Customer Reviews for

Ford County

Average Rating 3.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

John Grisham Stays True!

Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

posted by 1454613 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Are You Kidding?

How in the heck did you finish this book five months before it even come out?

posted by Darth-Vader on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    John Grisham Stays True!

    Another John Grisham Classic! It's so intense so invigorating! I reluculantly turned the last page.

    11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham Stories

    First of all, I HAVE read the book, ALL of it, and enjoyed the stories immensely. Ford County seems to be full of interesting people, and Grisham has a smart eye for what makes them interesting. My favorite story is the comeuppance of the lawyer Stanley, but the last story touched my heart. It was a great way to end a fine book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Ford County

    I love books by John Grisham, so I expect all of them to be great. And this one did not disappoint me. It's a book of short stories and I didn't care for the people in the first two stories but that certainly doesn't mean that they don't exist and are like some of the people that I know. But the last story was so enduring and heart felt that it stays with me even now. It was about an older black woman taking care of a younger white man with AIDS. And their short journey together is heart warming and strong.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    Gotta love Grisham

    I just got this book on Nov 4th and I have read 2 of the 7 stories, I have a 5 month old son and don't have a lot of time to read or I would already be done with it! I love how Grisham books will just suck you right into them, & this one is no different. It is kind of strange to have a story that takes you 1 hour to read instead of a couple days but it is still a good book, and I would not hesitate to buy it again. I can't wait to finish all stories but then I will have to wait a year for a new book :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    highly recommended you read

    great story and read by one of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Demons bio

    Gender female rank dicuplus clan the kill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Another GREAT book bu John Grisham

    John Grisham is my favorite writer, I have read most of his book. Ford County was great. I have read it twice already. Once in hard cover and now in my Nook. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading great books, just for the joy of reading. Looking forward to John's next winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    As usual John Grisham has written an outstanding book.  Hopefull

    As usual John Grisham has written an outstanding book.  Hopefully he will give us more from Ford County in the short story format. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Highly Recommend - check it out.

    The book has you laughing at some of the stories, very enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Ford county Ford County

    I enjoy his different writing styles. Depicts real life characters.









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Great Read!

    Really enjoyed the short stories set in Ford County.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Loved It

    I don't normally like short stories and never would have bought this if I hadn't been in a hurry and didn't notice that it wasn't a novel. That said, I loved the book. Each story was a gem with its own brand of humor, irony, and/or emotion. Each story was unique. Grisham continues to demonstrate his versatility as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    Liked the realism & different story lines. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Good short story reading

    I liked the short stories...Lots of fun reading...Does Grisham have any others like this??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    LOVED IT

    Breezy. Compelling. Too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Beautiful, well-crafted, Grisham-literature

    I've always enjoyed Grisham, but I've come to like best his more literary books: "The Painted House" and "Playing for Pizza" and now "Ford Country Stories". These 3 books show that he really knows how to write books that are more literature than they are likely to be commercial hits. In "Ford County Stories" instead of a whole book, are stories that perhaps he meant to flesh out into novels, but didn't. Several of the stories, especially "Casino", I wish were full books, or that would be turned into movies (but Grisham movies seem to be out of vogue now days). These stories are not perfect (For instance "Blood Drive" which started near perfect and then it seems that he ran out of steam and just closed the story down). But I really enjoy Grisham-literature. They make you appreciate the power of words. If you are seeking the next "The Pelican Brief", don't stop here. If you enjoy well-written short stories that remind you of great American literature, pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    Great read. Couldn't put it down.

    John Grisham does it again. The stories were great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Enjoyable as always

    I always enjoy reading his books. This one definately didn't disappoint. Whether he's writing short stories or regular books he knows how to lure you into the the book. I enjoyed reading about true cases from Ford County. It shows what people really go through. I would recommend this book to everyone. It makes a great gift.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Grisham Wins Again

    Grisham's FORD COUNTY is a pleasurable excursion through the Mississippi countryside that I believe helped make him a prolific and respected author to begin with. The seven delectable short stories are wrought with characters, events, emotions and twists that grab and titillate the reader.
    "Blood Drive" seems to catch the true essence of the basic people that Grisham describes in a lot of his stories. Roger, Aggie and Calvin are truelly pathetic, lovable and loathsome, all at the same time. The scene and the setting when Roger tries to retrieve his lost wallet in the middle of the night at an unfreiendly farmer's house is priceless, and great listening.
    "Fetching Raynond," the second tale, brought to mind classics such as "The Brethern (my all time favorite), parts of "Bleachers," and even seemed to borrow from Stephen King's "Shawshank Redemption" and "The Green Mile." Enough said...
    "Fish Files" was classic Grisham at his best I thought. A plan was set in place to relieve an unbearable living situation and pulled off with great risk to the perpitrator. It was a hoot!
    The fourth tale, "Casino," lends itself to the ins and outs of detiled planning and revenge that Grisham is so adept with. It takes some doing, but the protagonist eventually pulls it off. Thoroghly enjoyable listening.
    "Michaels's Room" again, in my mind, re-visits the unforgettable stories such as THE RUNAWAY JURY, THE PARTNER, and THE TESTAMENT. What a pleasure to have those scencarios appear in a different situation.
    "Quiet Haven" was a study and triumph in character development. If you don't feel for these people by the end of the story, check yourself for a heartbeat...
    "Funny Boy" retierated Grisham's ability to comment on and expose people and the way they can be both cruel and stupid at the same time. Again, Grisham is dead on while discussing the human situation...
    John Grisham's reading of the pieces is an added bonus. As the author, his southern drawl and perfect reflections while reading the prose are worth the price of the package itself.
    Bottom line, FORD COUNTY is fun, entertaining and moving. Can an author do much more? I think not...

    Jim

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Ford County

    This was my first book that i read on my Nook. It was wonderful,I really liked the short stories. I will be reading more of his books. thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9