Customer Reviews for

Forever . . .

Average Rating 4
( 747 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

loved this book!!!!!

this book is defiantly one of the best books i have ever read! i passed it round to my friends and about 20 of us read it in about 4 weeks. did not like the ending very much so my friends and i wrote out own endings in the book. this book is not for people under the age...
this book is defiantly one of the best books i have ever read! i passed it round to my friends and about 20 of us read it in about 4 weeks. did not like the ending very much so my friends and i wrote out own endings in the book. this book is not for people under the age of 13. my mother wanted to read it after me so i just told her i lost it at school because she probably would of taken it away. a great read. a little much for a Judy Blume novel but still loved it and especially Ralph!!lol

posted by jb-_straight_up on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

good yet bad

this book uses many discriptive words...it's like teen porn??..very descriptive..i overall liked it.yet i was very disturbed ...anyone under 15 should NOT read this book....

posted by Anonymous on November 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Haven't Read It Yet

    I want to read it now after what happened in math class.

    ...hehehe...

    A girl in my class had this book with her, and the teacher saw it and showed it to the class, my teacher laughed, and so did everyone in the class, even the girl who had it!

    It was the cover that made everyone laugh.

    "What are you reading?" our teacher said in a jokeing way.

    Yeah so I just wanted to say that story because it's funny

    I want to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Catholic Girl Confession

    Almost thirty years ago this was "the book" that was being passed around between the girls at my Catholic middle school. I don't remember who it was that got busted by a nun with this, but I sure am glad it wasn't me! I would not recommend this book for any one younger than 15. Subject matter and graphic descriptions are not appropriate for the younger reader. This was an OK read, but not the best that Judy Blume has to offer. I recommed "Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great" or "Are you There God? It's Me, Margaret."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    Good book, but not her best.

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was well written and very captivating. The ending kind of upset me, but overall it was good. Not Judy Blume's best, but still an intresting book and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    Not That Good

    The book had a good story line and all but after reading the ending i felt like i just wasted my time becuz it wasnt how i thought it would end and had a complete twist which i bet no one expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Cheezy and Boring

    All in all it was a pretty good book. I tiny bit cheezy for my taste though. Its one of the books that your suppose to relate to but it was almost TOO relateable that it was slightly boring and in a way, stupid. And the sex scenes are really detailed. Also, when there was dialogue it almost never addressed who was talking so i would keep having to go back and check who was suppose to be talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Hmmmmmm...

    I have read better. She had a great, terrific even, book going... until she ended it differently than I expected. Very inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Disturbing!

    this book was wayy too graphic. and Judy blume be putting her words ou there! girlfriend is discripitive when it comes to K and M. The ending was good because M was a little too pervy and that boy theo sounded F-I-N-E! Overall it would be better withouthout the dirty details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Controversial and Intriguing

    For my young adult literature class, we were to pick a book that has been challenged, banned, or censored. As I was deciding what to read, Blume¿s Forever kept popping up. I went to the bookstore and read it the following morning. The book was a quick and easy read (middle school reading level), the material kept your attention, and the novel contained issues that teens deal with. My caution is this: the material is very explicit and an adult should probably discuss what happens in the book. If I was a parent, I wouldn¿t feel comfortable giving this book to my teenage daughter. If she did choose to read it, I would make sure we talked about the issues in the book and let her know what I thought was appropriate. The book does show two aspects that are to be respected. First, the teenager in the book takes a proactive role in her life and goes to Planned Parenthood. This element of the book can be debated however, it shows that if one thinks they are ready for sex, then certain steps need to be taken. Second, the book shows the intense commitment that comes with becoming sexually active. Although the morals taught are not aligned with mine, I would never ban a book. Judy Blume¿s Forever is honest with the pressures of being sexually active in high school. With the novel being written in 1975, elements of the sexual revolution are prevalent. This book is definitely for older teens and for those who can make their own moral decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! it was so good like i cant ever tell you... until the last like 20 pages. i hated the ending. it was the worst ending ever. im not saying i wanted it to be all fake and unreal like most books are i just wanted it to end a different way. i was completely crushed! die theo. but otherwise this book was really great. it was a true story about first loves. it was more real and could actually happen. hated the ending loved the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was okay, but it wasn't that great. But somehow, I wish I were Katherine, the girl in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    i read this book in 1 hour(i know, i can't believe it either). when i was looking through it at the bookstore, it looked really interesting but when i read it, it wasn't. it was just too explicit. it is disgusting in some ways. i also can't believe she's only seventeen and she's doing 'it' with a boy she met at a party. this story just doens't seem right. i DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. and also, don't let anyone younger than, i would say, 13 read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    was ok

    i read this book in 3 days..i was a great, quick read, but i think it could have done without a couple of the characters..and i didn't like the fact that sometimes Micheal was a little controlling and mean when Katherine was so sweet to him..and nothing bothers me more than when u finish the book and it does not give u a good idea of whats going to happen, and thats exactly what this book did! BUT all in all it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Good, but not entertaining.

    I thought this book was informative and intense, but it wasn't entertaining.I did like this book, and would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    I will agree..

    True, this book is a bit graphic, but it demonstrates something very realistic. I'm not so much of a big fan of this because this book wasn't really in-depth with the thoughts of the narrator. I thought most of the stuff were pretty straight forward. I mean, it's a good teen read but not something I would favor so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    It was....okay

    this book was ok but it wasnt the best i have ever read. It is a little to intence and sexual. I only recommend this for girls over the age of 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Ok

    My friend and I read this book when we were 11. The book was very intense. It was ok, but some parts are not ok for people under 13. But it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    HOW peverted is this?

    I am sorry to say this to all that loved the book but I hated it. The fact that it is complety graphic and that although Katherine says shes in love it really does seem that Michael has only one thing in mind. Talk about obssesion I mean the boy wants to do it everywhere...and wut concept those this book leave on people that your first love will turn out to be a total porn fest?...How irritating that she gave up so much just to deside at the end hmmm gee maybe ur not the one for me and so this goes to question will she also go and do the next guy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Not Blume's best

    The plot is enthralling. What teenager DOESN'T like to read about sex? Blume was on the right track in writing this novel. It's something I do believe every teenage girl ought to read. Kath clearly has morals and is a pretty good kid. But that seems to be where it stops. Where's her personality? I see her lacking in that area. She appears to lack luster to me, as does Michael even more. Though his physical appearance is described in detail, you never quite know what he's like on the inside. Sorry, but I get the impression he's just plain horny and nothing else. I do think he loves Kath and that she loves him back, but I also think he pushed her a little into having sex with him. At any rate, the characters are boring, lusterless, and lacking depth, as are their friends. Good plot though - that indeed is what will make you want to read this over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Realistic story, but...

    This book made me cry when I was on my period. Other times, it makes me laugh. I dunno, I guess I find it funny that Michael isn't that 'big' and that they met at a fondue party. Guess those were popular in the '70s. The story itself is captivating and somewhat graphic. I'd recommend it to someone who's at least 12, probably 13 would be better. I read it at 13. Like I said, the story is real but the characters are bland, lacking luster and life. The conversations go...like...this and I...get...the...impression that they never quite know what to say. If you've read the book, you should know what I mean. So the story is nice, I've read it millions of times and probably will again but the characters are blah. I thought characters like Steph Hirsch, Deenie, and Davey had more life in Blume's other books. But I would still recommend this one. The ending seems all too real as well, daunting yet depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    When Forever isn't Forever

    Judy Blume has always been a great storyteller and Forever is no exception, however, I think the message is a little fuzzy. The couple has sex and though they feel it's forever, it doesn't last. The part that really bothered me was the fact that the main character never regretted the sex part. She was just shocked that the relationship ended and how quickly she was ready to move on to the sexy tennis pro. There is another book that tells a similar story, but the main character does regret giving her virginity to someone who doesn't appreciate it. It tells the story of a 15 year old that gets caught up in the life of dating an older guy and how she ends up in bed with him. That book is If I'd Only Known... by Edee Wilcox. It's worth a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4