Customer Reviews for

Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever read

This book was a gift to me and it is not the type of book that I would read on my own. Historical aspects are of no interst to me but I have to admit, from page one, I was hooked. I literally could not put this book down. I cried, I laughed and I became a huge fan of Pe...
This book was a gift to me and it is not the type of book that I would read on my own. Historical aspects are of no interst to me but I have to admit, from page one, I was hooked. I literally could not put this book down. I cried, I laughed and I became a huge fan of Pete Hamill. Definitely worth reading and definitely not what you think.

posted by 8086621 on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The first half was great --

I enjoyed the start of the book in Ireland and the general development of the plot. I found it to be entirely too long and the ending a complete, hokey disappointment. The historical versus modern-day depictions are more interesting.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    One of the best books I have ever read

    This book was a gift to me and it is not the type of book that I would read on my own. Historical aspects are of no interst to me but I have to admit, from page one, I was hooked. I literally could not put this book down. I cried, I laughed and I became a huge fan of Pete Hamill. Definitely worth reading and definitely not what you think.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    One of my favorites

    I read this book several years ago and enjoyed every page. Pete Hamill
    paints a picture of New York through the ages. I think of this story quite often and I am glad it is finally in ebook format. The story of a man you cannot die and how he sees the world change before his eyes. I highly recommend this book. Check out other books by this author too.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining novel of early New York life

    Pete Hamil is an authority on New York history.....This book covers a few hundred years of life inside Manhatten...from George Washington to 9/11. I have read this book twice. It is one of my favorites.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely A MUST READ...

    This is by far one of the best books that I have read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended- you will remember this book Forever!!

    Historical fiction does not come any better than this. If you enjoy this genre then this is the book for you. Unforgettable characters -both real and dreamed up by Pete Hamill. Add a touch of mysticisim for a great story that spans time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Historical Fiction/fanatasy

    I think this would sum up my thoughts on "Forever" by Pete Hamill. This book can almost be placed in the historical fiction genre but is more than that. I think anyone reading a book by Pete Hamilton will go back for another novel of his. I thoroughly enjoyed North River as did my wife and neighbor. Another novel...Snow in August I think we prove to be as good as either...if not better. Pate Hamill is a wordsmith. His dialog is superb as are his characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous read!

    Dramatic historical novel. Fascinating characters and storyline. I read it in two days! And have recommended it to all my friends.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    I wanted this to last forever.......................

    I came to his country from Ireland as well and have grown up listening to much folklore and legend. This was such a beautiful story that mixed some imagination with a sprinkle of fact. Perhaps that is the purpose of story-telling, to enhance what we all want to believe, simplifiy the tedious, to make the dark side dramatic and swift, but to leave enough hope for life to be worth living.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Amazing.

    Epic, addictive story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forever New York!

    What happens if you could live forever in the City That Never Sleeps?
    From George Washington to the collapse of the Twin Towers, Cormac is blessed (or cursed) to see and live it all, somewhat like Lazarus Long in Heinlein's Time Enough for Love. Since Cormac can not leave Manhattan and keep his immortality, what he has time enough to love is New York City herself. Interesting, well-researched and told by someone who loves New York, this book is a modern classic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Interesting Idea to Portray History of Manhattan

    I enjoyed this story very much, and was intrigued by the vehicle Pete Hamill uses in telling a history of Manhattan through the eyes of a single character who has been given the "gift" of living forever so long as he does not leave the island. However, for the length of the book I felt it could have included more information on historical characters and perhaps a little less on the mystical aspects of the story. I also liked that the story focussed on lesser known historical figures and although I struggled at times to understand what was going on in the context of a particular period in history, the novel did entice me to look further into such characters as Tweed. I'll look for more from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing read!

    I had long considered Tom Perrotta my favorite author, then I read this book, my first read by Pete Hamill. This book single handedly catipulted Hamill to the top of my list, to be equal with Perrotta...I had to retain some loyalty.

    Mr. Hamill's stroy telling skills are, without question, some of the best out there. This book is not only fun, touching and enjoyable as hell, but also facinating as it takes you through the history of manhattan. A must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely, very interesting

    This is the kind of book one can lose him or herself in. I love it. It's rather slow to start, but a point is hit where you simply can't turn back, and then you're stuck. But it's a good kind of stuck. Highly recommended. Read it. It's beautiful, simply beautiful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    The first half was great --

    I enjoyed the start of the book in Ireland and the general development of the plot. I found it to be entirely too long and the ending a complete, hokey disappointment. The historical versus modern-day depictions are more interesting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Happy reader

    I just finished this book could not put it down,
    Held my attention from the first page to the last page

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    HIGHLY Recommend!!!

    Having grown up heading in and out of Manhattan, this books spoke to me like no other. After having a conversation about it with my younger sibling, I purchased it for them as stocking stuffer.

    Peter Hamill weaves a wonerful tale & paints an interesting vision of what life must have been like from the very start of the island of Manhattan through the eyes of an immortal. A MUST READ for the new year!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Best book I've ever read!

    If I could give this book 10 stars, I would! It completely went beyond my expectations and left me astonished. The way Hamill mixes fiction with history makes the book all the more interesting and even makes the fiction somewhat believable. This is definitely a book I'll be reading again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Third best book on my lifelist

    This book is so wonderful. Nit only is it a great fantasy read, it gives true history of the history and shaping of NYC. I heartly recommend bothe the NYC aspect AND the character of Cormac O'Connor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    fantasy read

    This was not particularly my type of subject, however I did finish reading the book. Well written for the most part, with the exception that the author got quite wordy -hence the length of the book. Even though its fantasy based there's still a lesson to be learned here. The reason I gave this book three stars and not four is due top the authors babbling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Loved this Book!! If you love history or if you love a good stor

    Loved this Book!!
    If you love history or if you love a good story, it will be easy to fall in love with Forever. This is one of the best books I've read this year, and I will definitely recommend it to all my "reading friends." Forever provided a fascinating look at the history of NYC throughout the years and it accurately mirrored the history of the country as a whole, in my opinion. Beware, the "mysticism" aspect may get in the way a little at times if you're a true realist, but overall, I just loved this book and will probably read it over and over....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6