Customer Reviews for

Ford County

Average Rating 3.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

John Grisham Stays True!

Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

posted by 1454613 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Are You Kidding?

How in the heck did you finish this book five months before it even come out?

posted by Darth-Vader on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Super boring.

    Nothing really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Bad form

    Awful , dull, boring .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    awful...

    I can't believe this is Grisham. I have read all of his books and have been a fan for as long as I can remember. This book of short stories is awful. Don't waste your money. If this is how he is writing now, I will be rethinking any future purchase of Grisham books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Poor audio book. Grisham should never read his novels again. reads like he's in the 4th grade. Stories are poor with no worthwhile climax

    Poor audio book. Grisham reads poorly, like a 4th grader. Stories are weak. Waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Very disappointing

    I am shocked at Mr. Grisham's subject matter and language after the first few pages. Not uplifting or encouraging but rather the type of material I do not want in my mind. Sorry I wasted my money but glad I kept my receipt as B&N was gracious enough to give me a full refund.

    Mr. Grisham used to be one of my favorite authors - I have ALL of his other books. I did know that some things in his books were not good but overlooked them because of the legal stories. This one, however, has turned me away and I will never read anything else he writes. I do not have time to waste on garbage when there is so much good writing out there to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    The title didn't give you much information

    I read the first story and hated it because it was so dark. Nothing pleasant about it. Then I started the second story and decided the whole book was going to dark and unpleasant and I gave the book away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Grisham

    This is the worst book he has written. I hope he goes back to type of story he has always written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    very disappointing

    After reading two of the stories, I was so disappointed that I returned the book within the time frame for a full refund! Not a book one would want to give as a gift. The settings and stories are not true Grisham style, nor should they become so.
    The first story was about young drunken boys visiting a strip joint. In the end they each wound up with broken lives, but I don't think that the end justified the means for this story. Nor, for the other one which I have chosen to forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Why Do I Bother?

    Don't know why I continue to buy and read Grisham. If he doesn't have anything in his head to write, I can wait until he does. Why is it necessary to put something out there that just isn't worth reading?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stick to what you do best.

    I love John Grisham. I did not enjoy the book. Revisiting the setting of A Time To Kill seemed like a good idea in theory but the stories are just okay. Growing up in Mississippi is something that you never forget. Each town has its own quirks and charms. Each town has its own stories and characters. This book does nothing to capture that. The stories seem made up and too simple. I want the stories to seem real and capture the essence of small town life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    hated the book!

    i love john grisham and i have read all his books and loved them but this was the worst, most pointless book i have ever read by anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4