BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Forever After: A Hanover Falls Novel

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Deborah Raney has another great novel

    In her new book, Forever After, Deb Raney takes us back to Hanover Falls, the scene of a fatal fire the past year. Jenna Morgan is coping with her husband's death and loss of income as well as dealing with her in-laws who want to control her life. Lucas Vermontez is recovering from his devastating injuries in the fire that also killed his dad. While others are going on with their lives after the fire, Lucas is reminded day after day through his pain and attempts at rehab and Jenna harbors secrets from Lucas, her husband's best friend. When these two bond in friendship, each is caught up in a series of events that will test that friendship and possibly take it a step further to love. Deb continues to create characters who climb into your heart and take up residence before you know it. Drawn with a supporting cast that fills in the gaps, this story is one that will snare your heart and keep you turning the pages to follow the path of Jenna and Lucas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I was horribly disappointed with this book. The narration was frequently "bumpy" and the development of the arsonist's character was too flat. The main characters were a disappointment, too. I was frequently annoyed at Jenna. She behaved like a spoiled girl or in Lucas' words, a "brat". True, she corrected some of her mistakes at the end of the book, but she still held the "I am right" attitude in regards to certain issues she disagreed with Lucas. At the end of the book, Jenna still had not resolved a few of her conflicts, most notably the conflict with her former in-laws. It was unrealistic and almost inhuman the way Lucas could bear with her attitude. Despite all the book's faults, I was intrigued by the book title. This book is the second book in the Hanover Falls series. The first book was titled Almost Forever, this second book is titled Forever After, and the third book (scheduled to be released in May 2012) is titled After All. I have never come across books in a series with such interconnecting titles. Overall, unless you really don't have any new books to read, I wouldn't recommend Forever After to you. If you are looking for a relaxing, light and uncomplicated book to read, then you might want to try this book. If you aren't, then this book will bore you with its bland mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Most Amazing Story!!!

    Awesome! Deborah Raney is a fantastic author and one of my favorites. I read her first Hanover Falls novel, Almost Forever, last year and fell in love with her work. I was so excited for the chance to read the second Hanover Falls novel, Forever After, which picks up exactly where book 1 left off. Once again, Raney has created life-like characters that grip your heart, and a real-to-life plot line that pulls you into the middle of the story like you are a part of it.

    Jenna Morgan lost her husband, Zack, in the terrible homeless shelter fire. But, she harbors secrets from that time, as well as her past. She's sure she's going to carry them to the grave. But, then she runs into Zack's best friend, Lucas Vermontez, a crippled survivor of that awful day. He sparks something inside her she didn't know existed. Can she trust him with her secrets....and her heart? Or, will she cling to the life of wealth and luxury she's known for the last 12 years as Zachary Morgan's wife?

    Lucas Vermontez lost his father AND his best friend that day. But, God saw fit to allow him to survive. And, because of that, he's allowed to continue on in his pining for his best friend's wife, Jenna. Can he simply be the best friend she needs, or will God (along with some help from a dog named Sparky!)see fit to allow him to be the man she needs him to be?

    These two characters were vibrant and full of amazing qualities. My heart went out to Jenna as she struggled to come to terms with what God wanted in her life and with finding out what SHE alone needed to do in her life, and who she needed to become. Living a life of luxury to please her in-laws and her husband (though she didn't really love him.....) had to be hard. When her financial situation became dire and she was forced to move in with her in-laws, she wasn't expecting them to make her give up her best friend. And, Lucas....bless his heart. He was a handsome firefighter, and really struggled with his injuries, but he really relied on God to pull him through even his darkest of hours. That really gripped my heart the most. He persevered and pushed himself, all the while showing Jenna that the most important thing in life is to fully seek out Him and have a full blown faith in Him.

    I absolutely loved the messages that were woven into this beautifully tender story. A wonderful tribute to firefighters, this book pulls you in instantly and makes you smile, sometimes chuckle, and at others, may bring tears to your eyes. I highly recommend this book with the highest of 5 star praises (along with book 1-Almost Forever!), and two thumbs up. If you are like me, you will fall in love instantly with the work of Deborah Raney and her sweet characters, and her mixture of humor, sadness, suspense and love. I can't wait for book 3, After All to release! It should make a wonderful addition ( and hopefully not a conclusion!) to this amazing series of heroes and their families!

    *This book was provided for review by the publisher and Glass Roads PR*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance, Healing And Restoration - A Wonderful Read!

    Deborah Raney in her new book, "Forever After" Book Two in the Hanover Falls series published by Howard Books returns us to the small town of Hanover Falls and the wonderful people who live there.

    Jenna Morgan lost her husband, Zach, in the fire that destroyed the Hanover Falls homeless shelter and claimed the lives of three other firefighters. Now it is a year later and her ability to maintain the charade of prosperity she and Zach lived is at an end. In the same fire Lucas Vermontez had his has legs crushed and has endured physical therapy for a year, but he may never be 100% again.

    Lucas has always been in love with Jenna , even when she was married to Zach, and now that she is single he feels, since he is crippled, that he is unworthy of her as a man. Can a relationship survive as these two deal with all their emotional traumas from their past?

    Deborah Raney has written a book all about relationships and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. There is the theme of not being perfect and how crippling that image can be and how it damages how we deal with others. "Forever After" deals with image: how we see ourselves, others and how God sees us and how He works to align us with His vision.

    All the characters are likable and Ms. Raney has a way of making the characters lives very real so that we feel that we are living the moments with them. I, for one, am looking forward to book three in the series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Glass Road Public Relations. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can new dreams replace your old ones?

    When a fire in a homeless shelter changes the lives of so many, will it be possible to rebuild on those dreams again?

    Jenna Morgan lost her husband Zach in the fire, as a fireman who couldn't escape in time before the building collapsed. Now she is stuck with some secrets that she didn't reveal to anyone but Bryn her best friend and also the person responsible for setting the fire. Jenna's moved on beginning with forgiving Bryn, but the one person she can't forgive is herself. For living a lie the entire time she was married to Zach. Is it possible for her to find forgiveness in knowing God or will she be held back by her past?

    Lucas Vermontez lost twice what Jenna did in the fire. He not only lost his father, but also the use of his legs when the building collapsed. Spending the last year in rehab completing physical therapy, he struggles with letting go on career as a fireman and moving forward to see what possibilities God has in store for him. He also struggles with the strong feelings he has for his best friend's wife, Jenna. Can God work to unite them both and heal their pasts?

    In the latest novel, Forever After by Deborah Raney, we get to see how holding on to our past mistakes can not only leave us feeling worthless but also prevents God from carrying that burden for us and allowing us to leave it behind. I received this book compliments of Litfuse Public Relations for my honest review and LOVED it. This is a perfect gift that shows us how too often we can be our own worst enemies to true happiness. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars and is a must read.

    This is the second book by Deborah Raney from the Hanover Falls series. This is a great story of the love of God and the redemption He offers to anyone if they are only willing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Grand+Slam

    I+stayed+up+until+2%3A30+to+find+out+how+the+story+ends.+I+was+not+disappointed%21+Buy+it+read+it+and+spread+the+word%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Forever After by Deborah Raney

    Forever After by Deborah Raney is the second book in the Hanover Falls series. This light read will refresh your summer reading and provide a sweet escape to a busy day.

    When a fire destroys a homeless shelter, Jenna Morgan looses her husband and Lucas Vermontez looses his father. Jenna struggles emotionally and financially as she tries to assemble the broken pieces of her heart and life. Her marriage to Zach was not based on love and her mother-in-law's meddling just causes additional stress to her life. Jenna is trying to handle her grief on her own, apart from God.

    Lucas, a Christian, was Jenna's husband's best friend. When Luc helps her move and invites her out for a bite to eat, he shares the peace he has found in the Lord. With her roots in poverty, Jenna collapses the mirage she has lived with Zach's family, and finds her authentic self . Luc shows her that even though she may not have had a love growing up in a fatherless home, God's love through Jesus will give her a love forever after. Can these two find new reasons to live and love ?

    Although this romance novel was a bit predictable, I did enjoy reading it. You will want to add this book to your nightstand, porch swing, or pool bag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1