Customer Reviews for

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Forest of Hands and Teeth Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(313)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

Mary lives in a village surrounded by the Forest of Hands and Teeth.

The Unconsecrated fill the forest, moaning, trying to get into the village, to devour and make more of their own by a single bite, which will spread the infection. They don't give up. They wa...
Mary lives in a village surrounded by the Forest of Hands and Teeth.

The Unconsecrated fill the forest, moaning, trying to get into the village, to devour and make more of their own by a single bite, which will spread the infection. They don't give up. They want to feed.

The Sisterhood holds the secrets of the village, from before the Return. No one knows the truth, except them.

The Guardians protect the village, and make sure the fence holds back the Unconsecrated. The fence is the only barrier between the village and the Forest.

But then, once Mary is forced into the Sisterhood, she learns things that she wishes she hadn't. There is the one section of the fence, which is forbidden; but, it leads somewhere... Mary knows it. But where does it lead?

Mary must choose between her village and what may or may not exist beyond that one gate.

I really enjoyed this book. I was hooked as soon as I started. Mary was a great character. She was strong, and always wanted more than what she had. She kind of reminded me of myself (only a little, though!).

The only thing I didn't like in the story was the ending, only because I wanted to know more! It left me hanging a little, so I don't really know what will happen to Mary.

When THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH comes out in March 2009, I recommend it to everyone. You'll enjoy it. I hope Carrie Ryan writes more books, too - her writing was amazing!

posted by TeensReadToo on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Forest of Hands and Teeth

Mary's life has always been simple: protect your family, follow the Sisterhood, and stay away from the Unconsecrated in the Forest of Hands and Teeth. This is the only life she's ever known: a village surrounded by fences with the large Cathedral dominating every day li...
Mary's life has always been simple: protect your family, follow the Sisterhood, and stay away from the Unconsecrated in the Forest of Hands and Teeth. This is the only life she's ever known: a village surrounded by fences with the large Cathedral dominating every day life. But Mary's mother always told her stories of the ocean and Mary is sure there must be something outside of their tiny village. After the fence is unexpectedly breached and the town is overrun with Unconsecrated, Mary flees with her brother and his wife and her childhood friends Cass, Harry and Travis through a series of gates without any clue as to where they will lead.

Let me start by saying how much I enjoyed Carrie Ryan's writing style: it is filled with beautiful descriptions (including a lovely title) and has a wonderful ebb and flow of action. I also thought her world building was pretty solid and full of interesting ideas - the whole idea of how the village establishes its own customs and religious ideals intrigues me. That said, I could not stand the character of Mary - or really any of the others for that matter. She seemed selfish, immature and seemingly incapable of the love the author keeps telling you she possesses. None of the characters were developed adequately for my tastes and consequently I never understood why she loved Travis so much or why others were drawn to her. Over and over again everyone asks Mary what will make her happy - I got so sick of that question by the end. Mostly because Mary proved time and again that whatever she felt like would make her happy would occur no matter the cost to anyone else. Yuck.
seemichelleread.blogspot.com

posted by SeeMichelleRead on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Forest of Hands and Teeth

    Mary's life has always been simple: protect your family, follow the Sisterhood, and stay away from the Unconsecrated in the Forest of Hands and Teeth. This is the only life she's ever known: a village surrounded by fences with the large Cathedral dominating every day life. But Mary's mother always told her stories of the ocean and Mary is sure there must be something outside of their tiny village. After the fence is unexpectedly breached and the town is overrun with Unconsecrated, Mary flees with her brother and his wife and her childhood friends Cass, Harry and Travis through a series of gates without any clue as to where they will lead.

    Let me start by saying how much I enjoyed Carrie Ryan's writing style: it is filled with beautiful descriptions (including a lovely title) and has a wonderful ebb and flow of action. I also thought her world building was pretty solid and full of interesting ideas - the whole idea of how the village establishes its own customs and religious ideals intrigues me. That said, I could not stand the character of Mary - or really any of the others for that matter. She seemed selfish, immature and seemingly incapable of the love the author keeps telling you she possesses. None of the characters were developed adequately for my tastes and consequently I never understood why she loved Travis so much or why others were drawn to her. Over and over again everyone asks Mary what will make her happy - I got so sick of that question by the end. Mostly because Mary proved time and again that whatever she felt like would make her happy would occur no matter the cost to anyone else. Yuck.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

    Mary lives in a village surrounded by the Forest of Hands and Teeth. <BR/><BR/>The Unconsecrated fill the forest, moaning, trying to get into the village, to devour and make more of their own by a single bite, which will spread the infection. They don't give up. They want to feed. <BR/><BR/>The Sisterhood holds the secrets of the village, from before the Return. No one knows the truth, except them. <BR/><BR/>The Guardians protect the village, and make sure the fence holds back the Unconsecrated. The fence is the only barrier between the village and the Forest. <BR/><BR/>But then, once Mary is forced into the Sisterhood, she learns things that she wishes she hadn't. There is the one section of the fence, which is forbidden; but, it leads somewhere... Mary knows it. But where does it lead? <BR/><BR/>Mary must choose between her village and what may or may not exist beyond that one gate. <BR/><BR/>I really enjoyed this book. I was hooked as soon as I started. Mary was a great character. She was strong, and always wanted more than what she had. She kind of reminded me of myself (only a little, though!). <BR/><BR/>The only thing I didn't like in the story was the ending, only because I wanted to know more! It left me hanging a little, so I don't really know what will happen to Mary. <BR/><BR/>When THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH comes out in March 2009, I recommend it to everyone. You'll enjoy it. I hope Carrie Ryan writes more books, too - her writing was amazing!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    not for me.

    There are some writers who use violence to communicate powerful messages about society. A prominent example of violence and gore done right can be found in books like The Hunger Games, The Lord of the Flies, and the short stories of Kelly Link. The Forrest of Hands and Teeth, however, roots itself in gratuitous gore and endless (bordering on obnoxious) violence. This story could have been better communicated, I think, in the form of a looming threat, or presence, than in chapters littered with beheadings. Fortunately, none of the characters were so interesting I minded when they got sacked. Mary's endless yammering about the ocean was also a little bit too contrived for me. Also, Mary is so self-centered I'm not sure how she convinces anyone to go along with her plan to see the ocean. The end of this book is unsatisfying as well, not because it's an unhappy ending (though, to be sure, this is quite an unhappy ending) but because it was so predictable. If you've seen M. Night Shymalan's The Village, and pretty much any zombie movie ever made, then this book will feel redundant. Themes like love, longing, coming of age, etc., are lost in an ocean of salivating zombies. Excuse me, in an ocean of the "unconsecrated". As a middle school girl (and even a high school girl), the imagery in this book would have given me nightmares. I like it when a book leaves me awake at night thinking about characters and themes. This one leaves you awake at night because it was so violent for no real reason. This was a major let down for me. The one positive I found is that, at times, Carrie Ryan's voice felt unique. I won't be reading any more of her novels in regards to this series, but I would be willing to try other books written by her in the future. However, I wish I'd known more about it before I bought it, as it was a waste of money for me. I would recommend borrowing this book before you buy it. I would definitely not recommend it for younger readers (sometimes I see this book marketed as "a love story". Trust me when I say any semblance of romance is secondary to mass amounts of gore and whiny characters.)

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Rather than discovering a world torn apart by zombies, I was treated to a first class tour of Mary's neuroses. She's afraid! She's lonely! She hates herself! She hates everyone else! She loves Travis! If only she could have Travis! But Travis isn't enough! And always, harping in the background of every other page is her talisman for escape, The Ocean! The Ocean! The Ocean!

    The more emotional Mary got, the less I cared about her. And when she felt burdened by her own hope? I'm sorry, but *why* am I reading this? Mary doesn't learn anything about herself or the world that she didn't at least suspect at the start of the book. And all the interesting aspects of her world---the Sisterhood, the fences, the nature of the Unconsecrated, even the concept of community---were passed over in favor of the mire of Mary's angst.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Forest of Despair and Unanswered Questions

    This book is told from the perspective of Mary, a young woman growing up in a small, isolated village surrounded by a fence that keeps the unrelenting zombies out. But they are not called zombies in this book (in fact the word zombie never mentioned), but rather the Unconsecrated. Trust me, they are true zombies. They eat flesh and babies and everything. Anyway, Mary grows up believing that her village, run by the dubious Sisterhood that claims that their little pocket of humanity amidst the formidible forest is the last of mankind. Mary, of course, questions this and is not content with her future as a member of the Sisterhood or married to man she doesn't love. Instead, she dreams of the ocean and the other stories her mother used to tell her of generations long gone.

    From the first chapter, Mary's life is turned upside down. Her father walks among the dead, and her mother goes to join him. She is turned away by her brother and is sent to live in the Cathedral with the Sisterhood, which has well-kept secrets in every room.

    This book is very well-written. Fluid and suspenseful, I had a hard time putting it down. While it did have some zombie-slaying action, it wasn't the focus of the book. Instead what kept me going was the sense of mystery and doom. Nothing good ever happens to Mary and the questions just kept coming with little-to-none answers. Mary was an unreliable narrator and a little crazy. All what the reader sees is first filtered through her eyes. She selfishly clung on to her dream of the ocean and refused to settle for anything less, even when it cost her the people she cared about. But hey, she is still one of the few chracters alive at the end, and the only one with a chance at a life, so she must have been doing something right. The rest of the characters wouldv'e gotten eaten long ago if Mary wasn't there to drive them.

    This book is severely creepy, what with zombies relentlessly moaning in the background. I got skeeved out in a couple scenes (zombie baby). Like I said earlier, nothing good really happens at all. This book isn't for the faint at heart as it can be somewhat depressing. But I still found it intelligent and refreshing. It's so nice to read a young adult novel without a saintly narrator and a perfectly happy ending.

    My least favorite part of it though was the love triangle? rectangle? I don't know what to call it. But the gist of it is Mary is in love with Travis. Travis is in love with Mary, but is engaged to Mary's best friend, Cass. Cass is in love with Harry, but Harry is engaged to Mary. Harry likes Mary, but I wouldn't call it love. I think he just wants a wife. Oh, and Travis and Harry are brothers. It's just a mess of duty and love. No one wants to marry who they are supposed to, but feel like they have a duty to do so. So, its complicated without ever being really interesting. I never really saw what was so great about Travis. Mary nursed him and her previous crush on him turned into full out love (or so she says). This might sound weird, but I could never tell when they were kissing or not. The scenes between them were written oddly, and I kept thinking they were kissing, but later on in the page I was proved wrong. Their lips were just really close together and they were almost kissing. My bad.

    Anyway, despite some personal preferences and little annoyances, this book was really good. Not for everyone, but I recommend everyone try it. Looking forward to The Dead-Tossed Waves

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good idea although unoriginal. Ruined by god awful characters and bad writing.

    The characters in this story are completely stereotypical. The handsome boy that the female lead falls for, the childhood friend who secretly loves the female lead and the weak willed best friend who will end up betraying her best friend becuase she is driven mad by jealously. The chracters in this book made me sick the female lead repeatedly made the stupidest decisions for love and refused to see logic in anything and was way to emotionally attached to trivial things. The author tried to instill emotional depth into the story but it feels forced especially after she continues to kill off one chracter after another in basically the same way each time. The author also tried to make a strong independent female lead but she failed miserably. She is horribly indesicive and oftentimes is unable to do anything without being strengthend by the love that she feels for Travis, a love that make basically no sense as they dont even talk to each other for most of the book. Oh wait that's supposed to be true instantaneous love that has no explanation and makes no sense. All in all decent story but the characters were atrocious and what was supposed to be a emotionally driven story was weak and uninteresting.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing Dystopia

    I am a big fan of young adult dystopian novels. I've read a lot of them, and I was excited to read The Forest of Hands and Teeth because I heard it was a good one. Unfortunately, I was in for a surprise. I found this novel to be boring and lacking in realistic character development. Moreover, the writing style just didn't speak to me.

    The premise of this book is that the apocolypse already happened on Earth and it was brought about by the creation of zombies. Mary lives in a village that holds the last of humankind. The village is protected from the Forest of Hands and Teeth by a fence that the Gaurdians- selected men of the village- maintain. The Forest is where the zombies reside and are trying to come in from, and it is all that's left of the outside world. Mary comes to realize that the fence not only effectively keeps out the the zombies but traps everyone in her village in a limited world. When she becomes an apprentice to the Sisterhood- the group of women who run the village- she finds out that these women keep secrets and there's more to the outside world than she's been led to believe.

    I read two-thirds of The Forest of Hands and Teeth and I confess to skimming the rest. The story developed painfully slowly and by the time things started to happen I wasn't invested. Mary was a heroine who annoyed me. During perilious situations with life or death consequences she was constantly whining in her narration about her romantic problems. She proved herself to be selfish again and again, only caring about what would make her happy and disregarding others' feelings. The love triangle present in the story took up too much time in this book that was supposedly a postapocalyptic tale and the romance was emphasized more than the dangers of the flesh eating zombies. If you're looking for a good futuristic story, skip this one. I would recommend Suzanne Collins's Hunger Games Trilogy or Scott Westerfeld's Uglies series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Tween Romance

    The Forest of Hands and Teeth / 978-0-375-89197-7 I really like zombie literature, and I was really excited to pick up this novel. I was intrigued when one reviewer compared the setting to a combination of "The Village" and "Resident Evil", so I was prepared to like this book when I settled in with the audio book and the e-book, ready to follow along. Two hundred and thirty-three pages later, I'm at a loss. I guess I'm not the right audience for this book, despite how strongly I was hooked by the premise; I'm not sure who IS the right audience for this book, but it puts me in mind of all the "paranormal romance" books that the " The Twilight Saga" has spawned. Against all odds, this book is a terribly slow starter. Unlike other recent "teen" novels, like "The Hunger Games", very little happens in the first 100 pages outside of world building and character establishment. Both show initial promise but ultimately bear rough edges - the zombie premise contains major gaps (like why a village with safety-platforms would fail to keep said platforms stocked with food and weapons and other necessities - this ultimately becomes a major plot point, in fact), and the characterization feels shallow to the point where most of the characters seem like unrealistic stereotypes of teenage angst. When the general zombie mayhem that was promised on the back of the box does finally occur, it's almost on sufferance - *any* sense of adventure and danger is immediately quaffed to make room for more love-quadrangle discussions. The plot of this book is basically Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream", but instead of fairies propelling the action forward, a zombie very occasionally pops up to say 'boo'. And this is, fundamentally, very disappointing to me - there's lots of novels out there that center around the complications of teen romance, even under a variety of unusual, difficult, and/or post-apocalyptic conditions, so adding this one as one more tween romance on the pile feels disappointing, and a criminal waste of a good premise. Wishing no disrespect to the author, a lot of the writing feels very amateur - the main character's running narration repeats itself frequently, and the same relatively minor details crop up repeatedly across the chapters. When reading along with the audio book, I kept finding myself saying, "You just said that, two pages ago!", and it makes the already slow, dreamy pace feel like a crawl. When the zombies *do* occasionally force themselves into the action, it's almost a relief, because then the main characters can stop arguing incessantly over their romance problems. A final word about the audio book - it feels like the narrator herself found this book deathly dull, as the audio just seems to plod along without much in the way of animation or inflections. The narrator does a nice accent for the character of Sister Tabitha, but everyone else has the same monotonous tone, with no emotional inflections, and even the breathing and pausing seemed a little 'off'. If you like paranormal or post-apocalyptic teen romances, then I think you may really enjoy this book - it's an interesting premise, to be sure. But if you came for the zombie mayhem or for the post-apocalyptic world building, I think you'll be disappointed and may do better to look elsewhere. ~ Ana Mardoll

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Omg

    I love ths book! I recomend to anyone who wants a good book to read! I Love this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Theres really nothing to like about this book :( :(

    I hated this book. The main character, Mary was weak, selfish and dramatic. In the beggining of this book mary and her friends have to run away from their village becuz it is gettining attacked by zombies. When marys brother tells her that his wife got bitten she goes all drama on him and yells that he has to kill her. And when he finally does shes happy that shes dead. Even tho i HATED mary all.the characters loved her amd died for her. Three people die for her by the end of the story!!!! When the group reaches a path that mary thinks will help them find the ocean she goes by herself (and with her brother who dies.) She ends up finding the ocean but shes not even happy about it shes basically is emotionless cuz shes not even mourning her friends and her brothers death. No offense to the people who liked this book but i thought it was one of the books that i think i would lead a happier life not reading it. I love distopian books but this was terrible. I reccomed Matched by ally condie, divergent by veronica roth, the hunger games by susan collins, uglies by scott westerfeld, delirium by lauren oliver, and witched and wizard by james patterson. I absolutely hated this book. I cant help but think about how bad it was all the time. I wish i could rewind time and tell myself not to read it. I DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS BOOK!!!! i read it a couple weeks ago but i keep having nightmers about it!!!! Not a good distopian!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Wow!!!!!

    This book was just amazing! From beginning to end you want more more more. I love this!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it, depressing but excellent.

    I understand why most people would not like this book, they are too used to happy endings, I am not going to go into detail but just from the first chapter you could tell this wasnn't going to have a fairy tale ending. While reading this I found that Mary had a tendecy to go over the sames things over and over, an example is the ocean in almost every chapter she always said something about it. I undestand why, it being one of the few hopes and dreams she has left. I admire Carrie Ryan for writing this book for the simple fact that she wasn't afraid of killing of characters like most authors are. She wasn't afraid about wether or not people would understand the neccesity of making this the dark book it was. This is a excellent and fast read I read it all in a day. I loved that even though her world was turned upside down Mary still had a tiny bit of hope. Again excellent book, if you are not into books that don't have happy endings I don't recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    READ NOW BEFORE YOU BUY!

    I enjoy reading. Books like The Giver,Divergent, and Maximum Ride all, in my opinion, are wonderfully constructed and are high up there on my list. So now you can see that im not a book critic or some crazy lunitac just looking to release my anger by hating on a random book. But this book is extremely bad. I read the summary on the back cover and was instantly filled with thoughts of an exciting adventurous book with a tinge of romance. WRONG. What i got instead was indead a great plot, but it had fallen into the hands.of the wrong author who twisted the.story, ruined the characters, and turned the whole thing into a underdeceloped childrens story. Mary, the maim character, falls in love with-ugh i dont even know where to start. The author tried too hard to make an interesting love triangle with mary, where in reality mary would not have any friends. Her only dream is to see the ocean, and she goes to terrifying, mind bending lengths to pursue it. By this i mean she kills off the love of her life, her loving mom, and her only brother. I mean seriously, by the time she reaches the "ocean" (filled with throngs of the undead and severed heads) she has no one. Guess shell just make sand castles by herselves while the unconsecrated eat her flesh. Anyway im not going to bore everyone to death rambling on and on about why this book should not be read. So take it imto your own hands whether you want to read it. And if you do, well, good luck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Please read before buying!!!!

    This book constantly contridicts itself, gives off no emotion and does not have good character development. Mary is not a likeable character at all and causes destruction chasing her selfish wants. The author also has a tendancy to not give details in some parts and give too many in others. For example, her brother is described in great detail spitting on the ground, while she describes months in no detail in one sentance. Also, some parts of the story make you wonder why they even happened. For example, the main character walks into a house sees an unconsecrated (zombie) baby, cradles it and wraps it in a blanket, and then throws it out the window. Whhhhyyyyy??!?!? To make it worse, the romance it completely unexplained and has no reason behind it whatsoever. Overall, there are a bunch of events in the book that don't lead up to the ending at all. I understand that there are other books after it, but nothing was acheived the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Good book

    I thought this was a good book but it seemed a little slow at times. It also reminded me of "The Village" in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Sci fi fan

    Ok, this book was very very scary. It gave me nightmeres, once i read about seven chapters one night. But besides the scary part it was a wonderful postapocolyptic book and anyone who likes to read sci fi would love it. But honestly i felt so bad for mary. She had to marry in her teen years and the guy who wanted her was a guy that she did not like back, they are at a lake of some sort and harry just keeps stalling and stalling her when she finally goes back to town she finds out her mother was bitten and infected by the uncosecrated and she was dying, surrounding this sad little village is a gate and beyond that gate is the forest of hands and teeth and many mysteries and possibly an ocean that mary feels as thogh she must find it, many more scary and depressing things happen so please read it unless u r scared of having nightmeres

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Not good

    Not good

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Loved

    This book was awesome! I dont really like "zombie" books ( love zombie movies) but this one (all 4) have horror but also love and family. Everyone should read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Haunting and Emotional - Way More Than Just a Zombie Story

    The Forest of Hands and Teeth lies at the edge of the Village that Mary has lived in her whole life. Surrounded by fence, trees, and the Unconsecrated has forced Mary into a lifetime of fear lingering under the surface of every emotion she has ever felt. After her Mother is turned, Mary's life takes a turn she never imagined and she begins to learn the secrets of the Sisterhood and just what lies beyond the Forest.

    Carrie Ryan has this astounding ability to write about zombies, but to do so in a beautifully haunting way. Nothing about this book is quite as it seems and I was instantly pulled into Mary's world of fear and despair. It is so much more than just a zombie story. It's a story about hope and faith and love and loss.

    Ryan writes with such fervor that Mary's journey past the fences feels so real, like the reader is stumbling along with her, hearing the moans of the Unconsecrated and feeling the hope seep out as the days carry on. The fact that this story is so strongly about staying true to oneself, breaking free from the expectations of a devoutly religious society, finding and holding on to love and family, while holding zombies at bay by the fences, is incredible. Not many people would be able to include so many pieces of a puzzle and fit them together so flawlessly, but Ryan does.

    I was entirely unprepared for the depth and emotion that poured forth from the pages of The Forest of Hands and Teeth. At times haunting, at times terrifying, but above all else, this book is filled with life; in good times, bad times, times of joy, times of despair, and times when hope triumphs over even the worst circumstances.

    Opening line: My mother used to tell me about the ocean. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line(s): I sob because this is not a life. This is not the way life should be and because I don't know how to fix any of it. ~ pg. 50

    And this one:

    It is a bright clear day, the sun sparkling off the ice crystals. One of those days when you can't understand why there is such beauty in a world that is nothing but ugly. ~ pg. 69

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Zombie Apocalypse

    When I first read this book, I had no idea that it would be about a zombie apocalypse. I absolutely loved the characters and the story. I loved how even though the book was basically a horror movie in a book format, it added some romance as well. I couldn't wait to read the companion. I absolutely loved this book, loved it. After I picked it up, I ripped through the pages. It was beautifully written and I would love to see more from Carrie Ryan. I think it was brilliant to write about a topic that really draws attention to most teenagers, like myself. I wouldn't recommend this book to people who aren't great with gore. Even though you can't see it, Carrie Ryan does an amazing job to make it seem so real. I would definitely reread this book and I highly recommend reading it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33