Customer Reviews for

Ford County

Average Rating 3.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

John Grisham Stays True!

Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

posted by 1454613 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Are You Kidding?

How in the heck did you finish this book five months before it even come out?

posted by Darth-Vader on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 625 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    John Grisham Stays True!

    Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

    11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Are You Kidding?

    How in the heck did you finish this book five months before it even come out?

    10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham Stories

    First of all, I HAVE read the book, ALL of it, and enjoyed the stories immensely. Ford County seems to be full of interesting people, and Grisham has a smart eye for what makes them interesting. My favorite story is the comeuppance of the lawyer Stanley, but the last story touched my heart. It was a great way to end a fine book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Ford County

    I love books by John Grisham, so I expect all of them to be great. And this one did not disappoint me. It's a book of short stories and I didn't care for the people in the first two stories but that certainly doesn't mean that they don't exist and are like some of the people that I know. But the last story was so enduring and heart felt that it stays with me even now. It was about an older black woman taking care of a younger white man with AIDS. And their short journey together is heart warming and strong.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A few gems

    When you write a book of short stories, you'll nail a few and swing and miss on some others. I think John Grisham showed he's not afraid to venture into unknown territory: short stories. This is something Stephen King has nailed. Some stories in Ford County were real page turners that were very exciting and over before I knew it. Others were only 50 pages and each page turn was painstaking. Not a bad product, but I'd prefer he sticks with his legal thrillers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Smooth silky stories

    These stories go down effortlessly. More than the stories, the characters stand out as rich images appearing in front of the pages. While reading, I felt I was living there, somewhere in Ford County. These are short "short stories". I can't decide if I wanted more stories or longer ones. I have read Grisham's early books but not so much the more recent ones. I recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Not his best

    This 'book' is a collection of short stories. I'm not really enjoying them and would not purchase this book again. I like Grisham's novels, so this book was a disappointment for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Starting w "Playing for Pizza," Grisham has become a great storyteller!

    Now I don't tend to read short story collections or anthologies, but in the last month I have enjoyed two very different collections: "Say Your One of Them" and "Ford County." As I wrote earlier "Say..." is a haunting and intense study of life in Africa from that continents children's perspective. I really liked John Grisham's collection of stories, "Ford County". Starting w "Playing for Pizza," Grisham has become a great storyteller! He still displays his love-hate for the legal profession, which we have grown accustomed to in his legal thrillers. Here, however, his characters are more poignant and richly compelling then the leads of his books/movies. Now none of these vignettes could expand to a full length novel ... but that in part is their strength. If the goal is rich flavor and a pleasant aftertaste, a tort is often better than the pie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Great Short Stories

    The short stories are not esoteric. They contain elements of dark humor, social and familial dysfunction, profoundness and familiar circumstances. "Ford County" is an entertaining read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    GREAT read and the short stories were wonderful!

    I throughly enjoy all of John Grishams books, but this read was tooo short but enjoyable. I felt as if I was in Ford County....the stories keep you laughing and crying for some of the characters!

    He saved the best for last! Can't wait to see if he takes one of the short stories and make it an complete book with court room drama and all! Its possible....because many of the stories left you hanging with just your imagination....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Grisham's first short story work.

    This book being Grisham's first short story work it immediately skipped all of his novels to take its place at the top of my list. The small town portrait he paints, the characters full of color, life, humor and uniqueness... I would recommend this book to anyone who has lived in the south. Even if you don't this book is an easy, quick read with original stories that still have a hint of Grishams love for law in it. You really get to bond with the characters and pull for them when they get to a speed bump. My favorite story in this book is Blood Drive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Audio book, Ford County

    I love the voice of John Grisham, but it's a truism that authors should
    not read their own words. With the exception of his telling about the
    lawyer who is abducted and made to witness the results of his defense of the medical profession [outstanding in it's starkness] the other stories sound 'read' instead of being told.
    Worthy and worthwhile work by a respected author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Different Kind of Grisham Book

    While I don't normally like short stories, this one is OK. I love John Grisham's books so I would have preferred a novel from him. But the stories reflect his normal writing style and it was easy to get into the stories. However, they all seemed to have a very sad ending. All of the characters were down on their luck sort of folks. I don't recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a mental or emotional pick-me-up, as the stories all left me feeling rather sad. But again, if you're a Grisham fan and like his writing style, you'll want to add this book to your library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I like this dudes books

    This guys books always remind of a denzel washington movie, if you like grisham you'll love this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    Gotta love Grisham

    I just got this book on Nov 4th and I have read 2 of the 7 stories, I have a 5 month old son and don't have a lot of time to read or I would already be done with it! I love how Grisham books will just suck you right into them, & this one is no different. It is kind of strange to have a story that takes you 1 hour to read instead of a couple days but it is still a good book, and I would not hesitate to buy it again. I can't wait to finish all stories but then I will have to wait a year for a new book :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    highly recommended you read

    great story and read by one of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Demons bio

    Gender female rank dicuplus clan the kill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Another GREAT book bu John Grisham

    John Grisham is my favorite writer, I have read most of his book. Ford County was great. I have read it twice already. Once in hard cover and now in my Nook. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading great books, just for the joy of reading. Looking forward to John's next winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    As usual John Grisham has written an outstanding book.  Hopefull

    As usual John Grisham has written an outstanding book.  Hopefully he will give us more from Ford County in the short story format. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Very Good Short Stories

    This book contains some short stories that are easy to read, and very enjoyable. John Grisham is an excellent author, and this book of stories will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 625 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32