Customer Reviews for

The Forest

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    The Forest is a beautiful book.

    The author brings the forest alive and shows how it interacts with man through-out the centuries. The forest itself supports and preserves life even as man strives to manipulate the resource. A beautiful awesome tale that weaves a wonderful story. I believe that The Forest is the best book written by Mr. Rutherfurd.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Best book I've ever read

    A fantastic novel - touching, heart-warming, heart-breaking. I never wanted to put it down and was genuinely sorry the story was over. Rutherford's descriptions of southern England's New Forest are breath-taking and put the reader right in the midst of the dewy heaths...a crowning acheivement for the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Another Good Read from Rutherfurd

    Once again, Rutherfurd has skillfully blended history with fiction in this companion book to "Sarum". For fans of Rutherfurd, add this one to your collection.

    Sue in Wisconsin

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    A Keeper

    This is one of those books that you don't expect to be as good as it is and as hard to forget. For me, this falls in the same category as Follett's "Pillars of the Earth". I just know that it's one that I want to keep and read again, and again...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Another great book from a master storyteller.

    The Forest is just another example of the rich history that Britain has to offer. Rutherfurd makes you feel as if you are actually an inhabitant and participant of the New Forest. I loved this book just as much as Sarum and London, which were both fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Once won't be enough!

    I initially listened to the abridged audio version in which Lynne Redgrave was absolutely incredible. I was so facinated by the heirloom which travels through the ages and the genology of the families that I now really must read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    Outstanding!

    Excellent novel! Lots of characters presented but I never lost track of a one. On a par with Rutherford's 'London'. Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical fiction

    The New Forest has played a central role in the history of England starting with William using it as a hunting ¿spa¿. It is in the New Forest where William¿s son Rufus is killed under strange circumstances. Throughout the remainder of the millennium, this area has been on center stage almost as much as London has. Even in the present, the locale serves as an example of the modern day debate between development with easy access vs. environmental protection by pushing to name it a national park. In between much happens to members of the English Who¿s Who to include Austen, Drake, and Nelson, etc. <P>Edward Rutherfurd is considered one of the giants of fictionalized history that provides a story telling account centering on real events and people. His latest work THE FOREST will show his talent to educate his audience with a well-written account that spans a thousand years of English history. Though some sections will overwhelm the reader with its vast historical tidbits, sub-genre fans will enjoy this book as much as Mr. Rutherfurd¿s previous works, LONDON and SARUM. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Fiercefire

    " i need time to think" she said as she wipped away her tears

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    BirchDanw

    "Let your heart guide you....." He purred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    SilverClaw

    I understand. I say, softly crying as at camp i cry myself to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Lightiningkit

    Lightiningkit yawned....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Leafkit

    She ran there, hoping her sister was safe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Ashkit

    "Hurry! To slave res six! Quickly!" She said dashing there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    He ran

    Tinykit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Featherkit

    Watches ligjtningkit. Hi there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Abyss

    He waits for Crystalfur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Icereed

    He gasps and cicks about for air, blood filling his lungs. With one last screech his eyes roll back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Tito sapphire

    "Good kitty"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Extus Hazel

    She sits down in a clearing in the forest, not knowing how she got there. Its a cloudy day, but a beam of sunlight shines through the clouds and onto her light brown tabby pelt. Suddenly, her fur starts changing from brown to red-orange. Her paws get bigger and her muzzle gets longer. Oh no! Im changing into a FOX!! She thinks. A red fox with blue eyes scampers hurriedly into the woods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3