Customer Reviews for

The Forge of God

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fans of invasion earth novels will enjoy

    In 1996, Jupiter¿s sixth moon Europa suddenly vanishes. The media plays the disappearing act for a few weeks, but as usual that fades from their blip screen as they believe the public is apathetic towards some obscure moon. Scientists come up with numerous theories, but each have gigantic holes as no one knows what really happened. Most astronomers remain astounded that a relatively large object is missing sort of like a cosmic David Copperfield making the Statue of Liberty disappear. <P>In Death Valley, three Texas geologists find what seems as the first error of US Geological Survey charts they have ever come across. A very large unmarked mound not shown on the maps rises from the desert. The trio agrees that there is no way that this ¿mountain¿ could have been missed. Next they find an ailing alien who needs darkness to live who bears very bad news.. How will the human race react to what appears to be an encounter of a negative kind. <P> Though THE FORGE OF GOD is well written with an engaging premise, the book falls short because talented Greg Bear never decides between a classic invasion tale and a psychological reaction plot. Instead, readers are left with pieces of both, but neither is complete. The story line is fast-paced and entertaining and fans of invasion earth novels will find overall enjoyment. However, this reviewer was left with the disappointment of feeling shorted. Exploring the different mindset of how earthlings and the aliens respond to the end days of human life would have been unique and captivatingly refreshing, something that the audience will keep expecting until the novel is finished. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Incredibly Thought Provoking

    An incredible and well thought out concept. I have read and enjoyed this author's other novels, but this book was by far his best. The storyline, while slow to develop, quickly accelerates to a very bleak ending - but for me, that's what made it unforgetable. We all want the happily ever after ending, but again, for me this novel delivered the knock-out punch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Entertaining

    Nice reading, very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good book

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Good easy read, easy to follow and enjoyable

    Good easy read, easy to follow and enjoyable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is great apocalyptic / first-encounter science fiction. It

    This is great apocalyptic / first-encounter science fiction. It is really interesting to think about how society and individuals would react to alien invasion. It&rsquo;s a scary notion. It makes you feel pretty vulnerable when you think of how helpless we would be in the face of a dramatically more advanced civilization. Hopefully, if it ever happens, the good guys will get here a little further ahead of the bad guys. I think any true fan of sci-fi will very much enjoy this novel.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel &ldquo;To Be Chosen&rdquo;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    The Amazingly Brilliant Review That Will Get Me Either an A or an F

    The book The Forge of God by Greg Bear is an amazing Science-Fiction story relating to nuclear explosions, robots, space battles, and more nuclear explosions. And we all know that nuclear explosions equal fun. So you could say this book is very fun. Moving on. The basic idea of the book is that there are two types of robots invading earth. One group are called the "planet destroyers." The other robots are the robots that are trying to stop the planet destroyers from killing all of the species on earth. To thwart the enemy robots, the good robots make these ships to save key species on planet earth, including humans, plants, animals and some germs. They want to take these species into their ships, or arks as they call it, and transport them to another place safe from the planet destroying robots. The robots need some help to do so, and so they recruit humans by sending out spider probe robots which "sting" people to communicate with them. The planet destroying robots have an evil plan which may prevail against the good robots attempts to save planet earth. They planted massive bombs inside of the earth's mantle, which whiz around inside earth until they collide, creating a massive explosion, and destroying earth with all life on it. That's not all, however. They also have machines that are on the bottom of the ocean floor using hydrolysis to separate hydrogen and oxygen from the water to make hydrogen bombs, which they place along the fault lines of the earth's crust. The book is a perfect example of how doomsday could come to planet earth, if these robots did show up or if some crazed Islamic person decides to kill the entire population of planet earth. But that's just not good karma, is it. So i doubt they would even try. I wouldn't recommend this book to many people because its very confusing. I still don't get some of it. I think its only for some of you hardcore sci-fi fans out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, depressing and familiar

    The story was interesting but not every question was answered. The end result is a familiar story we've seen before but plays out ok. The description of the major events being witnessed at the end are hard for a reader to visualize in text. I would like to have seen a movie of the last parts of the book to see what it really looked like in the writer's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible, Thrilling, and Heartbreaking

    Its the end of the world at the hands of unknown extraterrestrial forces. There is some hope but not much as another alien force seeks to oppose the planet's doom. This story is heart stopping in its action in the last moments of the world as we scurry like mice and cling to each other for comfort while death wraps its cold fingers around the entire planet. This book touched something deep inside for sure. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Very Good, but very Depressing also

    I have to say I really liked Forge of God. It was really well written, and I thought the concept was brilliant. I think that it showed the truth that if there is an alien race out there that is advanced enough to reach us there wouldn't be much we could do to stop them from doing whatever they wanted to us. The book does get very depressing as it goes on. You realize that the Earths fate has been sealed and there is nothing we can do to stop it. I thought the book had a few slow parts and, the ending was bleak but, there is sequel out there so I hope we get our revenge. I will be reading it and hoping. I recommend Forge of God to any sci-fi junkies out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    My favorite apocolyptic book

    This is a great book. Bear has brought out some of his most twisted ideas for an interesting and different look at how we will behave when the time gomes to greet our maker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2