Customer Reviews for

Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood

Average Rating 4.5
( 382 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The last Traveling Pants book is a MUST read!

The worst part of Forever Blue was the fact that it is the last book in the Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants series. Luckily, I discovered this series a couple of years after the series was published, so I was able to read all 4 books within a two month time period in...
The worst part of Forever Blue was the fact that it is the last book in the Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants series. Luckily, I discovered this series a couple of years after the series was published, so I was able to read all 4 books within a two month time period in quick succession. I can't imagine reading one and waiting several months to a year for the next one to be released! Forever Blue put some completion on the series, but left the readers hanging in some ways. Not too happy about the uncertainty of the pants in the ending, but I also believe it was appropriate in order to wrap up the series. This book changed my feelings about some of the characters. Carmen's growth from the third book was still being highlighted, and I liked her much more than I did in the first book. Bridget's journey into adulthood included playing with fire, but moving on with lessons learned. Tibby reverted back into a cranky child at times in the beginning, but evolved through a gratitude lesson by the end. It was fun to watch Lena follow her dreams. This book did enter the realm of sexuality in a way that the other books didn't. I figure that it is the natural evolution of things, as they were high school students in the other books, and this one is a college journey. I definately wouldn't let my 10 year old daughter read this one.

posted by Jennie-Penny on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

irresponsible!

A lot of sex, but no birth control! I was shocked at the lack of responsibility exhibited by these seemingly intelligent young women. The earlier books were appropriate, funny and touching. Not this one.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    irresponsible!

    A lot of sex, but no birth control! I was shocked at the lack of responsibility exhibited by these seemingly intelligent young women. The earlier books were appropriate, funny and touching. Not this one.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Not a Strong Ending

    I was excited about the book coming out, because I loved the first three. Once I read some reviews I got less excited, but decided to go ahead and read it, since it was part of a series I really enjoyed. Once I started to get into it, the story became really predictable. The end was really disappointing. I didn't like the fact that Effie went after Brian, and didn't think Brian would have gone out with Effie, even if he was missing Tibby. Throughout the other books, he waiting for Tibby, and I honestly don't think he would've changed his tune. I though Effie was a spoiled brat. I also thought it was out of character for Carmen to not speak up when Julia treated her badly. I made me mad that Bridget cheated on Eric then decided since she had missed him after all that if was okay? It didn't make sense. As for Lena, I know what you would do in a moment of weakness, but then for her to sleep with Leo and decided it wasn't going to work out in the end anyway. I did like that she and Kostos had some closure finally, even though I didn't like him too much. I thought it was unlike all of them to never get together throughout the year, because they had all been close. The only good part at the end, was when they realized the pants didn't keep them together, and would be friends forever with or without the pants. Like I said before, I just don't like how they lost the pants. I would have rather seen them get donated to a thrift shop for someone else to find and make memories in. The movie comes out at the end of the summer, and it's suppose to be based off the remaining three books, but I don't see how they're going to pull that one off. I'm not sure I'll even bother with it. To me it seemed like this book wasn't given much thought it almost seemed like she hurried through it to end the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    i was trying to avode reading this book so i didn't have to end the seires. but evenchle i read the book. i didn't read the epalog. so as i was reading the book i found it as a disapoitment. it's a sick book. well maybe becuase i'm not used to it but still. it's grows. the only non inapopate part of the book was carmens told the story. i liked the ending though thoghout the book it didn't tell alot about the pants. which i would have liked. but all the other books are just wounderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    disappointed

    i think that you should definatly not waste your money on buying the book.. it was extremely boring at parts and definatly not the end to a great series i was hoping for at times i felt like i was reading the book because i had to and not because i wanted to.. read the first, second and third book, those are worth your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Disappointing

    I really am depressed that the book was not that good. It left on a really serious note for me and I don't know, it just didn't feel satisfying. I wanted more and it kind of left me hanging. There is only one thing I want to say that annoyed and I hope it doesn't reveal too much( i don't think so at least) What the heck does 'someday' mean !!!!!!!!!!Ugh I hope for others too give it a chance because it did really have so many gooooooood parts. p.s. i loved that fact about the bee's love for the 'floor' because i love archaeology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Disappointing

    My friends and I took turns reading this book and we each found it to be a disappointing. Bridgiet was the only one who had a good tale to tell. Carmen's was just depressing and full of self-pity, she complained too much and was blind to her friends. Tiby made stupid choices and looses the only thing she loves, then is rallied with more depression and moodieness. Lena's story was alright, in the beggining. I liked Leo's character, but I didn't see the point of Lena and him if it wasn't 'meant to be.' I dislike Kostos and was disappointed in Lena when she went back to him. All togehter I felt there were still many loose ends that weren't tied up. I loved Ann Brashares other books, but I didn't think this book was worth buying. If anything, take it out from your local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Dull, Dreary, and Boring

    I expected better. Carmen's story was so dull I would have to read the same line again and again until I finally grasped what had happened. It was kind of like Bridget's depressing stage all over again. Brashares had already done that kind of story and it was repetitive in the sense. Lena's story was confusing in the emotions. I didn't know if I was suppose to like Leo or still like Kostos. Was the whole point to move on? Or was it that the first love never dies? I was getting mixed signals. Bridget's story was alright, except she was after a married guy. Sorry, but that's really wrong. Then she felt all sorry about it and it's like, OKAY, THEN WHY DID YOU DO IT??!! Tibby's was the best one, but I find it unrealistic that one day you love a guy, then don't, then a week later do (after of course you figure out he's going out with a different girl). The ending however, I felt was very approtiate. All in all, it was a bad ending for the series and not very strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Not Her Best.

    The beginning was okay, but throughout the rest of the story, it was really, really BORING and very devastating. I thought more drastic things were going to happen, but it just seems boring. Carmen seemed like a weak-girl, which she isn't, the whole thing with an affair with a teacher ...anyways what im saying is this is a waste of money. BUT THE FIRST, SECOND, THIRD BOOKS OF SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS ARE WAY BETTER THAN THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    I don't think this is going to be good.

    After taking out the books out so far in my local library I am starting to dislike the series. the thrid book gave me quite a disturbing scene. from reading the review given i don't think it will help take the terrible scene out of my head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1