Customer Reviews for

Forever Black

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Can I give this more than 5 stars??????? I am beyond elated, ecs

Can I give this more than 5 stars??????? I am beyond elated, ecstatic, overjoyed, dancing all around doing my happy dance!!!
Yes I was up, arms flopping side to side doing a jitter dance who pile jumping up and down!!!
A definite book that is going to be added to my all...
Can I give this more than 5 stars??????? I am beyond elated, ecstatic, overjoyed, dancing all around doing my happy dance!!!
Yes I was up, arms flopping side to side doing a jitter dance who pile jumping up and down!!!
A definite book that is going to be added to my all time top 10 favorites!!!! There is no doubt I will be singing its praises and shouting about this book from the rooftops!!!!




So the story:
When Ellery moved to New York with her boyfriend, she thought they’d live happily ever after in their small New York apartment. She never thought he’d pack his bags and leave because he “needed space.” With her newfound single status and fear of being alone, Ellery buries herself in her artwork and paintings until one night she helps a mysterious intoxicated stranger get home safely. Little did she know the mysterious stranger is none other than CEO and millionaire Connor Black. After finding Ellery in his kitchen the next morning and assuming she broke his #1 rule about sleepovers, he becomes intrigued, not only by her stubbornness and defiance, but by her kindness.


Connor Black, emotionally dead and damaged, that stemmed from a personal tragedy, made a vow to never love or fall in love with a woman, until Ellery Lane walked into his life by accident. After she opens up and shows him her world, Connor starts to feel emotions and feelings he never knew existed. Despite the rumors and warnings regarding Connor Black and his use and misuse of women, Ellery finds herself being drawn into his world.


Ellery knows they can never be together because she is harboring a deep secret that could destroy Connor emotionally forever.


Join Connor and Ellery as they embark on a journey of courage, love and strength. Will it be enough to save them?


I absolutely love Elle. She is a strong independent ( even if she didn't realize it) woman who has a heart of gold and has seriously been dealt a bad hand in life. She endures more loss and heartache than anyone should at her age but she holds her head high and knows that life is what you make of it and she is gonna live hers just right.
I laughed with her, I rooted her on, I envied her determination, loved her stubbornness and I cried not only with her but for her.



I am not the most emotional person I like to keep feelings to myself I guess you could say and never have I read a book that made tears fall from my face like this one. At times I had to stop because I could not see the words. I was like a emotional wrecking ball!!


My husband looks over at me, shakes his head then asks if I am hormonal and I cry harder, swipe the tears and say no it is this crazy book, it's crazy, I am happy, dancing and now I am crying. He laughs at me, pats me on the back and goes about his business. He probably things I am going crazy but I'm not its just this book. But I am hypnotized by it, I cannot stop, I don't want to stop!!!!



Kyle I think he was just scum that sticks to the bottom of my shoe!!!! What would possess anyone to leave for the reason he did? Uggggh.....but I am glad he did or Elle would of never realized that she may have loved him but she was never in love with him and she would of NEVER met Mr. Connor Black!!!!
Oh that man makes me smile a cheesy grin. He is panty melting, panty dropping sex on a stick and I just want to lick him:)



Mr. Black was so use to getting everything he wanted and for everyone to do as he said but he was not prepared for The stubborn and hard headed Elle lane. She would bow to no one and especially not him.
I loved the banter between the two. I laughed out loud so many moments, I was giving her a high five, and loving watching him soften and just let go. The man was extraordinarily swoon worthy!!!


I don't think my heart has ever beat so fast and then halt at the same time before. These two had me crazy.


Peyton was a awesome friend and I loved how she loved Elle enough to not sugar coat things for her and stuck by her always!


I could go on and on and on about this book so my friend is gonna have a long phone conversation coming her way:) I will ramble to her instead of this review. I will just say that this book will have you all kinds of crazy!!


I was laughing, dancing, squealing with excitement, crying and begging. This book is pure awesomeness. The author has made a mark for herself for sure. Kobe over Christian Grey Connor Black is in the house!! Yummy!!!!!!!


Don't wait....but it, read it, you are gonna love it!!!!
~ happy reading~

posted by 1book-addict on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth The Time!

The author lacks basic grammar skills and the story line jumped around and was inconsistent. Just a poorly written novel.

posted by 14637123 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Errors, errors, errors

    I don't normally write reviews, but really? "Too" means "also" and "to an excessive degree." "To" cannot be used in its place. Who edits these books anyway? Lots of pronoun errors too (see how it's used). If you can get past this crap the book has potential.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    ## I have mixed feelings about this one. SPOILER ALERT. It was written in the first person from the heroine's point of view a la Fifty Shades. And there were other similarities as well: Very rich alpha male used to getting anything and anyone he wants and uses women for sex, becomes intrigued by younger girl who won't be bullied by him. The sweet limo driver who she becomes close to, the huge fights, then making up. The obligatory ex that can't let go.....so many similarities which isn't all bad of course. I just didn't feel any chemistry between the hero and the heroine. But it kept me reading way into the night, so eventhough I didn't love it I gave it 3 stars for keeping me interested.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Ok

    It was a great plot but the writing seemed a little amature

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    The story was decent, but the lack of maturity in the writing al

    The story was decent, but the lack of maturity in the writing along with all of the glaring misspellings, grammatical errors, punctuation errors and just basic formatting errors made this story hard to stay connected to. The story also made illogical jumps at points like the author was trying to rush it. Not a bad read, but definitely not at the top. And this is nothing at all like Fifty Shades. The only resemblance is the main character falls for a multi-millionaire who has control issues. The stories are in no way similar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I agree with the others where editing is concerned. I did like

    I agree with the others where editing is concerned. I did like the story even though it was VERY similar to 50 shades. The world of BDSM can be written in so many ways. Why does the male always have to be a gazillionaire? Why can't he just own his own small business? Sheesh..maybe I need to write a story. :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    ?

    Im not sure why people would compare this to 50 shades. But the story itself was good, nothing original, but good. The writing left a lot to be desired. Most of the book the dialog read like a robot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Good concept but the overly proper English was distracting.

    I enjoyed the concept of the book, however the dialog was stilted because the author apparently has something against contractions. While I agree that they should not be over used or improperly used they are a part of natural conversation. The lack of a natural flow did not allow me to suspend my disbelief and become a part of the story. A little too much editing perhaps?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    It was ok*****

    It was good, but i felt the story was rushed, epecially the ending

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Ok

    It was ok, it would of been better if the authur didn't rush through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Started great...didn't finish that way

    I really enjoyed the first 3/4 of this book. The characters were smart, witty, and their developing relationship was fun to follow. I also liked that they faced real problems.

    Then I came to the point in the book where they finally came together as a couple, and it all went down hill from there. The fighting was ridiculous. They would have a pointless fight, then make up all of a sudden, skip ahead a few weeks or months, then they have another "teenage stomp-my-feet and pout" fest.

    If you would have asked me if I was going to read the rest of the series when I was in the middle of this one, I would have said absolutely. But the author completely lost me at the end. I'm not going to read the second book (from Connor's perspective) or the third book when they have a child...because I can't stand to read anymore relationship stupidity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    entertaining

    When I first started reading, it came across as a rip-off of the "50 Shades of Gray" Trilogy without the kinkiness. It is more of a love story. I did keep reading, however because I needed to know how things turn out...I also ordered the second book because I'm interested to see how it's told from the 2nd character's perspective. Honestly, I'll probably get the 3rd for closure! ...but that's just me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    I liked it!

    I liked this book, however, I found myself not really connecting to Ellery's character. She ran away from her problems too much and I just never really found myself rooting for her. I did enjoy the story and read it in one afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Ok romance

    Ok romance

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Good...

    So I loved this story...finished it in a day...but I sort of felt like there could have been so much more...there were so many times that the author just skipped ahead by months at a time..
    And thenthe epilogue was the worst...It was like two epilogues squeezed together in one...I didnt understand that at all...it was disappointing...this book could have been five star material but it just felt too rushed for me...like the author stopped caring half way through the story and was just rushing to complete it! Oh well! Good book...could have been soo much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good book

    Like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Ok

    Great story, I totally got! Original NO! Predictable YES! At times I felt as if the author were repeating sentences just to stretch the book. Overall, I finished it and it made me smile. Another girl meets rich bad boy with issues, falls in love and lives happliy ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Forever Black

    I gave it three stars mainly because, while it had an okay story line, it didn't wow me. It was mainly the flow of the book that I had a problem with, it just didn't flow that well. But I did finish the book, so it's not like it was so terrible I couldn't stomach to finish it. The characters were okay, pretty developed, I suppose. It was just all around, okay. Nothing to write home about, but it wasn't terrible writing either. There weren't many mistakes, it was well edited, and again, it had an okay story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Simpletouchglow

    Add me as a nook friend.. aberry1282@yahoo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Enjoyable

    It was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Angela shikany

    I enjoyed the melodrama, kind of a mix of Love Story and Bared To You. Very poorly written it would have benefitted from some strong editing. As is it reads like the work of a promising 14 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3