Customer Reviews for

Forever Freed

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who al

I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who also liked her fanfiction on the internet. The first book, or should I say, novella, I read was Hearts in Darkness, which blew me away in originality and simplicity; i.e., no battles scenes, few characters, e...
I found Laura Kaye's books through a good friend of mine, who also liked her fanfiction on the internet. The first book, or should I say, novella, I read was Hearts in Darkness, which blew me away in originality and simplicity; i.e., no battles scenes, few characters, etc.

Kaye's book, Forever Freed, was a heartfelt, emotional and lovely romance between, a vampire, Lucien and Samantha, a human. Another interesting twist and one I found unique, was the inclusion of a 5year old girl, "Ollie," Samantha's insightful daughter. As we all know, most vamp romances don't involve children, (unless the typical virginal character becomes impregnated), and I found it refreshing. I must admit, I hesitated at the thought of a child being one of the major characters, but Kaye made it work. The pace of the story was slow at first, but picked up about 1/3 of the way through and stayed that way. The good thing is, Kaye's great writing continued to capture my attention and I finished it quickly.

The chemistry was red hot between Lucien and Samantha and the intimate scenes were even hotter! I found myself smiling through a lot of this book and little Ollie was a sweet, yet accident prone, child who thankfully lacked in bratty and combative tendencies...whew!! This is a good book for those of you wanting a little vamp, a little drama and a lot of entertainment!!

posted by Leslie46 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yuck

Almost fell asleep!!!

posted by Ocecic on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great!

    I am convinced I can read and enjoy just about any book that Laura Kaye writes because of how beautifully she writes about human emotions. I have never read books about vampires, not my cup of tea, except for Kaye's. This book, like all she writes, immerses you into the character's lifes and feelings, the joyous and the dark ones, so deeply that they feel real. Her command of words is absolutely amazing and she has a remarkable ability to build relatable characters and intense stories of love. But in this book, the intensity of a vampire senses heightens the emotional effect of her writing style and you just cannot put the book down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    United By Books Reviews by Lindsey Hutchison

    Lucian has been guilt ridden for decades over the death of his wife and child.One trip to the hospital to collect some blood, and an encounter with a lovely little girl named Olivia (Ollie), who looked straight at him not with fear but with curiosity, amusement and affection, had Lucian craving more of the goodness of her feelings . A few days later, upon returning to the hospital, he ran into feelings of pure bliss and followed them till they led him to the beautiful woman whose feelings had reached out and wrapped around him. He craved more, so much so that he found out where she lived then bought a house near her just so he can feel those feelings she projected on a regular basis. Lucian is an empathic vampire, and Samantha has become his newest prey . Lucian planned to lure Samantha to his house and drain her to take her feelings into him. Ollie had gotten to him and he vowed to protect her. Lucian then realizes that Samantha is Ollie's mother. The feelings between Lucian and Samantha build, and soon he went from wanting to kill her, to knowing he loved her and to do that would hurt him so much worse. Word got back of his relationship with her to another vampire who had always been jealous and resentful of him, and he goes after Samantha. Lucian saves Samantha, evoking the wrath of the vampire leader of Detroit who is also the father of the vampire that died at Lucian's hands saving her. Laura Kaye grips you in the first few pages of the book. Her words flow, and soon you're in that world feeling Lucian's war and pain. You're also feeling the love and building affection between all the characters. You cant help but grow a fondness for Ollie. The passion between Samantha and Lucian is slow to build, but is worth the wait. When it arrives, it's so explosive . By the middle of the book I didn't want to put it down to go to sleep. At the end I was tearing up cause I had connected so much with the characters. This book was well written and is definitely a book to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forever Freed.... Forever Hooked....

    After patiently waiting for Forever Freed's release - I dove into it with a great fervor.
    And I was not disappointed! The character of Lucien Demarco had me hooked from the get go. Dark, brooding, delicously hot man - grieving over his past, hating himself, resigned to the fact that this is his life and this is how it will be, but always wanting something more. Then we meet Ollie - a truly amazing young girl - she pulls you in and you immediately fall in love with her from the moment she walked across the hospital plaza - her innocense, her compassion, her uniqueness - her ability to see thru Luciens secret and truly see him. Samantha crosses paths with Lucien and he is hooked from the moment he senses her emotions - he becomes enthralled by her - wanting her - stalking her.... As Lucien is contemplating Samantha's fate - he is shocked to realize that Ollie is actually Samantha daughter... Everything plays out wonderfully from there - never a dull moment... My own emotions taking the dramatic toll of what life brings them with every page. The ending is gripping and I sobbed at what happens between Lucien and Samantha and of course what befalls Ollie... Highly recommend this books and can not wait to see what the future holds for us from this amazing author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down! Lucien is still mourning the loss of his wife and child more than a century after the fact, struggling with the guilt and horror of their deaths and what he has become. When he meets Sam, he is stunned by the happiness he absorbs from her and wants more, even if it means her life; until he meets her daughter Olivia who looks looks him in the eye, sees him as something different, yet accepts him completely. Lucien is first obsessed and then amazed as he slowly begins to realize that there may be a chance at happiness and family that he thought was lost to him forever. Wonderful, well written characters and a great story told from the hero's POV, this isn't just another vampire tale. The emotions are heartfelt and real, and moved me to tears at several points as these characters struggle with doubts, fear, and a deep and abiding love that sometimes requires the innocent wisdom of a child to put everything into perpective. I highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully written!

    Review by Shannon: Lucien Demarco has hated his vampire life for over 100 years. His family was murdered and he was turned (then abandoned by his maker), but he¿s been wrecked with the guilt of his wife and daughter¿s death all those years.

    When he meets a little Olivia at the local hospital and she doesn¿t shy away from him, instead looking him in the eye and smiling at him, he¿s amused. On his next visit to the hospital, when he meets a woman, Samantha, whose happiness calls to him, he¿s intrigued and thinking of drinking from her to absorb her happiness. But when he discovers the little girl is the daughter of the woman he craves, Lucien soon learns there are much better things to crave.

    Lucien is a heartbreaking character. He hates killing humans who don¿t deserve it to feed, so he goes weeks without feeding. He¿s one of those people that will continually ¿pick the scab¿ just so he can feel the pain. He¿s so full of self-loathing and despair, which makes your heart break for him because you can tell he¿s truly a good person at his core.

    However, once he makes the decision to move forward with a relationship with Samantha and Olivia, you can see his wonderful human traits come out. He wants to make sure both his girls feel loved, never want for anything and always feel safe. He knows keeping his vampirism secret is a huge breach in trust, which eats at him, but it seems life keeps getting in the way of him telling his secret.

    Samantha and Olivia (or Ollie as she¿s called) were wonderful characters and balanced out Lucien. They were both full of life and looked past what was on the outside to see the core of a person. Without needing to be told or asked, they always managed to give Lucien exactly what he needed and made him let himself go back to the man he was always supposed to be.

    That¿s not to say they don¿t have some drama in their relationship. The last 100 pages were full of drama with some bad vampires trying to destroy Lucien¿s happiness, but in the end love conquers all!

    Wonderfully written with an amazing cast of characters. This was definitely not like any other vampire story I¿ve read. It will pull at your heartstrings and having you reaching for a tissue.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW

    Wow who knew such a heart-warming story, could have you so on the edge of your seat. I absolutely loved this book! It pulled at all my heart strings, while kept me completely engrossed in the book. The characters I felt were well formed. I completely love little Olivia. This book did have a feel of 1st person narration, if you don't mind that. The pace moved well. The plot was good, I was hoping to see more background on Lucien. Maybe in the next book? Oh please say there will be another one. I would recommend this to anyone to read.

    Check out her Author Interview at: WereVampsRomance DOT org

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Amazing book! I didn't want this story to end. What a wonderful

    Amazing book! I didn't want this story to end. What a wonderful and heartfelt story. You will fall in love with Lucien, Samantha & Ollie. I am crossing my fingers for a sequel to this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't help myself!! I was reading this at EVERY possible opportunity!!

    Forever Freed is a wonderful, heartwarming story that will keep you completely engrossed from beginning to end! It is written from the hero's point of view, which was fun to read ;) Not only is it full of love and passion but it also has plenty of suspense, excitement and a few terrifying moments! Lucien Demarco was turned into a vampire over 100 years ago. He had a family. A wife and a child who were his whole world. They were killed and Lucien was powerless to stop it from happening. He has been living in guilt and self hatred ever since. Then he runs into Samantha. She is everything he is not. She is everything he wants and needs! He decides he WILL have her, even though it will mean she will die. He stalks her, even buys a house right next door to her. He can't help himself. He can taste her emotions and her happiness is a sweet taste he hasn't had in a very long time! He HAS to have her!! But there is a problem. He has also met Ollie, Samantha's 5 year old daughter. She is sweet and purely innocent and Lucien has vowed to protect her. Samantha and Ollie are not afraid of Lucien like most humans are. They are drawn to him for some reason. The more time he spends with them the more he realizes he would do anything to protect them. He realizes that he can't live without either one of them. For the first time in a VERY long time he feels love. He feels like he has a family. I couldn't help myself!! I read this book at every possible opportunity! I read while sitting in the car waiting for the kids to get off the bus, I read while I was cooking supper and I was up late into the night just to stay engaged with the characters! The passion is smoldering hot and will make you weak in the knees ;) The action is fast paced and will grip at your heart!! If you love vampire books, I HIGHLY recommend you grab this one and start reading ? You will not be disappointed ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    tugs at your heart

    I finished reading Forever Freed. Oh my, I cried. That makes it a great book! I didn't zoom through the sex scenes, either. Another plus for the book! I had thought that not having Sam's pov was going to annoy me, but it didn't. With an empathic vampire writing in first person, Lucien tells us what Sam's feeling. Ollie, her young daughter, is just precious. She came up with a unique take on Lucien's true nature. > > I liked this book even more than Hearts in Darkness, a novella by Laura Kaye, and I liked that one, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Finally!!! Laura Kaye writes about vampires the way they should

    Finally!!! Laura Kaye writes about vampires the way they should be written. No glamour, glitz or sparkle. Lucien is old school vampire without all the silly myths. So, why doesn’t he take the blood of the two humans he finds so attractive? Samantha and her daughter, Olivia, have something special. Something worth holding onto for a lifetime. Why does Sam and Ollie fall for him? Why not, I did? Read the book to find out why. You’ll thank me for it…and Laura Kaye too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Forever Freed was such an emotional and romantic book between Lu

    Forever Freed was such an emotional and romantic book between Lucien and Samanth, but what really got my heart was Samantha's daughter Olivia. I loved how Lucien was with Olivia. from the get go. This story was heartfelt and absolutely precious. Laura Kaye is one of my favorite authors, and she did another fantastic job!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Laura Kaye never disappoint this is a great love story I could

    Laura Kaye never disappoint this is a great love story I could not put this book down. You will love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Vampire romance.

    I received this book in a quick orderly fashion and I am enjoying it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Recommened good read

    Loved it! Great read! Did have problems on pg 642 using my simple touch, couldnt move past that page on my nook, was able to finish the book using the nook app on my samsung nexus and it also worked fine with my nook tablet, so maybe just a simple touch issue?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Loving a hero's POV

    This is the first book I've read with a completely male POV and I very much enjoyed it. The story was a perfect blend of dark, heartwarming, touching and steamy. Ms. Kaye continues to be one of my favorite authors and you won't be disappointed with this read. Hats off to you, Ms. Kaye!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Loved it!

    What can i say....great characters, great storyline... i loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed!!

    I really loved that this book is from Lucien's point of view. It was nice to see if from his perspective and what he was going through. I thought it was a great story and I couldn't put it down! It is a definite re-read for me! Laura never disappoints!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Must read

    Made me laugh and cry. Good plot, great love story. I will read more from this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great read

    ## This was my first vampire book and I enjoyed it tremendously. So different from anything i've ever read. I would definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it and love to see another book like this by the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2