy though I did say that about the last one Forbidden Fire, it just went beyond everything; surpassing greatness for excellence. COMPLETELY LOVED IT.

    Drake's a hot mess having left Sam you get to see where he ends up. Sam's baby is born and her life just keeps spiraling out of control. Lucy and Luke get into a very entertaining situation. There are a few added perspectives from other minor characters which is fascinating insight to glimpse there own views. One of my favorite things about this book is how Sam finally becomes a confident and extraordinary heroine. She isn't playing games with anyone anymore especially when they interfere with her mission of protecting her family. She'll do anything to keep them safe. Yet again Sam and her friends are at war to take down once and for all the leader behind Rent-A-Kid; her father. New characters are introduced that are really cool and extremely likeable such as Agent Hunter Riley who has a growing romance with Lucy - he's completely delicious, and his personality is magnificent. He also has some interesting secrets of his own. Then there's Toby - a street kid who has some really funny banter with Drake. The villains of this book are even more insidious, with twisted agendas of there own. There are some really cool science fiction moments integrated into the series blending together fantasy, paranormal, and dystopian elements that make it something entirely new.

    Like the previous books this one also has its dark moments however not as morbid as the others. I didn't mind the violence as much because the story captivated all else. The characters in this book are expansive and you see everyone more and there para-powers evolve and there's a lot of evolutionary factors that explain how these powers came about. A lot is concluded in Forbidden Life so not once did I feel like it didn't have an acceptable ending or an unrequited resolution. The only small issue I had was that up until halfway through Luke was seriously irritating me with his attitude. Intentional or not that got to me. In the 2 previous books he's portrayed as fun, cute, and strong. In the first half of Forbidden Life he's made out to be a giant complainer, weak, and annoying. I tried really hard to overlook this but every time I did he would do something that would make me angrier. I don't like whiny characters but thankfully he got back on track and the second half of the book made my thoughts on this matter disappear; I was SO enthused he was able to redeem himself. Although I felt this way it made his character growth development more intriguing as all the characters individually had a lot of soul searching to do. Overall it was overwhelmingly fantastic and is now one of my newest favorite trilogies.


    I really want to read more about this world Kimberly Kinrade created and I cannot wait to get my hands on her future works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series, this is the last, but so good! A Must read!!

    Ok, I really didn’t think that this series could get better, as its so darn good anyway, but it did, it got even better. For those who are not yet familiar with this series (where have you been? Hiding under a rock? Lol) This series is a lot like X-Men/Dark Angel, with some Alphas (scifi channel show I love) , then throw in a little of Covert Affairs (spy show I watch) and you have the Forbidden Trilogy! We have some new hotness in this one too, named Hunter Riley! Boy is he hot and all made, whew, see the postcard I posted.

    In this book, its about Sam, Drake, Luke, and Lucy, now with Hunter, and the IPI agents who are helping them free the other Para-powers kids (paranormal abilities, think X-men) then of course the arrival if Ana, Sam and Drakes baby. (she is still a virgin, the horrible Rent-A-Kids foundation impregnated her , as they want her baby for the powers it will have, they figured Drake and Sam’s powers combined would be unstoppable.)

    This one has some excitement all over the place, we have poor Luke and Lucy, playing Survivor on a isolated island, that has weird stuff going on (think Lost, lol) but with some weird creatures and other strange happenings. Lucky for them, the other IPI agents had set up camp there, so they get hooked up with them, and this is where Hunter comes on the scene, and Lucy and Hunter hit it off. (I won’t get into details, but Luke and Lucy were on a mission to save the youngest para-kids, and the plane crashed, they jumped out) But I want to leave this as spoiler free as I can, let’s just say, some major Mission Impossible stuff goes on, none stop action and suspense. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and up to the wee hours of the morning to finish reading it! Hunger Games fans will love this, as well any anyone who likes the paranormal and scifi type books, heck, even romance, as there is more of it in this one.
    Drake is off on his own, spiraling down in self-loathing. He has hit bottom, but he may have found a way to get his powers back, but what will it cost him? I am not telling!
    Ana is in danger, Sam will do anything to protect her, and they find out that Ana is the key to everything.
    This is a must read trilogy, this final installment left me satisfied, but exited too. Didn’t get enough of Hunter, but still loved it.
    Joining the IPI with me, be a part of it. Details at Kimberly’s website and FB page.

    5 out of 5 stars for me. Loved it!!

    I was provided a copy of this book for my honest review and for the book tour with Innovative Online Book Tours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1