Customer Reviews for

Forever Odd (Odd Thomas Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

Koontz's novel "Odd Thomas" was clearly a bigger hit than anticipated, because his publishers have urged him to continue the story of the twenty-something fry cook who sees dead people. The result is "Forever Odd", which sees Odd left deflated and dispirited (not litera...
Koontz's novel "Odd Thomas" was clearly a bigger hit than anticipated, because his publishers have urged him to continue the story of the twenty-something fry cook who sees dead people. The result is "Forever Odd", which sees Odd left deflated and dispirited (not literally - he still communicates with ghosts) after the soul-shattering conclusion to his previous misadventure. Now that his desert town of Pico Mundo has returned to its state of relative calm, Odd wonders if he'll have time to rest and repair himself. Unfortunately, fate has something else in store for him. A young and very twisted lady has taken interest in the man with the unwanted gift, and has abducted a young and vulnerable friend of Odd's in order to get his attention.
Through his character, Koontz made it clear in the first novel that he intended to keep the tone light and the story swift-paced. He kept his promise for "Odd Thomas", and has done the same for the sequel. Every page in this novel feels relevant and un-belaboured, making this every bit the page-turner that the cover says.
The light tone occasionally feels forced, however, with Odd spinning out weak jokes and sometimes excruciatingly unfunny extended similes. Odd's young friend Danny, who Odd claims has a rapier wit and unparalleled sense of self-deprecating humour, is even worse, making the reader wish that Koontz just hadn't bothered.
Aside from that, the story is solid and still often amusing, and very occasionally emotional and chilling when intended. The conclusion and its admittedly minor revelation about the villains of the piece manages to shed a whole new layer to the narrative the reader has just finished, making up for minor niggles with a suitably uneasy conclusion.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected from book 2

Loved Odd Thomas (book 1) and figured Forever Odd (book 2) would follow the same general storyline and character plot from the first book, unfortunately it did not. Yes, book 2 did have the same characters and story background, however it quickly, (without much explanat...
Loved Odd Thomas (book 1) and figured Forever Odd (book 2) would follow the same general storyline and character plot from the first book, unfortunately it did not. Yes, book 2 did have the same characters and story background, however it quickly, (without much explanation/closure that I was expecting from the book 1) went into a completely unrelated plot with unknown characters we weren't previously introduced to.

Since we were being introduced to these few new characters I had hoped Koontz would expand the overall storyline, however, I'm not sure why we met these few characters and what they're role was in the overall story line. I kept expecting an "ah ha" moment where the plot would double back to book 1 and the storyline would make more sense, no such luck.

However, I love Odd's quirky personality, sense of humor and his view of the living and the dead is quite fun/silly. Overall a good read - I can't wait to find out who, where and what Odd Thomas will face next!
xoxo_leigh

posted by xoxo_leigh on March 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 451 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than expected

    Koontz's novel "Odd Thomas" was clearly a bigger hit than anticipated, because his publishers have urged him to continue the story of the twenty-something fry cook who sees dead people. The result is "Forever Odd", which sees Odd left deflated and dispirited (not literally - he still communicates with ghosts) after the soul-shattering conclusion to his previous misadventure. Now that his desert town of Pico Mundo has returned to its state of relative calm, Odd wonders if he'll have time to rest and repair himself. Unfortunately, fate has something else in store for him. A young and very twisted lady has taken interest in the man with the unwanted gift, and has abducted a young and vulnerable friend of Odd's in order to get his attention.<BR/>Through his character, Koontz made it clear in the first novel that he intended to keep the tone light and the story swift-paced. He kept his promise for "Odd Thomas", and has done the same for the sequel. Every page in this novel feels relevant and un-belaboured, making this every bit the page-turner that the cover says.<BR/>The light tone occasionally feels forced, however, with Odd spinning out weak jokes and sometimes excruciatingly unfunny extended similes. Odd's young friend Danny, who Odd claims has a rapier wit and unparalleled sense of self-deprecating humour, is even worse, making the reader wish that Koontz just hadn't bothered.<BR/>Aside from that, the story is solid and still often amusing, and very occasionally emotional and chilling when intended. The conclusion and its admittedly minor revelation about the villains of the piece manages to shed a whole new layer to the narrative the reader has just finished, making up for minor niggles with a suitably uneasy conclusion.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Amazing Odd Thomas Adventure!

    All I can say is that I was hesistant about the Odd Thomas series because I am not into ghosts, but the books are amazing! The depth of the characters, and Odd's personality and conversations are beyond inspiring, and draw you right into his heart and very offbeat and challenging life.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You just have to love Odd.

    I have a small library of books that adds up to 100+ books, and I think that of all the characters that I've become attached to, Odd is my favorite. Other than being able to see ghosts, he is about as down-to-earth as a character you can get. With Odd, what you see is what you get. Koontz has done a wonderful job creating a character that you can relate to, other than seeing the ghosts. Lol. This is a set that is worth your time to read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    You know its a good book if Dean Koontz's name is on the cover.<BR/><BR/>This book is wonderful, even better that the first Odd Thomas book. The characters are still wonderful, and Odd Thomas himself seems so real, you almost expect for the back cover to have a short biography of his life now. <BR/>Fantastic read. I suggest that you wiat to start it until you have a few hours of uninterrupted time, because it's hard to put down.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected from book 2

    Loved Odd Thomas (book 1) and figured Forever Odd (book 2) would follow the same general storyline and character plot from the first book, unfortunately it did not. Yes, book 2 did have the same characters and story background, however it quickly, (without much explanation/closure that I was expecting from the book 1) went into a completely unrelated plot with unknown characters we weren't previously introduced to.

    Since we were being introduced to these few new characters I had hoped Koontz would expand the overall storyline, however, I'm not sure why we met these few characters and what they're role was in the overall story line. I kept expecting an "ah ha" moment where the plot would double back to book 1 and the storyline would make more sense, no such luck.

    However, I love Odd's quirky personality, sense of humor and his view of the living and the dead is quite fun/silly. Overall a good read - I can't wait to find out who, where and what Odd Thomas will face next!
    xoxo_leigh

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Excellent, excellent, well worth reading.

    Forever Odd doesn't disappoint, in fact I enjoyed it even more than it's prequel. The character Odd Thomas is superb and his unique talents wonderfully described. The story is a delight and unforgettable from the revelation to the terror. I became so absorbed I almost believed Odd Thomas was real. Dean Koonz's FOREVER ODD and another recent read, Bruce Huntly's FUSION, are two of the most entertaining books I have read for a while. Such a pleasure to offset so many other mediocre new offerings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    ODD THOMAS NEVER FAILS TO SATISFY

    Odd Thomas is one of those characters that the reader loves and the bad guys stalk. Yet despite their stalking, Odd prevails and makes everything right again. A blend of imagination, a snippit of humor and a cast of unique characters keeps the reader on the edge of his seat...reading into the wee hours of the night. IMHO this would make a great movie, mini series or even a series. It has a uniqueness like non other and Odd is simply perfect in these books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Amazing!

    One of the best books ive read in a long time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    AMAZING READ

    THIS BOOK WAS VERY INTERESTING, IF YOU ARE NOT AFRAID TO BE OPEN TO DIFFERENT THINGS, THEN YOU WOULD ENJOY THIS BOOK!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Such an unusual premise and it's a totally absorbing story line

    Such an unusual premise and it's a totally absorbing story line (to me, anyway.) There's something great about a character who trusts his inner self and instincts, even in strange circumstances. Odd Thomas is such a likeable character, with great &quot;humanity&quot; about himself ! An easy read, but can give you pause for thoughtful reflection, as well as a good hair raising scare without tons of gore or gratuitous sex that so many average authors rely on to tell their average stories! (If Odd were real, I'd vote to send him to Washington where he could rid us all of the evil ones currently in power!)




    The &quot;Odds&quot; are a great escape into mystery and mayhem. I'm enjoying all the books I've read in the series (so far,) can't wait to see how it all ends as he returns to Stormy! Odd Thomas Rules!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    My favorite series

    Love Odd Thomas series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Odd not so much

    All I cam say is stick with you will be rewarded; truly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Who can resist a 'odd' guy who communes with ELVIS! by sandy

    I mean how original is that! I would want to talk to the dead who hang around the 'power ball' offices myself! So anyway, its a heck of a haunt following Odd around!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    very good

    really enjoyed this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    awesome read

    loved this series so much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    I love odd.

    I love odd thomas. have read them all. wish there were more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    A little disappointing.

    I loved the first book. I adore Odd's character, who makes you fall in love with him with his slight nerdiness and sweet manner. I thought the story line was very original even though there are plenty of medium or 'ghost whisperer' type stories out there and even more ghost stories in general. I eagerly jumped into the second book and found it to be a little lackluster. It's not a bad book, it's just that compared to the first book 'Odd Thomas,' it falls suprisingly short. I'm about to start the third book and hope it follows way of the first book, not the second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sincerely a good read.

    If you have already began the Odd Thomas series, then you'll love this next installment. Odds' Pico Mundo family all play a bit of a role. Even the lovable "Terrible Chester" pops up. It is a bit different than the first Odd Thomas novel, but nonetheless captivating. I loved it. I hope you will too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    love this series of books

    coould not put it down read it in a couple days

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really ties into Odd Thomas

    This book tied into Odd Thomas perfectly. The description of everything was amazing and I couldn't help but laugh at Koontz's clever comedy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 451 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23