Customer Reviews for

Forever Amber

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE ON NOOK!

I read the flyleaf in Barnes & Noble and truly want to read the book, but I don't want to lug around a huge book when I could read it on my Nook. Please, please, please make it available on Nook!

posted by OceanJL on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Gone With the Wind

Amber is a less-likeable, English, Scarlett O'Hara, but that doesn't make this book 'Gone With the Wind.' I found her an utterly unsympathetic heroine. If she can't get her way by sleeping with somebody, she'll whine about it and throw things. The only time I rea...
Amber is a less-likeable, English, Scarlett O'Hara, but that doesn't make this book 'Gone With the Wind.' I found her an utterly unsympathetic heroine. If she can't get her way by sleeping with somebody, she'll whine about it and throw things. The only time I really found myself enjoying reading this book was during the plague scene, where she and Bruce are quarantined together and forced to take turns nursing each other back to health. But after that, things get back to normal. I might have liked Bruce more if he didn't continue sleeping with Amber while professing to love his sweet, little American wife. Amber seems to get a come-uppance in the end, but the author leaves it ambiguous, as if she was planning some sequel that never got written. It left me shaking my head. I often see this book on the same lists as 'GWTW' and Anya Seton's 'Katherine.' It doesn't hold a candle to either of them. If you want a good historical romance read one of them.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Another request to make this a Nook Book!

    I'd love to read this on Nook, but can't find as an epub anywhere! Please make it available!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Worth Reading

    I purchased this book because I loved the book Gone With The Wind, and I'd read if you liked that book you'd like this book.

    I enjoyed the characters in the book, and though I had a bit of a hard time relating to Amber (just as I did Scarlett in Gone with the Wind) much of time, she is very interesting and over comes the many hurdles life throws at her.

    All & all I liked the book & would recommend it to someone else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Forgotten treasure

    I read this so long ago i had forggoten how captivating the strory is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Definitely written by a man

    Entertaining story line but main character had zero redeemable qualities.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Recommend if you Like Lusty Stories.

    Grabs your attention from start, Very wordy but overall good book. Heroine is a sexual machine for when this book was written and I understand why it was banned at one point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Beautiful Disapointment

    I have to say I absolutely loved this book...being honest with myself and fellow readers I didn't care so much for the in between stuff but more Bruce and Amber's romance in the story. The book had my attention from the moment she laid eyes on him, you could feel the passion they both had for each other. I loved every time he came back to her, and how she reserved her true love only for him. It made me cry, laugh, and extremely mad. I had a sensitive side with Amber, even through all the mess and embarrassment she put herself through. As for my heading I am a sucker for happy endings and although we do not know the exact outcome due to the ending, I really wish the book had turned the opposite direction. I wished there was a follow up book, maybe we could get what we wanted out of Bruce and Amber. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good romance read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Was a great, lovestrucked book!!!!

    I loved this book!!! i read it in about 3 days. I couldn't put it down!!! I loved all the characters, but sometimes i hated the way they treated eachother!!! Bruce and Amber we're so in love so why did they treat eachother with so much agony!!! I did not like the ending I was expecting the ending to be a so passionate, loving ending. But it took the wrong turn..It was a downfall to the book. The reason i kept reading this book is to see what will happen to Amber and Bruce...but i do recommend it, but don't exspect a nonshocking ending!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    A Crazy Adventure into the Follies of the Heart

    This book managed to enthrall me from the moment I read the description on the back cover.I read it passionately for about three days, until I got to the end.I was so angry at the ending,it made me hate the book and the main character.It's been about a month since I read it and I still cannot believe the ending.It is not a cliff hanger, this book throws you off the cliff.All in all it was a very good book and a worthy read for anyone who loves historical fiction and romance.This book is so good that you are drawn into the mindless follies for love by the 'heroine' Amber St.Clare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THIS BOOK AGAIN

    I read this book when I was in High School back in the early 70's. I can't wait to read it again. I missed so much before because I was young. I was enthralled with it then, I hope it will be better the second time around. I learned alot about life and sex from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Historical FLuff but great!

    I first saw the movie when I was a teenager on tv then read the book. I loved the historical nature so much I planned to name my third child James 'Carlton' in honor of the book. But alas...it became 'Melanie' instead. I also think its very ironic that the beautiful Linda Darnell was almost killed by fire in once scene and tragically died at age 41 in a fire. They don't make movies like that anymore. Pity!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1