Customer Reviews for

Ford County

Average Rating 3.5
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

John Grisham Stays True!

Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

posted by 1454613 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Are You Kidding?

How in the heck did you finish this book five months before it even come out?

posted by Darth-Vader on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 624 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Highly Recommend - check it out.

    The book has you laughing at some of the stories, very enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Super boring.

    Nothing really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Loved all of the short stories

    Growing up in the South, there were several situations that made me smile, & some that were unpleasant but true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham Shines in Non-Legal Thrillers

    I am usually a bigger fan of John Grisham's non-legal stories then I am of his legal thrillers. FORD COUNTY is no exception to that rule. You find find any legal thrillers here. Instead what you get is something a bit different from Grisham, short stories. Seven of them to be exact and all assisted by their locale, Ford County, Mississippi.

    What these stories amount to are everyday people doing not so everyday things. There is a story about a group of small town men sent to the big city. There is a story about a man who gets hired to work as a candy striper in a nursing home. There is a story about a family going to meet their son on death row. That sort of thing but all with that Grisham touch that makes the ordinary seem interesting.

    All too often I've read negative reviews of this short story collection. My best guess is they are from those who crave the legal dramas and are not expecting this type of Americana. If you are into books like A PAINTED HOUSE or PLAYING FOR PIZZA you will enjoy this. At times the stories feel like shorter outlines of bigger story ideas that he just wasn't able to expand upon. Yet they still work and feel good as short stories. Though some do leave you wanting more.

    I advocate for both faces of Grisham. I lean toward the face that isn't lawyerly. That being the case this worked for me. It had that small country town feel like A PAINTED HOUSE. Seeing Grisham tackle short story format was enjoyable as well. Don't let bad reviews steer you away from this one, it is well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Bad form

    Awful , dull, boring .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just two (2) stars. Start with in depth details, add some drinki

    Just two (2) stars.
    Start with in depth details, add some drinking and driving along with a visit to a strip joint/"club" and this begins "Blood Drive." Readers maybe surprised by the turn of events. John Grisham takes his readers into the South with some "wild tall tales," sure to give you vivid mental pictures. These stories are not for readers that are looking for tame tales. **Maybe too much descriptive information for some readers, so be aware of your story surrounding. Real eye-opener and mental "teaser."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    A collection of short stories that are humorous, sad, disturbing

    A collection of short stories that are humorous, sad, disturbing and thought provoking. While the read was good, Grisham has done better IMO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Ford county Ford County

    I enjoy his different writing styles. Depicts real life characters.









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Great Read!

    Really enjoyed the short stories set in Ford County.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well-written, but rather depressing. These are short storie

    Very well-written, but rather depressing. These are short stories about different people living in Ford County. There seems to be a sorry lot of people there and it sure isn't anywhere I'd like to visit. The stories did draw me in, but were just not my cup of tea. I wouldn't say not to read these, but if you do, read them knowing there isn't much happiness going to take place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    absorbing

    I am reading this book right now and enjoy the stories. Having ,ived in the south, the culture and actions of those in the tales comes as no surprise. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    A page turner

    Great short stories that makes it hard to put down this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Great!

    It was an exiting read and ad lots of funny phrases

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Loved It

    I don't normally like short stories and never would have bought this if I hadn't been in a hurry and didn't notice that it wasn't a novel. That said, I loved the book. Each story was a gem with its own brand of humor, irony, and/or emotion. Each story was unique. Grisham continues to demonstrate his versatility as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Short stories

    Sometimes I need a book I can enjoy but is easy to put down. This was good for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Short Stories by Grisham

    Not my favorite Grisham but good. This is a group of short stories that are not the just another lawyer, very different. If you liked playing for pizza you should give this a try. I liked it but didn't love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bad people but decent stories!

    John Grisham has almost always delighted me with his novels' settings. Mainly those taking place in Ford County, Mississippi. There we are treated to background and main characters that run the gamut of personality types and idiosyncrasies. Everyone wasn't always cookie-cutter good or bad. Here, while the stories that take place are interesting, the vast majority of these people seem so terrible they are hard to care about because you hope nothing good happens to them. Each story was good just almost devoid of goodness which isn't at all what Grisham has shown in his other works. While there might be deplorable racist in one scene we are usually given a foil to that character that plays off it well. Here, not so much. Overall, this is a decent but depressing collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    Liked the realism & different story lines. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    dissapointing

    I have enjoyed every book John Grisham has written except for this book. I didnt do anything for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    ford county

    very interesting characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 624 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32