Customer Reviews for

Forever Freed

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who al

I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who also liked her fanfiction on the internet. The first book, or should I say, novella, I read was Hearts in Darkness, which blew me away in originality and simplicity; i.e., no battles scenes, few characters, e...
I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who also liked her fanfiction on the internet. The first book, or should I say, novella, I read was Hearts in Darkness, which blew me away in originality and simplicity; i.e., no battles scenes, few characters, etc.

Kaye's book, Forever Freed, was a heartfelt, emotional and lovely romance between, a vampire, Lucien and Samantha, a human. Another interesting twist and one I found unique, was the inclusion of a 5year old girl, "Ollie," Samantha's insightful daughter. As we all know, most vamp romances don't involve children, (unless the typical virginal character becomes impregnated), and I found it refreshing. I must admit, I hesitated at the thought of a child being one of the major characters, but Kaye made it work. The pace of the story was slow at first, but picked up about 1/3 of the way through and stayed that way. The good thing is, Kaye's great writing continued to capture my attention and I finished it quickly.

The chemistry was red hot between Lucien and Samantha and the intimate scenes were even hotter! I found myself smiling through a lot of this book and little Ollie was a sweet, yet accident prone, child who thankfully lacked in bratty and combative tendencies...whew!! This is a good book for those of you wanting a little vamp, a little drama and a lot of entertainment!!

posted by Leslie46 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yuck

Almost fell asleep!!!

posted by Ocecic on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who al

    I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who also liked her fanfiction on the internet. The first book, or should I say, novella, I read was Hearts in Darkness, which blew me away in originality and simplicity; i.e., no battles scenes, few characters, etc.

    Kaye's book, Forever Freed, was a heartfelt, emotional and lovely romance between, a vampire, Lucien and Samantha, a human. Another interesting twist and one I found unique, was the inclusion of a 5year old girl, "Ollie," Samantha's insightful daughter. As we all know, most vamp romances don't involve children, (unless the typical virginal character becomes impregnated), and I found it refreshing. I must admit, I hesitated at the thought of a child being one of the major characters, but Kaye made it work. The pace of the story was slow at first, but picked up about 1/3 of the way through and stayed that way. The good thing is, Kaye's great writing continued to capture my attention and I finished it quickly.

    The chemistry was red hot between Lucien and Samantha and the intimate scenes were even hotter! I found myself smiling through a lot of this book and little Ollie was a sweet, yet accident prone, child who thankfully lacked in bratty and combative tendencies...whew!! This is a good book for those of you wanting a little vamp, a little drama and a lot of entertainment!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    3.5 stars:  FOREVER FREED is a stand alone paranormal storyline

    3.5 stars:  FOREVER FREED is a stand alone paranormal storyline by Laura Kaye. The premise focuses on vampire Lucien Demarco, a human woman Samantha Sutton and Sam's daughter Olivia.
    Lucien is a vampire who has fallen in love. Samantha is a human female, with a young daughter, and it is through Sam's daughter that Lucien will first begin to lose his heart.
    Living for decades, feared and ignored by humans, Lucien is overcome with emotions when one small young child opens her heart and her mind to a man who believes he is incapable of ever finding or being in love. With his immediate connection to Olivia, Lucien is overcome with need when he begins to believe that Samantha is the woman for him.
    The storyline is told from Lucien's POV. We learn about the loss of his first family; his entry into the world of the vampire; and the current vampires out for revenge for a crime against one of their own.
    Lucien is a likeable character and a reluctant vampire. He is the `almost' perfect boyfriend/mate/lover. His concern is for the safety of Sam and her daughter, but his presence in their life has made them a target for revenge.
    The writing and storyline premise are simple. This is not a psychological drama or a study in the paranormal. Forever Freed is a sweet storyline of one vampire's need to love and be loved and the woman who has opened his mind to a possible future. But it is also a story of forbidden love and the extremes and pressures of what one vampire will do to keep the people he loves safe from harm
    see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot) com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Samantha ... She was the light, and I had been drinking th

    "Samantha ... She was the light, and I had been drinking the dark for so very long."

    The first time Lucien Demarco sets his eyes on Samantha Sutton, he's blinded by her vibrance, her stunning allure that is so full of life, which is something he lost a long time ago. Her spirit literally glows and yet she's been through so much, too much, which leaves an emptiness in her heart that urges her to push everyone she loves away.

    He, initially attracted to her tantalizing scent, catches himself caring for and sympathizing with her and her domestic conflicts—and it isn't just the empath in him that's causing this. He is the exact opposite of Sam, the exact opposite of what she needs, but is affected by her in ways he cannot comprehend: a corner of darkness propelled by a beam of light, and an ignition of touch. He can't get involved, not with a prospect so human; having escaped the clutches of a powerful, gang-like network of vampires and fled to Detroit, where he thought he was finally free, he realizes what danger he puts himself and his new "family" in, when long-due vengeance came knocking on his door. And yet the stir in his body and soul is compelling enough for him to wander away from all rational thought.

    Sam and Ollie are the only people who have been able to trigger any type of emotion in him—at least the only people he's encountered in what seems like an eternity. They renew him. They become him. And with that acknowledgment, he knows he cannot survive without them or ever turn back.

    The emotional intensity of this book is so, so powerful. Not only the contemporary-set romance and the steamy chemistry between Sam and Luce, but also the highs and lows of family and self-sacrifice—all of it was a turbulent ride. As Lucien relearns the mess—and utter beauty—of humanity through his beloved Sutton girls, he discovers that although they are his dire weakness, they will save him—and he, them—in the end... and they will forever free each other as well.

    The characters, while good together, are not very developed individually. Sam is distant and completely two-dimensional. She's incredibly likable—kind, sensitive, gorgeous—but just seems a little too perfect, which I found unpalatable. Fortunately, Forever Freed is narrated by Lucien, who is as flawed as Samantha is faultless; unfortunately, his first-person male perspective is stiff (he is centuries old, after all), overexposed, and irritatingly bleak. I feel he wasn't as sexy and alpha of a vampire hero as he should've been in this story.

    The high action and precarious plot make up for the flat characters, however. I enjoyed the suspense immensely, including the hot love scenes tucked in between. This book is full of untold secrets, vampire gore, and the implications of overcoming temptation in the name of love; a fresh twist on vampire romance!

    Pros: Smoldering chemistry between Samantha and Lucien! // Loved Samantha's character // Ollie is adorable // Vampires aren't sparkly and omnipotent // Very realistic and raw portrayal of bloodlust and supernatural danger

    Cons: Strange, uncomfortable narration // Stylistically nothing impressive (no specific quotes that stood out to me)

    Verdict: While Forever Freed's characters are a bit flimsy and the narration slightly off-key, the acute, powerful storyline and the complexity of Samantha and Lucien's relationship really reverberated with me. Laura Kaye brings us an untraditional paranormal romance with a crucial slant on love and humanity, as well as on the compassion and sheer vulnerability you hold for the one person who has the power to bring you back to life.

    Rating: 8 out of 10 hearts (4 stars): An engaging read; highly recommended.

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by author, via Romancing the Book, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you, Laura!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Good read!

    Great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great read

    Could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Lots of promise!

    Our Review [Provided by Michelle McMichael]:

    Forever Freed is a paranormal romance told in first person from the hero, Lucien's, point of view. At the start of the book Lucien is the epitome of the angsty/broody vamp, I enjoyed the insight into his thoughts as he tries to come to terms with the loss of his family and his inability to save them. When Lucien meets Olivia he is amazed by how easily she accepts his presence and shows no instinctual fear of him. Her innocence touches Lucien and he can't help but want to protect her. Samantha enters Luciens life around the same time but leaves him with an overwhelming urge to consume her. Lucien attempts to insert himself into her life but he doesn't expect to discover Olivia's place in her life.
    Lucien undergoes a huge transformation from broody vamp to protector and lover but it's not an easy journey. I really enjoyed the fact that yes it's a love story but it's also so much more, there's a little bit of everything in here. I'm a little disappointed that it's a stand alone. There are a few unanswered questions especially when it comes to Lucien and his bloodline. Olivia was a delightful addition to the story and I really enjoyed her interactions with Lucien.

    LITERAL ADDICTION Paranormal Book Club's guest reviewer gives Forever Freed 4 Skulls, and says that there is a lot of promise in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1