Customer Reviews for

Forged: Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    A Must Read

    This is an excellent book. It paints a good picture of the literary climate during the times when the gospels were written. It offers a fair and balanced view of the bible's authors for the general reader, with copious notes for those desiring further study. I have already ordered three more of Ehrman's books.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Not very well written..

    Ehrman eschews real concrete details and facts for dogmatic assertions and emotional arguments. I think he must have been hurt by Christians in the past and sadly, this has affected his writing..

    6 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Funny Thing Is...

    As a dyed in the wool believer in a creator, I have read all of Bart Ehrman's books. I find them fascinating and enlightening. This creation of his called Forged is one of his best. Not only it is a great `connect the dots' tome, the reasoning behind is theories is very compelling.

    To believe that authorities would lie to us and try to spin the truth so we adhere to a certain view continues to this day. Politics is the latest and greatest example. Why so many people believe that every single word in the NT is directly from God is astounding. This thinking not only belittles the scholars and believers that adhere to the belief that the NT came directly from God, but more importantly it belittles our creator.

    Ehrman does a fantastic job of writing of producing work that is several things rolled into one. For a beginning, it is historical, that is, a history lesson in and of itself. As a scholarly work I find it very well researched. Finally I find it an excellent example of critical thinking.

    The funny thing is that Ehrman has created his own cottage industry of publications that attempt to dispel his writings. While I can't say I have read all of them, I have read a good many. They do a good job of countering each of Ehrman's assessments. Taken together, the reader comes out at the end a much more knowledgeable person.

    I highly recommend this book. I think it would serve the reader well to look at some of the other books that counter his claims. A well-rounded reader is always a benefit to society at large.

    Michael L. Gooch, Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Accurate and excellent

    This book uncovers the contradictions, errors, and plain old lies found in the bible with devastating logic and accuracy. A must read for anyone who wants to know the truth about religion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    What I liked about the book was it gave me facts I could use in

    What I liked about the book was it gave me facts I could use in talking with my "the Bible is innerrant" friends to show that the Bible does indeed have errors and it does indeed contrdict itself. That is what makes the Bible believable. If it had no errors, then it would not be an authentic book. That is why I believe the Bible to contain the word of God. Inerrantists must not allow the Bible to be a human book, because then they would not know where the errors began and where they ended, and then they trully would be in a hell of a mess. Gale Tenney

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Excellent

    As a Christian i was really impressed with the book. It was an eye opener. I remember finding questionable scriptures and interpretations when in my teens. I was a ardent researcher and saw many contradictions. I will now read his next book on the subject.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Forged

    An interesting read but it seemed the author expected the readers to be completely without knowledge of the subject. He oftened commented that the book was not to be a scholarly edition. If the reader wanted more Ehrman suggested other works including his own. These type of comments throughout the book left me with the impression of the author talking down to me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Ehrman has become a joke. His books are repetitive, designed to

    Ehrman has become a joke. His books are repetitive, designed to inflame, poorly written and poorly researched. He is no longer well respected among academics and has to pander to armchair students who desire to discredit the Bible. A good indication is who most often references him - atheists and Mormons.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2