Customer Reviews for

Forever Amber

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE ON NOOK!

I read the flyleaf in Barnes & Noble and truly want to read the book, but I don't want to lug around a huge book when I could read it on my Nook. Please, please, please make it available on Nook!

posted by OceanJL on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Gone With the Wind

Amber is a less-likeable, English, Scarlett O'Hara, but that doesn't make this book 'Gone With the Wind.' I found her an utterly unsympathetic heroine. If she can't get her way by sleeping with somebody, she'll whine about it and throw things. The only time I rea...
Amber is a less-likeable, English, Scarlett O'Hara, but that doesn't make this book 'Gone With the Wind.' I found her an utterly unsympathetic heroine. If she can't get her way by sleeping with somebody, she'll whine about it and throw things. The only time I really found myself enjoying reading this book was during the plague scene, where she and Bruce are quarantined together and forced to take turns nursing each other back to health. But after that, things get back to normal. I might have liked Bruce more if he didn't continue sleeping with Amber while professing to love his sweet, little American wife. Amber seems to get a come-uppance in the end, but the author leaves it ambiguous, as if she was planning some sequel that never got written. It left me shaking my head. I often see this book on the same lists as 'GWTW' and Anya Seton's 'Katherine.' It doesn't hold a candle to either of them. If you want a good historical romance read one of them.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE ON NOOK!

    I read the flyleaf in Barnes & Noble and truly want to read the book, but I don't want to lug around a huge book when I could read it on my Nook. Please, please, please make it available on Nook!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A Trip into the Past

    The heroism and ambition of Amber makes this book an automatic page turner and I found it very hard to put down. From just a dream and a longing to become more then a farm girl, she built her life and gained a title for herself in a time where ambition in females was extremely frowned on. Hands down one of the best books I've ever read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very enjoyable historical fiction

    Banned in the 1950's considered too risqué-she does a great job describing the décor/habits/clothing/mileau of the time-King Charles Restoration-slightly bodice ripperish at times-but still what fun to read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Have this book many times and just love it! Would love to have

    Have this book many times and just love it! Would love to have it on my nook to read. Pleassseeee do the book in nook form.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    A quick history lesson in a fun read!

    I have greatly enjoyed Forever Amber, which takes you through major happening of the 17th century (from the great fire of London to the Plague to the fashion of the era.) This book is recommended to anyone who loves the history of England mixed with a story of love and lust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Relax and take your time

    This is exactly, but exactly, the kind of book they don¿t write any more¿big and lush, full of intrigue, and overflowing with romance and detail. Amber may not be the kind of woman who makes a good role model, but she makes a terrific heroine. Just about every page¿and there are a lot of pages in this huge book¿has a new turn of events, as Amber makes her ruthless way up the ladder of Restoration England. The case can be made that Winsor wrote this book to take advantage of the success a few years earlier of Gone With the Wind, but that doesn¿t detract one iota from its pleasures. You can¿t have too much of a good thing. An enormous spectacle, as dramatic as they come, this one shouldn¿t be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Med den

    Amber clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    I discovered Forever Amber MANY years ago as a teenager and hav

    I discovered Forever Amber MANY years ago as a teenager and have reread it dozens of times as well as loaned it to many others (often having to replace it when I didn't get it back). Truly a classic in that it never goes "out of style". Don't understand the review which stated it was written by a man-COME ON!!! This is so obviously a woman's story::Amber may be labelled as immoral but she loved one man and one only in her life-the others were poor substitutes for Bruce. His infidelity to his wife (who is one of the truly likeable characters in the book) seems shocking to us now but that wasn't so unusual in that time. Charles II is drawn as considerably more sympathetic than the history books describe him--his story and that of his mistresses is a great subplot. All in all an excellent adventure that stands the test of time. As usual the movie with Cornel Wilde and Linda Darnell couldn't begin to do justice to the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Must read

    920 pages of historical fiction. Follows Amber during the restoration of Charles 2's decadent England. Packed with historical figures & lustful without any graffic loves scenes. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book stays with you forever. My great aunt read this when s

    This book stays with you forever. My great aunt read this when she was 16, my mother after her at the same age, and then it was my turn a few years back to pick up this book. I was instantly drawn into the world of Amber and could not put it down! At frist the thickness of the novel had my 16 year old self doubtful but it went by too quickly. I'm 20 now and have given this book to many of my friends who also fell in love with the story. Amber to me wasn't "unsympathetic" at all. She loved only one man in her entire life and I'm sure will always love him, but he never loved her back. The characters were completely fleshed out and dynamic. Kathleen Winsor made this story feel real and true! I can see why in the 1940's this book was banned from the public but now in 2013 it isn't risque at all. A must read, you will not be disappointed!!  SPOILER ALERT** The ending however is a little unsatisfactory because she doesn't end up with the man she loves. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    My all-time favorite historical romance. Amber is a 17th centur

    My all-time favorite historical romance. Amber is a 17th century Scarlett O'Hara; self-centered, vain, passionate, and courageous. She is one of those characters you love to hate, and yet you can't help but admire her. The book is also a wonderful and vivid - and fairly accurate - account of Restoration England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good read

    I 1st read rhis in my 20. Did not like the ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Talk about "not being able to put it down" !

    Oh do I ever remember "Forever Amber" as being one of my all time favorite books that I just couldn't put down! I went into labor with my now 40 year old son when I was close to the end of reading it, and had my husband keep my place with every labor pain. It was finished before his birth and had he been a girl, she would have been named Amber. It's without a doubt one of the most memorable books of my life. Now it's long past time to read it again if only it was Nook available! We've come a long way baby. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    Bought this book several years ago in hard cover, and just now read it on nook. Soo glad I did. Loved it!!!! Its a real classic. Want to keep the memory; forever .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    I was amazed..

    I was so pulled in and hypnotized by this book, I even tried prolonging the story. Amber st. Claire is just amazing she proved that you can rise from the ashes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    One of the best works of historical fiction

    Dont let the age of this book fool you. It is fantastic. I preferred it to Gone With the Wind. Im not sure who thus second author listed on the book is. As far as I know it was written only by Kathleen Windsor. At least thats what my original hard back book says. Anyhow, try it. You wont be sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Glad i finally has a chance to read. Kept my interest all thriugh the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    A favorite Classic!

    I was so excited to find this book... its a favorite classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Book

    I enjoyed this book when I read it years ago, and would love to read it again if they put it on NOOK. I'd like to see what I think of it now. I was fascinated to learn about the hideous underground prisons in England and to look at the Black Plague through the perspective of someone living during that time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Addictive!

    I received this book about 10 years ago and loved it! I lost my copy of it and had to get a new one, and I still love it as much as I did back then. The book has plenty of twists and surprises... a must read for anyone who likes historical novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4