Customer Reviews for

Foreplay (Ivy Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Foreplay by

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




Foreplay by Sophie Jordan
Book One of the Ivy Chronicles
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: November 5, 2013
Rating: 4 stars
Source: eARC from Edelweiss




Summary (from Goodreads):




Before she goes after ...
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




Foreplay by Sophie Jordan
Book One of the Ivy Chronicles
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: November 5, 2013
Rating: 4 stars
Source: eARC from Edelweiss




Summary (from Goodreads):




Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs. 




Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom—take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.




Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep—with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…




What I Liked:




NON-SPOILER-FILLED REVIEW, I PROMISE!




I think one of the reasons why I am so harsh with New Adult novels (especially the contemporary romance ones) is that I'm actually in college... so I can pick out completely unauthentic parts of this type of novel. I mean, I know all colleges and universities are different, and I also know that Johns Hopkins is soooo not the same as, say, the University of Maryland. But there are some aspects of college life that some New Adult authors get totally wrong, and some aspects that these author hit on the head.




I think that overall, Sophie Jordan does a good job of portraying a certain TYPE of college student's life. Not all college students go to bars - not all UNDERAGE college students go to bars. Yet, this is the type of lifestyle that New Adult authors portray, over and over. I mean, most of the college students that I know explore the city, or go paint-balling, or rollerblading, or rock-climbing. The adventurous ones, anyway. The non-adventurous ones stay indoors all day, in their dorm or in the library or so on.




But anyway. Pepper is a quiet student who occasionally goes out with her suitemate and roommate - and by goes out, I mean to places with alcohol and dancing and so on. Not like, bowling, or something. But I had no huge problems with Pepper. Usually, I HATE the heroine in New Adult contemporary romance novels. But Pepper was okay. She didn't have some gigantic, soul-eating, mind-consuming secret from the past, that she had to work through, with the aid of a super-yummy hunk of a man, like most New Adult contemporary romance novels feature.




Not that this book didn't contain a super-yummy hunk of a man. Reece definitely fits that profile. But I like Reece a lot. Instead of insipid and arrogant, he is quiet and thoughtful, but also very direct. It is his idea for Pepper and him to practice foreplay, in order for her to score the man of her dreams - the guy she's been in love with for like, EVER.




I know, the plot seems kind of silly. And New-Adult-y. But somehow, the plot ended up being very engaging. I enjoyed the interactions between Pepper and Reece - even the sappy secret-delving conversations that usually make me want to roll my eyes. The difference with this book is that Reece actually seems like a grown MAN, and not a silly and stupid and BRAINLESS teenage boy/young man.




Romance. LOVE. IT. Sophie Jordan does an excellent job of constructing the romance in this book. The growth of the relationship between Reece and Pepper is simplistic and progressive. There is a lust connection at first sight, but it's not insta-love. It's hard to explain, but trust me, it was different in this book.




So, I suppose you could say that there is a love triangle in this book, since there is Pepper and Reece practicing foreplay, in order for Pepper to snag Mr. Perfect. But... it's not quite your traditional love triangle. The romance dominates this book, but I like the presence of this love triangle, and the romance in this book. Not telling you how things end. Not even HINTING.




I liked this book. I'll gladly read the second book in this series. We'll see from there!




What I Did Not Like:




I still think that most New Adult contemporary romance books that are traditionally published/self-published are pretty formulaic. This book wasn't as bad, in terms of the New Adult contemporary romance skeleton, but bits and pieces were still evident. The "good girl", the "bad boy", intense chemistry... it seems like most New Adult contemporary romance novels feature these aspects, whether on purpose or not.




But it wasn't as bad, in this book. Maybe because Sophie Jordan is an adult romance writer, and has a fantastic command on the romance aspect of the novel. Somehow, the repetitiveness of the New Adult contemporary romance genre was present but not overwhelming in this book.




Would I Recommend It:




This is so strange - me recommending a New Adult contemporary romance book. You all know my track record with NA contemporary romance books. But I would recommend this book to New Adult fans or non-New-Adult fans! I mean, I disliked most of the NA books I read, but I liked this one. That must mean something!




Rating:




4 stars. I know, I know, a New Adult contemporary romance that I actually enjoyed! It MUST be pretty good, right? I thought so!

posted by Alyssa75 on November 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

At the tender age of 12 Pepper was pretty much an orphan. Her fa

At the tender age of 12 Pepper was pretty much an orphan. Her father had died and her mother abandoned her on the doorstep of her grandmother's house. Ever since she's lived her life according to one goal, end up with Hunter Montgomery, the brother of her best friend. S...
At the tender age of 12 Pepper was pretty much an orphan. Her father had died and her mother abandoned her on the doorstep of her grandmother's house. Ever since she's lived her life according to one goal, end up with Hunter Montgomery, the brother of her best friend. She's seen Hunter as the safe choice, the right choice for where she'd end up in her life. Everything she's done she does it in hopes of him noticing her, not just as his sister's best friend, but as a woman.

However, Pepper knows she's lacking in certain areas of her life, most noticeably romance. With the help of her friends, Emerson and Georgia, she takes it upon herself to learn the art of foreplay in hopes of snagging Hunter. The friends come up with a sure-fire plan, get Pepper to hook up with Reece, the infamous bartender at a local bar known for doing anything that walks.

Foreplay is a good book and one I really enjoyed. It was funny, cute, and had the right amount of heat. Pepper is rather likable in that awkward, doesn't know what to do with her life way. She grew up moving around with her mother, hiding from the men her mother brought home, and just plain lonely, at least until she moved in with her elderly grandmother and met her best friend Lila. She doesn't share her past as she's trying her best to run away from it.

Reece is simply amazing and even he has his own troubled past. His mother died when he was eight and his father was one in name only. When he met Pepper he could tell there was something special about her. He also knew that Pepper was using him but he still wanted to be around her.

Foreplay could have used a few things though. I liked learning about the two leads and their pasts, but it just seemed too rushed. I wish it was expanded on more, especially Reece's past. I also wish that Reece was in the book more. Yes, I know this is more Pepper's story, but if she was using Reece, he should have been there more! And given how the book ends up, which we can all predict, where was he? Maybe I'm just used to dual POV's now, I don't know. I guess it would have been nice to peek into his psyche and see more than we were given.

posted by AshleyAmsbaugh on January 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Foreplay by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Foreplay by Sophie Jordan
    Book One of the Ivy Chronicles
    Publisher: William Morrow
    Publication Date: November 5, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs. 




    Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom—take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.




    Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep—with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…




    What I Liked:




    NON-SPOILER-FILLED REVIEW, I PROMISE!




    I think one of the reasons why I am so harsh with New Adult novels (especially the contemporary romance ones) is that I'm actually in college... so I can pick out completely unauthentic parts of this type of novel. I mean, I know all colleges and universities are different, and I also know that Johns Hopkins is soooo not the same as, say, the University of Maryland. But there are some aspects of college life that some New Adult authors get totally wrong, and some aspects that these author hit on the head.




    I think that overall, Sophie Jordan does a good job of portraying a certain TYPE of college student's life. Not all college students go to bars - not all UNDERAGE college students go to bars. Yet, this is the type of lifestyle that New Adult authors portray, over and over. I mean, most of the college students that I know explore the city, or go paint-balling, or rollerblading, or rock-climbing. The adventurous ones, anyway. The non-adventurous ones stay indoors all day, in their dorm or in the library or so on.




    But anyway. Pepper is a quiet student who occasionally goes out with her suitemate and roommate - and by goes out, I mean to places with alcohol and dancing and so on. Not like, bowling, or something. But I had no huge problems with Pepper. Usually, I HATE the heroine in New Adult contemporary romance novels. But Pepper was okay. She didn't have some gigantic, soul-eating, mind-consuming secret from the past, that she had to work through, with the aid of a super-yummy hunk of a man, like most New Adult contemporary romance novels feature.




    Not that this book didn't contain a super-yummy hunk of a man. Reece definitely fits that profile. But I like Reece a lot. Instead of insipid and arrogant, he is quiet and thoughtful, but also very direct. It is his idea for Pepper and him to practice foreplay, in order for her to score the man of her dreams - the guy she's been in love with for like, EVER.




    I know, the plot seems kind of silly. And New-Adult-y. But somehow, the plot ended up being very engaging. I enjoyed the interactions between Pepper and Reece - even the sappy secret-delving conversations that usually make me want to roll my eyes. The difference with this book is that Reece actually seems like a grown MAN, and not a silly and stupid and BRAINLESS teenage boy/young man.




    Romance. LOVE. IT. Sophie Jordan does an excellent job of constructing the romance in this book. The growth of the relationship between Reece and Pepper is simplistic and progressive. There is a lust connection at first sight, but it's not insta-love. It's hard to explain, but trust me, it was different in this book.




    So, I suppose you could say that there is a love triangle in this book, since there is Pepper and Reece practicing foreplay, in order for Pepper to snag Mr. Perfect. But... it's not quite your traditional love triangle. The romance dominates this book, but I like the presence of this love triangle, and the romance in this book. Not telling you how things end. Not even HINTING.




    I liked this book. I'll gladly read the second book in this series. We'll see from there!




    What I Did Not Like:




    I still think that most New Adult contemporary romance books that are traditionally published/self-published are pretty formulaic. This book wasn't as bad, in terms of the New Adult contemporary romance skeleton, but bits and pieces were still evident. The "good girl", the "bad boy", intense chemistry... it seems like most New Adult contemporary romance novels feature these aspects, whether on purpose or not.




    But it wasn't as bad, in this book. Maybe because Sophie Jordan is an adult romance writer, and has a fantastic command on the romance aspect of the novel. Somehow, the repetitiveness of the New Adult contemporary romance genre was present but not overwhelming in this book.




    Would I Recommend It:




    This is so strange - me recommending a New Adult contemporary romance book. You all know my track record with NA contemporary romance books. But I would recommend this book to New Adult fans or non-New-Adult fans! I mean, I disliked most of the NA books I read, but I liked this one. That must mean something!




    Rating:




    4 stars. I know, I know, a New Adult contemporary romance that I actually enjoyed! It MUST be pretty good, right? I thought so!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    At the tender age of 12 Pepper was pretty much an orphan. Her fa

    At the tender age of 12 Pepper was pretty much an orphan. Her father had died and her mother abandoned her on the doorstep of her grandmother's house. Ever since she's lived her life according to one goal, end up with Hunter Montgomery, the brother of her best friend. She's seen Hunter as the safe choice, the right choice for where she'd end up in her life. Everything she's done she does it in hopes of him noticing her, not just as his sister's best friend, but as a woman.

    However, Pepper knows she's lacking in certain areas of her life, most noticeably romance. With the help of her friends, Emerson and Georgia, she takes it upon herself to learn the art of foreplay in hopes of snagging Hunter. The friends come up with a sure-fire plan, get Pepper to hook up with Reece, the infamous bartender at a local bar known for doing anything that walks.

    Foreplay is a good book and one I really enjoyed. It was funny, cute, and had the right amount of heat. Pepper is rather likable in that awkward, doesn't know what to do with her life way. She grew up moving around with her mother, hiding from the men her mother brought home, and just plain lonely, at least until she moved in with her elderly grandmother and met her best friend Lila. She doesn't share her past as she's trying her best to run away from it.

    Reece is simply amazing and even he has his own troubled past. His mother died when he was eight and his father was one in name only. When he met Pepper he could tell there was something special about her. He also knew that Pepper was using him but he still wanted to be around her.

    Foreplay could have used a few things though. I liked learning about the two leads and their pasts, but it just seemed too rushed. I wish it was expanded on more, especially Reece's past. I also wish that Reece was in the book more. Yes, I know this is more Pepper's story, but if she was using Reece, he should have been there more! And given how the book ends up, which we can all predict, where was he? Maybe I'm just used to dual POV's now, I don't know. I guess it would have been nice to peek into his psyche and see more than we were given.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Cute

    I enjoyed the story overall. Pepper did get on my nerves a bit at times w/ here continued belief that she just HAD to be with Hunter. But they all got their HEA so still a good read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Hot & Sexy

    Read this book in just one day. Couldn't put it down. Love me some Reece. Can't wait to read the next novel in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Swoon

    Loved it. The only reason i didnt give 5 stars was the ending was kind of rushed and anticlimatic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 As a huge fan of the recent New Adult genre bloom, I was su

    3.5

    As a huge fan of the recent New Adult genre bloom, I was super excited to get to read Sophie Jordan’s New Adult title, FOREPLAY.

    Having read her Young Adults books, I knew I really enjoyed her writing and let’s face it - who can resist this title or cover?!
    Pepper has been secretly in love with her friend’s brother, Hunter, for years. All of a sudden, he is single and she knows she needs to act fast before another girl swoops in and snatches him back off the market. The only problem is that she is a very inexperienced virgin, with only one (badly done) kiss. The solution: take her friend’s advice and go try to find experience with the “easy bartender”, Reece.
    Sounds good, right? I thought so, too. However, I felt like at the 40% mark, Jordan was just letting the two main characters really get to know each other. Up to that point, it seemed as though they were just going around and around and around and around in circles. Also, for some reason, I know Pepper had a troubled past, but her constant self-doubt and lack of confidence – which is normal at any age when dealing with dating – but this was so bad it got to the point that I felt like it was distracting me from concentrating on finding the plot.

    Admittedly, FOREPLAY did pick up around the halfway point and Pepper and Reece FINALLY has to start interaction, apart from small talk, sudden rescues, and the like. They have a great chemistry and it was fun to watch them get to know each other and start to feel the tug at the heartstrings.

    Overall, FOREPLAY was good, but you have to be very patient and wait for the middle of the novel for things to actually get going. While I liked it, I cannot say I loved it and am still debating the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Amazing

    Such a great book. I honestly couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 STARS Foreplay is not the first novel I've read by Sophie J

    4.5 STARS

    Foreplay is not the first novel I've read by Sophie Jordan. However, it's the first new adult book written by her that I've read (her writing is perfect for the new adult genre!), and it's by far my favorite of her books I've read. I just loved it!

    What made me enjoy Foreplay so much was the relationship between Pepper and Reece. It was hot! I felt like I had to fan myself nonstop whenever Reece was around because he was so intense. He was also patient and protective and at times vulnerable. Honestly, I was a bit jealous of Pepper (I want my own Reece!), but she was a great character as well. I liked her personality and understood the reasoning behind the choices that she made. I loved that although Pepper and Reece seemed to be completely different they were actually similar people. They have both gone through rough childhoods, and I'm glad they were able to find each other because they are perfect together and both deserved happiness.

    I wish the last few chapters had the same pace as the rest of the story because I think things were resolved rather quickly. Still, it didn't take away my enjoyment of everything else. And the very end was really sweet! I'm looking forward to reading more new adult novels by Sophie Jordan, including the next book in the Ivy Chronicles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    When I found out that Sophie Jordan was writing a New Adult nove

    When I found out that Sophie Jordan was writing a New Adult novel, I was super excited. I knew she wrote adult novels, so her NA would more than likely be reallllly good! And I was right. Sophie Jordan did not disappoint.
    "'There is more to a relationship than just sex." "Yes, but a relationship sure is better when the sex is good."
    pg. 73
         I'll be honest. when I first found read the synopsis, I wasn't exactly thrilled. I thought it was a weird concept. I thought she was going to be doing different hook-ups until her roommates found her "the perfect teacher." It wasn't exactly something I would have wanted to read. But then I saw the reviews start coming in and saw that that wasn't the case at all. It got me excited for it all over again. And then, the book trailer came out. And let me just tell you, that book trailer made me put this to the very top of my TBR. I NEEDED to know who this Reece was.
    "'What did you tell them? His breath fanned from my lips. "That you're staying the night with me."
    pg. 105
         And then I finally met Pepper and Reece. With Pepper, I HATED her name. (Sorry I just couldn't get over that.) And a lot of the things she did. Maybe it's just me, but I didn't like the fact that she was so scary. But at the same time, I understood it. She was so innocent and didn't know how to go for what she wanted. I wanted her from the very beginning to leave Hunter alone because I felt like he was just there. The first time Reece asked why it HAD to be Hunter and she couldn't answer, I just felt like she was stupid for still pursuing it. And then at the part where she first chose, I thought that was just crazy. By then it was obvious what they felt for each other and she still chose to fight it. Even with all that happened to her, I thought she was nuts to still push him away. But I understood that too. She was just scared. Which is why I loved Emerson. She was the exact opposite and just what Pepper needed to bring her out of her shell. They had a great friendship.
    "'I glanced down and winced at the white cotton panties with tiny yellow kittens on them."
    pg. 132
         And then there's Reece. OMG he was super hot. He had a pierced eyebrow, tattoos, and muscles on top of muscles from what I'm picturing in my head (along with what I saw on the book trailer). And he always knew exactly what to say. Whether to get Pepper all hot and steamy or just to make her feel wanted. And what I loved the most about him, HE WASN'T THE STEREOTYPICAL MAN WHORE that's in ALLLLLL of NA. I really enjoyed that he was really just a normal guy and all he wanted was a normal relationship. His character was more than just the embodiment of sex. He had a bit of a dark past as well. And when the situation finally arose in the book, I hated that I had to see it. I wanted nothing more than to make him understand that it wasn't his fault.
    "'Even sick, he was seducing me. He probably didn't even realize it. It's just what he did. Who he was. How he affected me."
    pg. 145
        As for the romance, it was exiting and super hot. Of course since she's "learning" foreplay, its a slow burning romance between the two of them. And every time they're together, it only gets hotter. I'm not exactly sure how they avoided it for so long, but in the end, when they finally got to it, it definitely set their worlds on fire.
    "'It was as though my body lived and breathed for this. For him."
    pg. 181
         This was a book that I was anticipating for a long time. And although I had some discrepancies, I'm so glad I decided to look past them. Pepper and Reece are wonderful characters and Foreplay will definitely leave you wanting more. Pun intended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    This book was unputdownable for me! Plot: The story is pretty

    This book was unputdownable for me!

    Plot: The story is pretty straightforward, Pepper comes from a dysfunctional family and has been crushing on her best friend's older brother for over 12 years. When he becomes single, Pepper and her friends decide that she needs some more "experience" in order for Hunter to see her as anything more than "my little sister's best friend." In walks Reece, the sexy bartender. I liked the flow of the story, Sophie Jordan gave enough insight about each character to make this love story seem realistic. My only complaint would be the melodramatic ending, but still, it was adorable.

    Characters: Pepper and Reece make my life! They are both 3-dimensional characters with obvious flaws and insecurities. I loved the development of the relationship, from purely sexual to hanging out and getting to know each other. Jordan alsointroduces us to Pepper's friends who are also the stars of the upcoming Ivy Series novels.

    Setting: Pepper is a university student, but I don't think there is a single time that she was in class! Haha, I swear, she went from the coffee shop right to the bar. The only times I was reminded that Pepper was a 19 year old girl was her talk of Halloween parties and RAs.

    Short N Sweet: Foreplay is a sweet love story regarding insecurities and getting what you need, not what you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Great

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Hot!

    Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    One of my favorites in my entire library

    LOVED IT! Very good story, believable characters, hot sex scenes, HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great read can't wait to read next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    DNF

    I could not finish this book. I finished two chapters and knew that Pepper was already going to grate my nerves to the quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Awesome

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I don't even know where to start with this book. I have kind of

    I don't even know where to start with this book. I have kind of been on a contemporary read roll lately. I was not a contemporary reader until very recently. I hadn't found anything I liked and they all seemed the same. But now I see there are some great ones out there, and Jordan's book is no exception. I had heard fabulous things about this and book. While I try to keep an open mind, I've been disappointed with books that have been recommended in this genre and tend to only pick up the ones I want to read. This was definitely one that came recommended that I'm so glad I picked up.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs.
    Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom—take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.
    Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep—with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…




    Let me start off by saying how much I love the cover of this book. It's racey and fun and simple. I love the colors and the position of the models and the feeling sit evokes.




    Pepper, oh Pepper. She's this naive, smart sassy chick. I really loved her and how she handled things. She had this bite to her that I wasn't expecting. I really thought she'd land in the more timid category. But while she was a bit naive in some areas (you can imagine which) in others she was really quick. She didn't miss a come back, she didn't miss an innuendo. It was perfect. She's pining after a guy that is not necessarily good for her, but she thinks he is because he's what safe. She wants safe, but Reece is anything but safe. Their relationship starts off rocky to say the least, it's all about sex, no romance involved. And yet, you still feel a romantic twinge throughout. Pepper's past weighs her down a bit, closes her off to possibilities that she doesn't think would be good for her even if they would help her realize who she really is.




    Reece, well, he's just yummy. He's good looking and sexy and I want to eat him up. He seems like he might be a bit of a bad guy with his tattoos and off putting demeanor, but he's anything but that. He's a good guy whose heart is much bigger than he lets on to the crowd. He's a no nonsense type of guy. Gets right down to the nitty gritty, no if, ands or buts about him. At the same time, he's totally thrown for a loop when he meets Pepper. She's not what he's used to, which is all the girls who come on to him at the bar. But she does want what they all want, him for purely physical reasons. And yet, he allows her into his life. He opens his heart to her. It's instinctual and unexpected and something he doesn't allow. She gets under his skin. He's a mystery that waiting to be peeled open.




    I love the introduction of the secondary characters. I definitely want to get to know them better. As with other stories in this genre, I know Jordan will not disappoint and we'll be seeing them in the future books!




    I think my favorite thing about this book is the honesty, for the most part, that happens between the main characters. They go into their "relationship" without any ties, without thinking it is anything but what it is. And yet, as they spend more time together, getting to know each other intimately, they bond and form a relationship that is so much more than what they meant it to be. 




    And Sophie's writing is so great. It's easily paced, where you just don't want to put the book down (I read it in one sitting) and easy to navigate. She takes this genre and runs with it, providing a deeply romantic and in emotionally based story that grips you from the start. I didn't feel pushed or like there was so much happening I couldn't get a grip on the plot. It was perfect.




    I got very worked up with this book, but I'm pretty sure that's where Jordan was going with it. I wanted to yell, cry, kiss and generally throw it at times. But all these things were for a good reason, the book was amazing. Fans of J. Lynn's Wait for you series or Katie McGarry's Pushing the Limits (yes I know that's YA but it has a similar feel) will totally enjoy Sophie's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is another book that I can't believe I waited so long to re

    This is another book that I can't believe I waited so long to read! Believe it or not, this is only the second of Sophie's books that I've read. After giving the first, Uninvited, five stars and darn near doing the same with this one, I plan to rectify this immediately. 

    Pepper has been in love with her best friend's brother for as long as she can remember. Of course, he's always seen her like more of a little sister than a potential love interest. Now he's newly single and they're at the same university, she plans to find a way to make him hers. But she's naive and inexperienced and, with the urging of her friends, she decides to find someone to help her loosen up and gain some experience. Reece, the hot, tattooed, bad boy bartender with a reputation with the ladies seems like a perfect fit. Of course, the more time Pepper and Reece spend together, the more she begins to question everything she thought she new about him... and she begins to wonder if Hunter really is the guy for her at all. 

    Pepper was a great protagonist. She was innocent, but overly so like in some books I've read. (You know the clichés I'm talking about.) I found her likable and somewhat relatable. She was determined to do whatever it took, regardless of how uncomfortable it made her at times, to get Hunter in the end. Why, I'm not sure, except first loves die hard. If I had a giant hunk of awesome man candy like Reece in front of me, I wouldn't even begin to think about anyone else. Reece was enigmatic. All the rumors Pepper heard about him seem more and more out of character as she begins to get to know him better. I thought he was sweet, sexy and charming... and a far better fit for her than Hunter. Pepper and Reece had a ton of chemistry and while the love scenes weren't over the top, they were pretty sexy. I was honestly invested in these two characters and couldn't wait to see where the story took them next. 

    I actually started Foreplay in audiobook format, but I couldn't think about stopping reading it once I got home from work. I had a copy on my Kindle, too, so I opened it up and absolutely devoured it. I loved these characters. This book was utterly unputdownable. I have an ARC of Tease, the second book in this standalone series, that I'm excited to dive into very soon. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Good

    Great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6