Customer Reviews for

The Foretelling

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read for teens and adults alike

With the intriguing premise of being set among an Amazon tribe, I couldn't say no when a co-worker suggested this book. Hoffman writes a gripping story about bravery, survival, coming of age, finding one's identity, inner strength and a touch of love and understanding. ...
With the intriguing premise of being set among an Amazon tribe, I couldn't say no when a co-worker suggested this book. Hoffman writes a gripping story about bravery, survival, coming of age, finding one's identity, inner strength and a touch of love and understanding. The author obviously put in some anthropological research to provide a great feel and believable atmosphere for the story. With a relatable protagonist and themes this was a wonderful read! A definite gem among young adult lit section.

posted by Vesper on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Coming of Age Story Amazon Style!

The first words: "I was born out of sorrow, so my mother named me Rain." This sets the book up for a short and lyrical coming of age story through the eyes of Rain as one of the legendary Amazon sisters. Rain's birth was anything but joyous because it was born out of ga...
The first words: "I was born out of sorrow, so my mother named me Rain." This sets the book up for a short and lyrical coming of age story through the eyes of Rain as one of the legendary Amazon sisters. Rain's birth was anything but joyous because it was born out of gang rape, so her mother shunned her. As she grows she learns everything she can about life of the Amazons. For knowledge is power and she much know how the whole society runs. She excels in horse training and riding and becomes as her grandmother, a true sister of the horse. Because she is a queen-to-be and also because her mother shuns her, she is set apart and often travels alone. These adventures with the advice from one of their most wise and psychic priestesses, Deborah, help her to see that what is beyond their borders is not all evil. Not all to be shunned. This becomes the beginning of her quest to becoming her true self, including her questions about if she wants to even be queen.

I think this book is a quick and interesting fictional look into a culture that did exist many moons ago (hey, got to get into character here). However, it really is a look at one girl's life as she questions and learns and grows into her own wisdom and seeks the courage to become what she should become. There are references of rape, and sex, but it is not done in a graphic way and dealt with in a way that would make sense at that time. I give this book 3 1/2 stars.

Loved this quote from the book: "The weak are cruel: the strong have no need to be."

posted by Trebble on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read for teens and adults alike

    With the intriguing premise of being set among an Amazon tribe, I couldn't say no when a co-worker suggested this book. Hoffman writes a gripping story about bravery, survival, coming of age, finding one's identity, inner strength and a touch of love and understanding. The author obviously put in some anthropological research to provide a great feel and believable atmosphere for the story. With a relatable protagonist and themes this was a wonderful read! A definite gem among young adult lit section.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Wow

    One of the most bizarre (and best)books ive ever read. It certainly does leave an impact on you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Excellent

    A short but meaning-packed novel. Well-writen story. Worth the read for young women and adults alike. Very touching and gives you a lot to think about. A quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A child born in sorrow

    Women who war against men, slice off a breast so they may become better archers,
    carry on the population with drug induced orgies that often end in the death of their mates, is hard to accept. But, when one considers the fact that women are routinely raped, beaten and mutilated in third world countries and even here in the U.S. it does seem fitting that women should take on the face of the warrior. The heroine Rain, a child of rape, is born into sorrow. In this richly imagined coming of age story she achieves self-actualization, female empowerment and acceptance of self-life lessons we all must learn, male or female.

    www.LindaBallouAuthor.com
    Wai-nani, High Chiefess of Hawaii
    Lost Angel Walkabout-One Traveler's Tales

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    In this intense yet complicated fantasy story, Rain attempts to gain her mother's notice and acceptance by being the best of warriors in their Amazonian tribe. The product of a rape when her mother, Alina, wasn't much more than a child herself, it is hard to gain the Queen's approval. Although Rain knows that she's been raised by Deborah, the wise priestess, to one day be Queen herself, she also pays attention to Deborah's promises of a much grander destiny. <BR/><BR/>Rain doesn't totally understand the Queen's desire to so thoroughly destroy her enemies, even though her own cousins, Astella and Asteria, are two of the fiercest warriors in the tribe. When Alina takes Penthe as her companion, and Penthe's daughter Io seeks to be Rain's sister, matters become even more complicated. Rain wants nothing more than to ride her horse, Sky, to garner her mother's approval, to earn the place as rightful Queen that will someday come upon her. <BR/><BR/>On her first journey alone, Rain comes upon a bear cub, which she takes back to camp. She names him Usha, and together with Io the two girls raise the cub as if he were a horse. Although Rain and Io soon discover the mistake of doing so, it's too late--Usha is killed in battle, and Rain still doesn't have the love and acceptance of her mother. <BR/><BR/>THE FORETELLING is a coming-of-age story set in a fantastical land of the Amazons. Rain is a compelling character who, although she tries so hard to be vicious and fierce like her fellow tribe-members, always leans more towards peace for all men and compassion towards her enemies. <BR/><BR/>Not to be missed by lovers of fantasy stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    An oustanding novel, about growing up!

    The Fortelling, is Alice Hoffman at her best. Short, sweet, and to the point. You feel like you are part of the book. Even though it is set in ancient times, as a teenager I can relate to Rains' emotions. I most definatly suggest reading this, and other Alice Hoffman titles!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Coming of Age & Female Empowerment Novel

    This novel is set in a time where a nation of women are feared warriors who never lose a battle to invaders because of one unique advantage: they have domesticated wild horses to ride into battle. Rain is born by the Queen, a woman who has no desire to interact or associate with her daughter at all. These women never question their lifestyle; it's what it always has been and they have no need for mercy, compassion, or protection from men. But Rain is different: as she grows up, she is plagued by dreams of a black horse. In their culture this is a foretelling of death, and when the "black horse" comes to them, Rain makes a choice that will forver change how she views her world. The story is an intriguing tale told from a unique first person perspective of Rain, who is an independent, strong-willed young woman who struggles to find her place as the Queen-to-be. A definite must-read for horse lovers and young adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Not a bad book

    Not a bad book but I won't reread it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    A Wondeful Read

    I read this book in three hours!!! It is a short, but amazingly compelling story about the search for self. It speaks about suffering, lonliness and loss, but also about the beauty of self-realization. A very empowering read. Truly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Non-stop read!!!

    OMG.. i loved this book..when i finished i turned the page to see if there was more..i was so sad to find out there wasn't!!!...i would recommand this book to anybody..great job to Alice..this was a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I' havent yet finished but I love how she brings you into another world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Depressing and Beatiful at the Same Time

    I just love this book. It is amazing. I love Rain's journey of finding herself and figuring out if she's ready to become the queen or not. Alice Hoffman is just fantastic at weaving the words together, that I actually felt like Rain was my sister. Although some things in this book are a little, well, gross, it is still wonderful and I would recommend this book to anyone. (Also read Incantation by Alice Hoffman... It's even better.) Well... happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    The Fortelling, a masterpiece

    We really loved this book. It gives a mood of sorrow and pain, but also a mood of glory and pride. It is interesing how the people acted with eachother and how Rain felt about what her people did in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In this intense yet complicated fantasy story, Rain attempts to gain her mother's notice and acceptance by being the best of warriors in their Amazonian tribe. The product of a rape when her mother, Alina, wasn't much more than a child herself, it is hard to gain the Queen's approval. Although Rain knows that she's been raised by Deborah, the wise priestess, to one day be Queen herself, she also pays attention to Deborah's promises of a much grander destiny. Rain doesn't totally understand the Queen's desire to so thoroughly destroy her enemies, even though her own cousins, Astella and Asteria, are two of the fiercest warriors in the tribe. When Alina takes Penthe as her companion, and Penthe's daughter Io seeks to be Rain's sister, matters become even more complicated. Rain wants nothing more than to ride her horse, Sky, to garner her mother's approval, to earn the place as rightful Queen that will someday come upon her. On her first journey alone, Rain comes upon a bear cub, which she takes back to camp. She names him Usha, and together with Io the two girls raise the cub as if he were a horse. Although Rain and Io soon discover the mistake of doing so, it's too late--Usha is killed in battle, and Rain still doesn't have the love and acceptance of her mother. THE FORETELLING is a coming-of-age story set in a fantastical land of the Amazons. Rain is a compelling character who, although she tries so hard to be vicious and fierce like her fellow tribe-members, always leans more towards peace for all men and compassion towards her enemies. Not to be missed by lovers of fantasy stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    A Compelling Read

    Filled with love, loss, and war, this story captivates readers and holds onto them with a firm bear paw till the very end. It's powerful and moving in showing the life of a girl turned woman-warrior, to be more specific, a girl by the name of Rain. Alice has such an imaginative mind that always satisfies the eager eyes of readers. Although the ending leaves you hungry for more, the story itself is still enjoyable. It's also a quick-read. Highly reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Absolutely outstanding.

    I truly enjoyed reading this book, once I picked it up I could not put it down, finishing it in one night. This is the first book I have read by Alice, and it will not be the last. One of, if not the best, tales concerning amazons I have ever read. Moving with a fast pace, yet, explaining the details superbly. This book is now one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Foretelling

    Especially enjoyed the book because it showed the way people gather strength and courage through hardship and transformation. And also showed the wisdom that is passed to each generation. Overall, inspiring for young readers (and old readers, as well). Although it occurs in a different place and time, its theme can be applied to present day life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    Foretelling

    A good story captures truth. Each sentence is delicately balanced each word 'tells'. This one's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Very good, a wonderful book.

    When I first heard about this book I though 'I know this book won't even amout to GREEN ANGEL', but surprizingly it did..... Alice Hoffman takes you along on Rain's journey to self-discovery. It is VERY good, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good book. Props to Alice Hoffman for a great coming-of-age book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    amazing

    alice hoffman writes amazing stories. this story is just one example. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3