Customer Reviews for

The Forest House (Avalon Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    History of Avalon

    This book is about the society of preistesses before Avalon, called The Forest House. It is an amazing story that is tied in with The Mists of Avalon in a very subtle way (That is, until the very end or also in the beginning of Lady of Avalon). The characters stay with you just as much (if not more) than the characters of The Mists of Avalon, hundreds of years away (about 400 I think). However, like The Mists of Avalon, there is an end to old traditions and the beginning of new ones. There is also a common theme of clashing religious traditions, this time being that of Pagan Britain ways and Pagan Roman ways (Christianity plays very, very little in this book). Even though there are some common themes it is still a very different book from The Mists of Avalon and I would reccommend it to anyone, not just fans of the Avalon series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    EXCELLENT!!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was written quite well and the characters were truly intriguing. It would be nice if all authors had her ability. Ther world would be a better place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    An Excellent Book

    After I picked up this book I could not put it down. Marion Zimmer Bradley does a beautiful job at creating a love story in the midst of a time of warring cultures. She has strongly devoloped characters that made me feel their emotions and writing was so descriptive and real I felt like I was watching the scenes right in front of me. This book was one of the best I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Insightful

    This is the first book I read out of the Avalon trilogy and it gave me a fresh perspective about early Britain and pre-Christianity religion. It is an extremely insightful book when you read between the lines!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Leafkit

    She whispered, "where'd they go?!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Tinykit

    Go to res four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Ashkit

    "Idk... but we must stay put. We cant suffer the loss of my cousin..." she whispers remaining alert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Amorette

    ( tucks Maisey in ) Night sweet heart .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    A kit

    She leaps from bolder to boler laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great

    Excellent book for any history buffs out there. Yes, its a novel but it also shows some history of the Romans. I enjoy her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    ?lalaland Lalaland

    After this rating you will have71 ratings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Love MZB!

    I've read and reread Mists of Avalon and love these books about pre-arthurian england.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    Such a great read!

    The Forest House is a wonderful book! Marion Zimmer Bradley did an amazing job in keeping her reader engaged -- so much so that you almost feel what the characters are feeling and you start wondering if what you're reading is truly fictional! There are no slow moments -- you'll never want to put the book down. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    A fantastic Book and Author. Stirs Emotions

    I truely loved this books. After reading 'The Mists Of Avalon' Marion Zimmer Bradley became one of my favorite authors. 'The Forest House' made it official. The way that Bradley combines the strugles of culture and individuals is amazing. I recomend it to anyone who... No just Anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    More like TEN stars!

    I loved this book. I have read all the Avalon books, and they have caused me to become a believer in the Goddess, and far more interested in the religion of the Goddess and the Wiccan religion as well. The absolute love at the center of this book and the Goddess religion spoke to me more than my Christian upbringing ever has. This book may change your life, as it did mine. You will never regret reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    Best Book Ever!!!

    My all time favorite book, an excellent tale of the Druids, Christians, and Romans. Has an excellent mix of Romance, relgion, and history. The characters are well devolped and you feel like you're in the book with them, living this live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3