Customer Reviews for

Forbidden Magic

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exciting & Sensual

This was an exciting book from beginning to end with a twist of sensual exploits. If you like magic, danger, and a little explicit sex, then you would probably like this book. In Forbidden Magic you get to meet Silver Ashcroft, a new full power witch, who is using gra...
This was an exciting book from beginning to end with a twist of sensual exploits. If you like magic, danger, and a little explicit sex, then you would probably like this book. In Forbidden Magic you get to meet Silver Ashcroft, a new full power witch, who is using gray magic to help save mankind (which is a big no no). Then she meets Hawk, a super sexy D'Danann or angel... depends on how you want to look at it. While helping her to restore some type of order, they fall madly in love.

posted by Lynz_in_Love on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read, more adventure than romance

First, if you would like a good book with a detailed & interesting plot, and vivid characters, you will enjoy this one. However, if the passion factor figures in to your book buying, the flame content is PG-13. I enjoyed the book once I quit pouting over the lack of ste...
First, if you would like a good book with a detailed & interesting plot, and vivid characters, you will enjoy this one. However, if the passion factor figures in to your book buying, the flame content is PG-13. I enjoyed the book once I quit pouting over the lack of steam and the limited romance.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting & Sensual

    This was an exciting book from beginning to end with a twist of sensual exploits. If you like magic, danger, and a little explicit sex, then you would probably like this book. In Forbidden Magic you get to meet Silver Ashcroft, a new full power witch, who is using gray magic to help save mankind (which is a big no no). Then she meets Hawk, a super sexy D'Danann or angel... depends on how you want to look at it. While helping her to restore some type of order, they fall madly in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Good read, more adventure than romance

    First, if you would like a good book with a detailed & interesting plot, and vivid characters, you will enjoy this one. However, if the passion factor figures in to your book buying, the flame content is PG-13. I enjoyed the book once I quit pouting over the lack of steam and the limited romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Will always enjoy

    First I was skeptical that this was just another paranormal "sex for most of the book" series starter. Was I glad I was wrong! Yes it does have quite steamy parts but it also lets you get to know the character personalities and has a real story tied with it. Love to read, can't wait to continue the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    love the story and glad that the story continues....

    I recommend it to the readers who love witty and sexy stories, with all types of parnormals and witches together. loved it loved it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I was rooting for the bad guys!,

    All the big authors who said great things about this book must of only read the sex parts because this book is really bad. I was rooting for the bad guys to have more sex. This book was like a bad porno movie. Fast forward over the dialogue and get to the good stuff. I only bought this used because I bought number two and realized I should read number one first. Big mistake. The villians are great. They plot and plan and have some banter. The male heros need to take the witches to their dimension, and stay here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book!

    I just finished reading this book and it's the first I've ever read by this author. And I am officially hooked! This book was SO good! I couldn't stop reading it! Don't be hesitant about it, it is incredibly under-rated, and deserves far more attention than it gets. I'm not going into details about what the book is about, you can see that for yourself on the books page. But I will tell you that if you like paranormal romance, with a strong gorgeous hero and a beautiful, powerful heroine, who together fight evil while falling in love in the process, then you'll love this book. All of the characters are likable, especially Silver and Hawk. I'm so mad I didn't buy the 1st 2 books, cause the local bookstore doesn't have the next 4 copies, so I have to wait for B&N snail mail to read the rest of the series. And I hope there are more to come after the 5th book, because if the next 4 are anything like this one, then this series will def be in my top 5 favorite series'. I also plan to check out her new 'Night Tracker' series starting with the 1st book "Demons Not Included". If your still unsure, check out the other series I've recommended, if you like any or all of them, than you will for sure love this one. Give it a try, you won't regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very nice

    this series is great like so many of her other paranormal series ca not get enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Reveiw of Forbidden Magic

    Good story of witchcraft with added erotica added in the romance. The main characters were well defined with physical attributes as well as emotional. The author pulls you into a world of what is called gray witchcraft and defines the difference very clearly between white magic and gray. I enjoyed the book very much. It kept my interest. As a writer myself, I was drawn to the characters and the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Give This Book a Chance, it is Unjustly Underrated!

    Wow, what a complete night/day difference from the first book I tried by Cheyenne McCray, Demons Not Included. Since the majority of reviews for Forbidden Magic were negative, I didn't think I was going to like this book but I actually loved it! Before you let someone's review (including my review) influence your own opinion, I recommend seeing their other reviews to make sure you share similar interest in books first. Silver Ashcroft is a white witch hiding a secret from her coven. She practices and wields grey magic and is being stalked by Darkwolf, a dark magic Warlock working for Balor the god of death. Darkwolf is trying to recruit Silver to aid him in summoning and releasing all the Formorii demons who were banished centuries ago from walking the earth, to forever live under the sea floor. Junga, a Formorii in a top general position, who covets her queen's position, has been instructed by her queen to return to San Francisco and assist Darkwolf in gathering enough warlocks for the summoning. Fearing the Formorii invasion, Silver goes against her coven's rules of absolutely no summoning EVER, and summons the Tuatha D' Danann. The Tuatha D' Danann are fae warriors who banished the Formorii to their prison under the sea centuries ago. Hawk, Tuatha D' Danann warrior answers Silver's call and together they combine their strengths, as well as the strength of other D' Danann warriors to defeat the Formorii. The Formorii refuse to let any of their people be confined to their hellhole any longer, capture and torture Silver's coven and try to force them to help in the summoning. Formorii demons are cruel, cannibalistic and perversely sexual creatures that enjoy inflicting misery. If released, they will swarm mankind like a plague. With mankind's imminent extinction, they will set their ambitious sights on concurring and bestowing their revenge on Otherworld. This book was fantastic! I enjoyed it immensely, it was dark, gritty and fierce. Despite my review there are a lot of elements to this novel that I purposely left out, in order not to give any spoilers. I consider this book to be "almost" a hybrid between dark paranormal romance and dark urban fantasy. If it weren't for the many sex scenes it would be a hybrid. I highly recommend this book to only those dark urban fantasy readers who have the patience to flip through the sex scenes (most of them are hot and passionate but one or two is more than enough) to disentangle the plot. I am anxiously looking forward to reading the next book in this series Seduced by Magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy,Fun, Paranormal Erotic Read!

    After reading Ms. McCrays short story in "No Rest for the Witches" I decided to try this series out. After researching them I realized that the short story was an extension to her Magic Series.

    I was pleasantly surprised when this series had much more eroticism to it than your average romance novel! As far as I can tell, so far there are 5 books to this series. And all the characters play a part in all the books. So it pays to read them in order. I'm really hoping for more to the series!

    These books are listed in Paranormal Romance...so if your looking for just paranormal this isn't for you, I suggest reading the reviews a bit closer before picking up the book. It's not just paranormal or just straight up erotica or plain old romance. For those who like erotic description and actual sex in their romance novels, and not just romance, as well as the paranormal, then this is for you. There are plenty of paranormal entities within the story line, such as witches, dryads, elves, faeries, demons, and magic.

    If you don't like erotic passages, then move on to another writer or perhaps try one of Ms. McCrays other romance novels. This series is a fantastic way to escape the realities of the day and have fun, a highly erotic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Great book

    Forbidden Magic was awesome. It was captivating. Kept me hooked from the beginning. Cheyenne McCray is an excellent writer. Action, suspense, romance, friendship and humor all in one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    I cant wait for more!!

    I just cant wait for more. I have read this book and the one that follows and cant wait for the others to come out. This book really blew me away, the details really paitned the picture for you and the way the charectors enteratcted with eachother makes you think that this was actually taking place somewhere right now. The way they spoke and acted like real people not just some story book person really grabbed me and made me read it more, it was really hard to put down. I am looking forword to the newest book and know that i will not be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Loving It!!

    I am in love with this book. The characters and plot are completely developed and captivating. The sex scenes turn me on. Its wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Never looses momentum

    From the 1st encounter with the Tuatha D'Danan, Hawk, in that empty buildng where Silver Ashcroft is in glamour saving a small child from being sacrificed to the very last battle againts the Balorites and Darkwolf in the park on all hollows eve. This book will keep your attention page after page. you wont want to put it down. It's detailed description of all the warrior's, the paranormal special forces, demons, warlocks, witches and elves. The forces that be, murders, sacrifices, and enticing the innocent to serve evil. The turmoil of one woman who must choose between good and evil, butin the end still looses her mother and friends and the support of her coven because she chose to save her world and keep the balance between god and evil. Very well written and descriptive. 1st time reader of Mrs. Mc Cray and definitely a hooked one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific romantic fantasy

    In San Francisco, D'Anu Coven witch Silver Ashcroft works with Paranormal Special Forces to stop practitioners who use illegal rituals like sacrifice. The current case involves the Balorite clan use of blood magic. Silver knows she risks her soul as she ventures into the grey realm to defeat the Balorites and their evil minion while praying she has not take that irreversible last step. --- At the latest crime scene, Tuatha D'Danann warrior Hawk mentally informs Silver he will help rescue the child intended by the Balorites as a sacrificial lamb while telling her to stop their warlock. However, having crossed into the grey, she is seduced by the warlock Darkwolf to cross into his darkness. Tuatha warns Silver that Darkwolf wants her he fails to tell her that he wants her too, but explains that Balor, the God of Death expects his followers to bring back the Sea Gods in a war against humans and elves. She must go against her clan and bring the D¿Danann from the Otherworld or existence will end. Silver has much on her mind including two males that she desires and a world at stake if she steps wrongly. --- This terrific romantic fantasy with police procedural elements grasps the audience from the moment that Silver meets Tuatha and Darkwolf and never slows down until the final twist of their triangle. ¿Matchmaking¿ from the Gods, elves, and magical practitioners from across the spectrum augment a good vs. evil end of the world battle in which the white witches must reconsider their means if they are to win with some of the D¿Anu clan insisting that the price is the same as the end of the world. Fans will take great and immense pleasure with this strong thriller that both genres will treasure. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3