Customer Reviews for

Forever and a Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will I be the same person inside, if I change how I appear on the outside?

    When you come from poverty and live with it every day of your life, it becomes not only who you are but how you survive. For Georgia Milton a young widow makes her life thrive by doing tasks for others in the rugged streets of early 1800¿s New York. Survival is an existence but dreams are never forgotten and Georgia is determined to pursue hers. When she meets what she knows is a British aristocrat she tries to lose him knowing nothing good will come of this relationship. The circumstances that take this man from an unknown annoyance to living in her house still baffles Georgia but she is nothing if not responsible.

    The man no longer knows his true name and thinks himself to be ¿Robinson Crusoe¿ which is even remotely possible. All this memory loss is due to an unfortunate accident, which Georgia feels was her fault since it occurred while he was defending her honor. There are many things she does not know but this man but Georgia believes there is a family looking for him. He is too refined and cultured to not have people that care for his existence, and want him back despite her not wanting to let him go. Georgia shows him how to survive on the streets where staying alive when the sun goes down is not as easy as it should be. ¿Robinson¿ adapts to his life with Georgia and each day finds them more than emotionally bound, as it is almost magical when they kiss.

    Both Georgia and ¿Robinson¿ have dark secrets and hidden pain they keep tucked away so no one can see. They have the ability to heal and soothe the ache they both long for in a relationship but will that be allowed to happen. When the knock on the door comes with men who know, who ¿Robinson¿ really is and where he truly belongs, will he be able to keep the life he quickly created with Georgia or does his real life completely collide with hers? Both are up for a challenge but each wonders what decision is right ¿ stay together or separate.

    When a reader seeks historically accurate, romantically inclined, and dramatic excitement, always pick up a Delilah Marvelle book. This new series starts off with a jolt, taking the reader on a fast paced ride with so much going on you think you might get lost but Ms. Marvelle writes a tale so deep with description and detail you never miss a beat except maybe a few of your own heart beats as you prepare for the next adventure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    This story was actually a bit amazing. Since the title is a roma

    This story was actually a bit amazing. Since the title is a romance you know that the rich British aristocrat will end up with the poor Seven Dials American girl. How they do so is unexpected and rather charming. Georgia may be my favorite heroine. She doesn’t turn out to be a noble woman in disguise; she remains exactly who she is throughout the story and she has more determination than any other heroine. The only thing that keep the story from being perfect was the side plot involving an uncle, which added nothing to the story and I assume is merely a set up for a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fantastic!

    I kept complaining about historicals all being the same old, same old, and how so many of them have no intelligence whatsoever...until I read this book. This is the first book I've read by Delilah Marvelle and I absolutely LOVED IT. The setting is New York City Five Points and London. I love it when an author can give me historical detail without weighing down the story, can give me a hero who is worthy of the heroine, all while making me laugh. Bottom line: this book is fantastic! I read it in less than 2 days and can't wait until FOREVER A LADY.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly enjoyable

    Love, loved this book. It was so different and one that I didn't want to end. One of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really, really good book

    New York City 1830


    Georgia Milton may be the head of the forty thieves but she is known for being very forthright with everyone that she deals with even when she would be better off not saying anything at all. When another thief steals her bag a man that she doesn¿t know comes to her rescue. Now Georgia feels responsible and is determined to help heal and get better so that he can get on with his life. What she never expects is the passion they share or the truth about Roderick.

    Roderick Gideon Tremayne tries to help Georgia out when her bag is stolen unfortunately by helping her out he ends up getting hurt and forgetting who he is and anything about his former life. Now he is finding out more about life than he ever knew and seeing things in a completely different way than he has ever seen them before.

    Roderick and Georgia are falling for each other but will what they have found together be able to withstand the truth of Roderick¿s life when he remembers who he is and the fact that he his father is a Duke. Roderick is going to have to decide just what means the most to him. The love he has found with Georgia or his life that was ruled by society. Now they will find out just what they are made of and what is most important to each other and to themselves.



    This is a wonderful twist on the Prince and the Pauper. The story makes 1830 New York City come to life for the reader and gives them a wonderful glimpse into what life was like for the people that had to work for everything they had in life. It also gives the reader a glimpse of what those same people might dream about for a better life. The characters are very human and the reader is completely able to relate to them even though the time period is completely different. This one that is worth getting and will have the reader eagerly turning the pages just to see what the character will be up to next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Uneven effort...but had its moments

    (I wavered between three and four stars on this one, but enjoyed the epilogue so much that I decided on four.) For the most part, this book seemed...uneven. A whole lot of time is spent on the beginning ("Robinson" and Georgia's time in NYC when he has no memory), two entire chapters on Roderick's time before he even got to New York (which, though interesting, seemed out of place where it was and how it was written), and then the rest of it just seemed to fly by without a whole lot of time and detail spent on it, though much of it (especially Georgia's transformation and her time with the Astors) should have made for some interesting reading. Georgia's admittance to society, their reunion, the drama of Roderick's uncle that had brought him to America in the first place, all of this was over and done with before a reader really had time to get used to it all. I would have liked to have seen Roderick show a bit more backbone throughout the story--he seemed to lose it once he remembered who he was, which was disappointing. Georgia, at least, remained strong throughout. My favorite parts by far were the beginning, where Roderick and Georgia meet on the street, and the epilogue, where they get their just desserts with a daughter who wants--of all things--an elephant. Very engaging start and finish. The middle, while it did have me turning pages, was more hit and miss throughout. I am interested to see where Marvelle will go with the next book in the series, though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    This is a wonderful story, the beginning of the Rumor Series (al

    This is a wonderful story, the beginning of the Rumor Series (although you might want to read Forever Mine, the novella prequel). Georgia Milton is a third-generation Irish girl, growing up in Five Points, NY, in the 19th Century. Five Points is the roughest neighborhood in New York, filled with thieves and other poor folks and those down on their luck. She meets a high-class gentleman, who tries to ask her out for coffee and then chases down a thief who steals her purse. In pursuit, he ends up in an accident and completely loses his memory. He wakes up in the hospital and believes he is Robinson Crusoe. Georgia takes him into her small apartment since he can't remember anything, including who he is, whether he has any family, and where he is from. From there the story expands into life in Five Points and Robinson struggling with who he might be. When Robinson starts to remember, things get very complicated for him and Georgia.

    I loved all the secondary characters introduced in this book as well as seeing the Duke of Wentworth again, who was in the prequel. The culmination of the entire Rumor series, is to find out what happened to Lord Atwood when he disappeared 30 years ago. Little hints of that are dropped in this book and do a good job setting up the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    FOREVER AND A DAY by Delilah Marvelle is an interesting Regency

    FOREVER AND A DAY by Delilah Marvelle is an interesting Regency historical romance set in 1830 New York City and moves to England. Book 1 in "The Rumor" series. It is the re-telling of the "Prince and the Pauper". A lost memory and a mix match love,can passion,respect,and love bring love?....a wealthy Lord and the poor lady who saves him and teaches him about love,passion and life. Meet, Roderick Gideon Tremayne, the recently appointed Duke of Wentworth, who finds himself with a "loss of memory" in New York City. And, Georgia Milton, the young widow of New York's notorious Forty Thieves,who saves him and takes him to her poor but humble home. What follows is the unexpected,passion,life's lessons, a difference in social classes,passion,and love. Written with bits of wit,intrigue,hardship,and a few twists and turns. If you enjoy historical,romance, the re-telling of a long ago told story,than you will enjoy "Forever and a Day". This title was a bit slow to me in the beginning, but it picked up nicely,and was an interesting story with a bit of nail biting to see of the young couple can find true love,happiness and content. Received for an honest review from t he publisher and Net Galley. Details can be found at the author's website, HQN and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1